• Mellow Mushroom

  • (11)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hippie-themed, sit-down dining pizza restaurant. Has vegan cheese, tempeh for pizza and hoagies/sandwiches. Order from the pre-designed menu or build your own. Other menu options include a calzone and hummus and pita. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Mellow Mushroom
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by dumpkid23

Dr.Gib

Points +62

Vegan
05 Nov 2023

Not a great experience

Tried to get a table on the patio… but the hostess said No pet, although there was not a posted sign. We said, ok, we still want a table on the patio. She proceeded to take us to a dirty table. Although I’ve eaten there before and the food was okay, their customer service was a total turn off.

Advertisement

Forakora

Points +475

Vegan
30 Sep 2023

Decent

There's a few options. They're not bad, but much better fully vegan places to visit in San Antonio.

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
15 Mar 2023

Hope to see more Vegan Options

Happy that they have vegan cheese and tempeh! We weren’t blown away by our pizzas, they were fresh and we got the veg out but they didn’t have any vegan meats, barely put any tempeh on (it wasn’t even flavored from the looks of it), the veg pieces were HUGE and not cut up, and the staff didn’t seem too familiar with veganism. Overall, the only thing that made it worth it was a fresh crust. otherwise you’d be better off going with one of the many build your own pizza chains that have more options if pizza is what you’re going for!

Warning: our pizzas took 35min to come out when it wasn’t busy. I’ve been told it gets very busy so do plan for a wait time!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-15

BrennaM

Points +35

Vegan
21 Aug 2022

VEGAN PIZZA!!!

I've been there twice and gotten the Tie Dye Pie with Tempeh both times! Yummy!

Pros: Vegan cheese and protein options

veg469

Points +407

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Good vegan pizza

Have been to other locations before. Pizza was good but they messed up our order and the server was rude about it- didn’t offer to fix it and we awkwardly had to ask to have the toppings we never received taken off our tab.

akajones

Points +26

Vegan
09 Jul 2020

Good options

When we first started going here I was eating primarily veggie and loved to get their mushroom pizza and their avocado hoagie, now that I've been eating mostly vegan I was happy that they had vegan cheese options! They use the follow your heart mozzarella which I enjoy, definitely better than daiya. Make sure you specify no butter and parmesan. The also have a tempeh hoagie and a tofu hoagie which was really tasty, just make sure you ask for no provolone and no mayo ❤

Pros: Great vegan and veggie options

Cons: Spendy but worth it

makaylaxx

Points +23

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

Cool Atmosphere, Good Food

Really cool atmosphere! I really enjoyed the service there. The vegan cheese they use is Follow Your Heart which isn’t my favorite because I don’t think it melts and taste as well as some others. Overall it’s a pretty cool restaurant I would go again

Pros: Have vegan cheese available for pizzas, A lot of menu items that can be made vegan , Cool atmosphere

Cons: Not the best vegan cheese imo

NeilGaudet

Points +349

Vegan
27 Mar 2015

tasty vegan pizza

We had two different vegan pizzas. The crust was gluten free and even though we happily eat gluten it was tastier than a lot of gluten free things I've tried. The one we ordered with tofu & Daiya cheese and a bunch of veggies was awesome. We also ordered one with just veggies as my wife won't eat fake cheese or tofu. I found it a bit boring. Could use maybe oil & vinegar on it. We did find a hair on the plain pizza but it wasn't a huge deal and they were apologetic when we pointed it out.

Pros: friendly waitress didn't mind a vegan request, good taste to the pizza

Cons: really only one vegan option (pizza), it was pricy. our bill was about $60 and we only d

jlo5616

Points +226

Vegan
14 Apr 2012

Great vegan pizza!

We had been to Mellow Mushroom in North Carolina and Kentucky, and were excited to have one when we moved here. Their wheat-white mix crust is vegan and one of my favorites. They now offer Daiya vegan cheese, and they don't skimp on it. They have some tofu and tempeh options, though we recently found out the barbecue sauce we enjoyed on the tempeh contains honey. The teriyaki tempeh is vegan though. It can be a little expensive, but the crust is out of this world and makes for a special not-your-average pizza. Dining in is a fun experience, they have a large dining area and separate bar with fun modern decor. Now if they'd only deliver! It'd also be great if they matched some of their vegan pizza competitors such as Zpizza and went organic.

Pros: Healthy options, Very vegan friendly, Great dine-in atmosphere

Cons: No delivery, Not organic

LacieParker

Points +52

Vegan
20 Aug 2011

Great pizza!

Fun place with great selection of salads, hoagies, and pizzas. Although the veg hoagies come with dairy cheese, you can ask for vegan cheese instead. You also have the option of "build your own" salad, hoagie, or pizza.

Pros: fun atmosphere, a lot of good choices

Cons: tends to get noisy

dumpkid23

Points +25

Vegan
05 Apr 2011

Yess!! Real vegan Pizza! Lots of beer...!

I have been to Mellow Mushroom 4 times since they opened last month. The pizza and all the veg choices are amazing. The first two times I went I got BBQ sauce base with tofu, Pineapples and Jalapenos, with the Daiya cheese. Soooo good! Then I tried the mega veggie which was amazing too. The only thing was the tofu on it was just that, plain ol tofu, so Next time I'll probably switch it out with tempeh. These first experiences were late night, around 11:30pm. We had to get our pizza to go for reasons unknown. It was super awkward and none of the staff seemed to know when they closed or if they were open. I'm pretty bummed about this because the website says they are open until 2am and 4am on the weekends. I hope they get all this straightened out because there aren't many, if any, late night places to get vegan food. The last time I went was during the day. Happy Hour! They have a great happy hour, half off all beers and they have like hundreds! Yum. My Fiance and I shared the Fun Guy, which is a 5 mushroom pizza with a mushroom vinaigrette as the base and we built our own salad. The food was excellent and the service was good even though it was pretty busy. The Atmosphere is loud, casual, young and fun. I will be spending lots of money there in the future.

Pros: spot on food, friendly staff, so many vegan choices!!

Cons: late night is iffy

jlo5616

14 Apr 2012

Just an FYI, the bbq sauce contains honey. I know some vegans eat it, some don't. Therefore some staff don't mention it while others do.




This page has been viewed 3836 times.