• Mellow Mushroom

  • (19)
    30
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hippie-themed, sit-down dining pizza restaurant. Has vegan cheese, tempeh for pizza and hoagies/sandwiches. Order from the pre-designed menu or build your own. Other menu options include a calzone and hummus and pita. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for Mellow Mushroom
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by BeXXX

vivalabriony

Points +133

Vegan
07 Nov 2023

Best. Vegan. Pizza

We ordered the build your own pizza with 3 ingredients.. olives, roast mushroom and spinach (vegan cheese)
Absolutely the best vegan pizza

Pros: Great pizza base, Melty vegan cheese, Choose roast mushrooms

Advertisement

EmariDiGiorgio

Points +38

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Great thin crust vegan pie

Vegan cheese was wonderfully melted and the toppings (we chose artichokes, Kalamata olives, and roasted peppers) were fresh. A little pricey for $3 each topping, but yummy.

Nikki0911

Points +205

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

Options!

Loved the options for vegan pizza toppings- be sure to ask for the crust not brushed!

Ioana3

Points +621

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Good vegan options

Vegan options seemed to be somewhat limited in Myrtle Beach, so Mellow Mushroom was actually great. Our waiter seemed very knowledgeable and advised us against getting the “mushroom trio” topping, as it was marinated in butter. We made our own pizza with bbq tossed tempeh, portobello mushrooms and follow your heart vegan cheese. The waiter also said she will remove the garlic butter & parmesan basting on the crust, and recommended instead we get olive oil and salt. The large pizza was also huge, would definitely recommend.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-29

Pros: Knowledgeable staff, Tofu and tempeh toppings marinated in sauces

Cons: No vegan pizza in menu, need to make your own

KHall5702

Points +28

Vegan
17 Jun 2022

Pizza was great with tempeh and some veggies and vegan cheese.

Options for multiple sauces for tempeh to be tossed with was nice.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options

madithecatwoman

Points +29

Vegan
18 Mar 2022

Holy Shiitake Pie!!

I got the holy shiitake pie with vegan cheese and no butter or aioli I also added unsauced tempeh and spinach! If you’re a big fan of mushrooms like me this will be the best vegan pizza for you! It’s the best vegan pizza I have personally had😄

Pros: Vegan cheese, Tempeh, Tofu

Cons: Garlic butter not vegan :(

MplsVeganMom

Points +89

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

Eh, okay.

The Veg out vegan pizza was pretty blah. The vegan sandwich was good. Could use a bit more flavor, but still better than their pizza.

Pros: Vegan menu

AerialRowland

Points +24

Vegan
18 Jun 2021

Veg Out!

Always an incredible experience. Every time. Follow Your Heart!

AmySmith1976

Points +48

Vegan
05 Aug 2020

Delicious Pizza

I been to this chain back home and found it just as delicious! Knowledgeable staff and tasty vegan options! Tons of choices for toppings. I find they add too much (follow your heart) cheese for my liking, so I usually ask for less. They are very accommodating and consistent across locations.

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-05

Pros: Fun atmosphere , Great food, Great Staff

Cons: Too much cheese

JER21

Points +160

Mostly Veg
06 Mar 2020

Better than expected

Tasty vegan pizza. Lots of topping options. Good service. Early bird options before 6:00 pm (e.g., $3.00 off a small pizza).

Pros: Vegan crust options, Not too doughy , Reasonable price

gbiagi

Points +28

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Amazing Vegan Pizza!

I ordered a small vegan pizza with tofu on top and it was absolutely to die for. My husband ordered a larger pizza pie with vegan cheese and buffalo tofu on top and he LOVED it. We will definitely be visiting this restaurant very soon!

tuelltime78

Points +233

Vegan
15 May 2019

Delicious Vegan Options

I've been to Mellow Mushroom often before at various locations. This time was my all-time favorite! I ordered their small side salad, which was bigger than I thought it would be, and their vinaigrette was delicious! My husband and I split the salad and also a foot long avocado sandwich. We subbed in vegan cheese and added teriyaki tofu on the sandwich. It had a whole avocado on it. It was definitely the best avocado sandwich I've ever had!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Priced reasonably

mikegdye

Points +24

Vegan
01 Nov 2017

Good stuff

Great decor and theme, delicious vegan calzones and hoagie options, just ask for the began cheese options and add tempe and tofu which is available in several flavor options. Great service both times we went and sweet outdoor area and bar. Give it shot.

Pros: Service, Beer, Food

Cons: No delivery, I think

HeatherArmstrong

Points +90

Vegan
01 Oct 2017

Dinner

We were really excited to find out that Mellow Mushroom offered vegan/GF options. We ordered two personal sized pizza’s, drinks, and a side salad. The service was subpar, and definitely made our experience frustrating. The salad was never brought to the table and we had to ask for it later during the meal. The staff did not even apologize just said “oh”. They also charge you extra for the vegan cheese. Overall they do accommodate you well and the food was good.

Pros: offers gluten free , offers vegan cheese

Cons: pricey , service subpar

Silly Little Vegan

Points +1000

Vegan
21 Jul 2017

Yummy vegan pizza

We really enjoy eating at Mellow Mushroom while vacationing in Myrtle Beach. We usually order the Mega Veggie and sub Daiya and request no butter on the crust.

Kids can eat vegan if they order the pretzle on the kids meal.

Pros: Offer daiya cheese

Cons: Can get pricey

jenluvsveggies

Points +68

Vegan
08 Jun 2017

yum!

Cozy pizza place! I had a pizza loaded with veggies and daiya cheese, my done got a French bread pizza with daiya cheese. Unique cocktails:) come before you are starving! Seems to be a 30-45 minute wait and pizzas take 1/2 to cook. Worth it though!

michaelasmeow

Points +45

Vegetarian
29 Apr 2017

great pizza!

I had the Thai Dye pizza, which has an option to substitute chicken for tofu and vegan cheese. The best vegan pizza I've ever eaten! And the Thai sauce on top was a fantastic touch! Many pizzas are already vegetarian, and any can be substituted for vegan cheese.

juliavalencia

Points +29

Vegan
24 Jun 2016

Excellent vegan pizza

Their dough and red sauce are vegan and they offer vegan daiya cheese! Very vegan friendly! My favorite is vegan pizza with garlic and olive oil base with daiya cheese and tomatoes. Excellent place to eat vegan pizza! Highly recommend!

Pros: Excellent pizza, Vegan friendly

Cons: can be expensive

BeXXX

Points +247

Vegan
07 Sep 2011

Finger lickin good!

What a nice break from the deep fried south. I was living off clif bars on my vacation until I found this place. I am vegan and my boyfriend is an omnivore. Both of our pizzas were superb. Make sure you specify you want your pizza 100% vegan because not all the tofu toppings are vegan. I had a vegan mega veggie and it was amazing. My boyfriend had the (non vegetarian) house and said the quality of the pizza was gourmet.

Pros: Supreme quality, Big variety of toppings!, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Forgot I said no onions :-(, No vegan desserts :-(




This page has been viewed 7170 times.