• Melt Bar & Grilled

  • (18)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small chain of restaurants serving bar food and grilled cheese sandwiches. The melted sandwiches have the option of vegan cheese with vegan protein substitution including chorizo potato hash, seitan, tofu bacon, a burger, meatloaf, or chick'n. Additionally, the tofu wings, roasted garlic tomato soup, and bean chili are vegan. Bar opens till late. Open Wed-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri 11:00am-11:00pm, Sat 10:00am-10:00pm, Sun 10:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Melt Bar & Grilled
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by webkitten

APH

Points +87

Vegan
05 Nov 2023

I dream of Melt

Melt’s burgers and breakfast sandwiches are what dreams are made of.

Advertisement

SuzT

Points +932

Vegetarian
22 Jul 2023

Great food

Love the vegan and vegetarian options. Service was very friendly. We ordered the tofu wings and vegan BLT melt with french onion soup. Everything was delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-22

Pros: Lots of vegetarian and vegan options

Wild_Tofurkey

Points +28

Herbivore
15 Jun 2023

Who woulda thought!

Large vegan & gf menu, all sorts of substitutes, makes getting a melt sandwich fee like the real deal.

Pros: Great big salads!, Lots of options

BHitV

Points +295

Vegan
24 Jun 2022

Guilty pleasure

They have a dedicated menu, and mark which other options can be made vegan by request. The portions are huge, if you're the kind of person who likes to take home half for another meal.

Updated from previous review on 2021-01-07

lakewoodvegan

Points +95

Vegan
07 Oct 2021

Great menu

Lots of vegan options. I mean, the food is not even remotely healthy, but it is super good. They even have a separate vegan menu.

JaeCarrico

Points +40

Vegan
03 Aug 2021

Pretty good junk food

Nice menu lots of options, if you go on the main website it has the vegan menu with pictures.
The beyond chicken tenders are available to sub but with an upcharge. We had them in the bbq sandwich it was really good. Down side was the Mac n cheeze. Tried the buffalo CK with ranch drizzle and the side Mac with the sandwich. Both were super disappointing. No flavor no depth just bland. We also had the fried pickles which were crispy huge and briney, but the batter is so thick that the center was just a bit dougy. Not good. Good options, just not quite living up to it.

Pros: Liked the Halloween decor, Fast service, Large vegan menu

Cons: Mac n cheeze flavorless, Prices for flavor don't match, The "chicken" in the vegan Mac wasn't even cooked

hoke123

Points +111

Vegan
17 Jun 2020

Separate menu

They have a separate vegan menu which is nice. Plenty of options to find something good to junk out on.

FalafelWaffle

Points +398

Vegetarian
18 Mar 2019

Delicious vegan cheese

The vegan chorizo and potato hash grilled cheese was a winner. The vegan cheese could easily pass as dairy cheese. It’s very creamy and melts well. The fries come in a very generous portion and seasoned well.

Pros: Awesome vegan cheese

Cons: They forgot to add avocado to my sandwich

kthomas

Points +343

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

So good

I come here as many times as possible when I’m in Cleveland! Amazing food every time!

Pros: lots of vegan options, fair prices, good portions

Cons: service could be better, more parking needed

JuliaCleveland

Points +56

Vegetarian
04 Mar 2019

Best grilled cheese/burgers

Lots of vegan/vegetarian options. Great food. A must if you're from out of town and want a Cleveland staple

evenstar

Points +175

Vegan
31 Dec 2018

I love Melt

So easy to veganize much of the menu! Buffalo tofu with vegan ranch is my favorite starter. There's also a Wet Hot Buffalo Tofu grilled (vegan) cheese sandwich that's amazing. Other favorite sandwiches are the Parmageddon with tofu bacon and the Backyard BBQ. Fries are excellent.

Update 12-31-18: They have vegan French onion soup! Omg so good!!

Pros: So many vegan options!

Cons: No vegan Cuban War Pig lol

lindseydenton

Points +92

Vegan
22 Dec 2018

Always great no matter which location

Staf offered vegan menu right when we were walking in! Super friendly and helpful waitress was able to answer all the questions.

Pros: Tons of options, Impossible burger is to die for!

Cons: No vegan Mac and cheese yet.

LaurieMerges-Jett

Points +22

Vegan
14 Mar 2018

Separate vegan menu

Melt has always had vegan choices on the menu, but now they have a separate vegan menu which makes it easier to find the vegan options. They also offer a nice choice of vegan meat substitutes, including seitan. Vegan cheese and vegan butter are also part of their vegan offerings. Try the vegan Smoky Russian or the vegan Wake & Bacon.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Fried food isn't separately cooked from non-vegan

Passout

Points +704

Vegan
25 Jan 2017

Almost everything was fried and they don't use a dedicated fryer for vegan items.

I had heard that they had good vegan options and I was hoping to find something that was remotely healthy that wasn't a salad. I ended up getting with a salad and it wasn't very good.

According to the manager, this restaurant does not use dedicated fryers for vegan items. Since every "vegan" item I could find had something fried that means none of their vegan items are vegan in the strictest sense.

Updated from previous review on 2016-01-25

Pros: Staff was friendly

Cons: Very loud open space, No healthy vegan options

jnahra

29 Dec 2018

true very slim on healthy options period. I would say maybe the cole slaw may be the only healthy item. Lots of Vegan items like you say but mostly fried and sauces likely have either a lot of sugar or oil I suspect. Maybe the peanut butter and banana sandwich is fairly healthy (peanut butter has sugar though)

Missrturner

Points +26

Vegan
11 Apr 2016

great food and service

Super Vegan Friendly! Lots of sub vegan options. Tofu buffalo "wings" with vegan ranch were delish! I also enjoyed the Chorizo & Potato. They make the chorizo in house using seitan. Sandwiched are huge but some have 1/2 portion options.

samanthamuffin

Points +139

Vegan
05 Mar 2010

Awesome Bread!

I went on a Saturday night. We walked in the doors at 4:30 p.m. and didn't get seated until almost 7 p.m. (there were 2 of us) so there is a very long wait. Also, the kitchen can only make 6 sandwiches at a time, so it took an additional 45 minutes to get the food.

I ordered a sandwich with vegan mozzarella (they use Tofutti), avocado and tomato. There weren't very generous with the veggies. The bread and the french fries were amazing. The cole slaw was a little sweet, but not so much that it was sickening.

They have a really good beer selection. The atmosphere is really cool, but I don't think the food was really worth the wait. If I lived in the area, I probably would only get carry out.

Pros: Thick bread, Great atmosphere

Cons: Meter parking in the back, Long wait

Dr. Nay

Points +29

Vegetarian
23 Apr 2009

Not health food

Melt has very tasty grilled cheese sandwiches. They'll stuff interesting things in there, like pierogies and burgers (including veggie burgers). i don't want to know how much calories and fat are in those enormous sandwiches. For a dollar you can get a good-sized side house salad instead of fries or slaw. I'm always stuffed after half the sandwich and the salad, so I save the rest and reheat it later. The beer is a good value too. Don't go without making a reservation.

Pros: Huge portions, Interesting food, Good drinks

Cons: Not healthy, Crowded

webkitten

Points +83

Vegan
18 Dec 2008

Melt my heart

A large selection of grilled cheese, brews, and side dishes. Two types of vegan cheese available. The sandwiches are huge and come with fries and vegan slaw. Often busy, you may have to wait for a table. Lots of parking behind building.
http://www.meltbarandgrilled.com/

Pros: vegan cheese, lots of choices, fun atmosphere

Cons: waiting for a seat due to popularity




This page has been viewed 8027 times.