• Melting Wok

  • (9)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Indonesian, Balinese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. This Balinese restaurant is owned by a French ex-pat. There are only three items on the menu: a rice dish, a noodle dish, and a daily special. Both of the two regular dishes are available vegan (tofu or tempeh). The daily special is generally not veg. Open Tue-Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Melting Wok
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by bthevegantraveller

Greggco

Points +2264

Vegetarian
16 Aug 2022

Good

The tempeh noodles coconut curry was pretty good, very enthusiastic staff 👍

Advertisement

misslucykate1

Points +415

Vegan
18 Jul 2022

Lovely staff and tasty food

I had fried noodles with tofu, it was very delicious.
Staff were very attentive, they explained the menu which was on a board. And cheap

selinah90

Points +218

Vegan
25 Jan 2020

Great Vegan Food

Fantastic vibes and great staff. Food is very fresh and lots of people come here . You can reserve tables also ! Go go it’s great !

Pros: Fresh and delicious , Friendly staff , Cheap

Cons: Same menu everyday

m.p

Points +150

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Love the tempe curry

Their curry is delicious and I love that it tastes a bit different from the usual balinese curries, makes for a nice change. Tastes very fresh, with lots of herbs. It can seem a bit expensive for curry at around 50k, but the portions are huge and again this isn't your usual run of the mill curry. Great place!

Dragonking

Points +395

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2018

Favourite place for Tempe noodle curry

Not a vegetarian restaurant , but a few very delicious vegetarian noodle dishes.Visit here several times each trip for the Tempe Noodle Curry.Tasty and spicy if you want.Generous portions and moderate prices.

Pros: Good location,modetaye prices,good portions

MisoNomad

Points +150

Vegetarian
26 Dec 2017

Expensive bad copy of local Balinese food

Come here to eat substandard overpriced local-style food and have the French owner chain-smoke during your meal! They will not cater to customer's individual dietary requests or needs.

Please support a local family by visiting a local warung instead, the food will be cheaper and so much better. Vegan and vegetarian options are abundant at local restaurants thanks to Indonesia's delicious tofu and tempe.

Vegetarian choices here contain limited vegetables. If you do eat meat, it's served extra chewy and dry.

Pros: None

Cons: Bad food & takes business away from local families

KokoPaulli

Points +86

Vegan
08 Feb 2017

French touch and attention to detail

Melting Wok is a quaint little resto with tasty dishes. Superior service ensures attention to the detail, even for a Vegan. Fair prices and smiling servers make it a fun experience. Enjoy!

Pros: Few options ask for veggie or vegan modification

Cons: Pricey but clean and worth it

peripateticvegan

Points +189

Vegan
12 Jul 2016

Vegan coconut curry noodles, yum

I ordered my coconut curry with noodles, tempeh and mildly spicy. It was delicious! The server I had was knowledgeable about vegan options. I recommend this restaurant highly! It's tiny, so to be sure you can get a table you can email or call for a reservation, 2 days in advance.

Updated from previous review on 2016-07-11

Pros: Inexpensive, Close to the main street, Jalan Raya Ubud, Super fresh tasting!

Cons: Tiny restaurant, hard to get a table

bthevegantraveller

Points +94

Vegan
19 Mar 2016

Tempeh curry is pretty good

I ordered a virgin piña colada which was really delicious, super rich and creamy. Also got the tempeh curry, which was quite nice, good flavours and not at all spicy which is what I asked for however the only vegetable in the curry was beans. Good if you like beans, I do not so was a bit disappointed. Like the description states limited menu but staff are very helpful with dietary requirements. Also I got such an amazing portion of rice with my curry, like 2-3 cups. #carbthef**kup

Pros: friendly staff, efficient service, awesome MOCKTAIL list

Cons: limited menu, only vegetable is beans, more expensive than other warungs




This page has been viewed 3354 times.