• Mellow Mushroom

  • (11)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hippie-themed, sit-down dining pizza restaurant. Has vegan cheese, tempeh for pizza and hoagies/sandwiches. Order from the pre-designed menu or build your own. Other menu options include a calzone and hummus and pita. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Mellow Mushroom
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by Manlyvegan

csav

Points +137

Vegan
05 May 2023

Standard Mellow Mushroom

Standard Mellow Mushroom experience.
They take the butter and parm off the crust and replace cheese with vegan cheese.

My favorite orders:
1. Vegan Veg Out add tofu and buffalo sauce
2. Vegan Veg Out add BBQ tempe


They’ve always been really good about making sure everything is vegan, definitely recommend ordering over the phone so that you can be really clear with them.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-20

Pros: A few good vegan options

Cons: Expensive

Advertisement

GiannaGimenez

Points +29

Vegan
12 Mar 2023

Love it

One of my favorite places to go for lunch or dinner. Great if you have a crowd and some eat meat/dairy, some don’t.

Pros: Tofu and tempeh available on pizza and sandwiches, Calzone can even be made vegan, Lots of veggies available

Zook

Points +64

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

Excellent!

I had the Holy Shitake Pie veganized. It was great. I would like to see more vegan choices, especially some vegan meat topping choices.

Pros: Several vegan options

Cons: Would like to see even more vegan choices

VeganMamaAL

Points +245

Vegan
19 Apr 2022

Ok food but they get my order wrong every single time

I’ve been to mellow mushroom several times, but every single time I go there they get my food wrong! If I order a vegan calzone they put butter and cheese on it. If I order pizza they do the same. And it’s not even one mellow mushroom it’s all of them. I’ve even made sure to remind them to not put the butter and Parmesan on it and they still do every single time. Unfortunately this is just a company-wide problem I guess. So just be aware of that. Once they get your food right it is ok though. Most of their food is just loads of bread. Both the calzone and the pizza just feels like you’re eating mostly bread and the bread is very bland. The kids like the kids pizza with vegan cheese and honestly I think it’s better than their regular pizza since it’s on the hoagie bread instead. Something about their pizza dough is just not good. Also I believe they used to use a different vegan cheese and it was so much better. The one they use now is I believe follow your heart? And it does not melt well and has a strange texture. Overall it’s a cool place to go and we go there when with a group of non vegans since there’s a lot for everyone to choose from, but I don’t go there otherwise.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-16

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Inaccurate orders , Food is mediocre at best

lburhop

Points +28

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

I like it

I always have a positive experience when I go here. Not sure why the other commenters seem to have a different experience.

LizMayo

Points +1272

Vegan
13 Mar 2021

Meh.

I ordered the Veg Out without cheese/butter/parm and added tempeh. I’ve had Mellow Mushroom in many states, but this one just tasted very bland and had a scant few veggies—like a few sliced white onions and barely discernible mushrooms. I’m not sure how that is “vegging out” and I’ve certainly had much better for less money. Even my ten—year-old complained about not getting enough toppings on her pizza. The service was extremely slow, and we had some weird waitress who would only return to us every 15 minutes or so and would then talk incessantly about herself. Maybe she was on drugs? It was very odd. I had to refill my kid’s water glass with my own, and we watched countless people who came after the two of us get served and leave before we could even get help. It was probably my worst Mellow Mushroom experience of any I’ve visited so... good luck? The location was convenient (we stayed at the Hampton Inn across the street), but that’s about all I liked about this experience—that and there is a nice vegan waitress working there, but she wasn’t our server.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Mediocre food, Awful service

apharris

Points +32

Vegan
09 Sep 2017

Not a lot of options for vegan or gluten free

I visited and got a vegan pizza(gluten free crust and dairy free cheese)and while the service wasn't awful, the waiter didn't check the food before it was brought out. So mine was wrong and had to be fixed. There was barely any sauce on my pizza that was supposed to have light DF cheese on it. The gluten free crust tasted like bad hard smashed wheat bread and there was so much cheese on it that it felt like I was chewing gum. Even Domino's has better gluten free crust and it's cheaper. The restaurant paid for my pizza because it was one of three things that were brought out late but it just wasn't worth it for the money we spend there.

Pros: vegan options and a gluten free option

Cons: Expensive and poor quality gluten free option. ina

NiaBrookeBurns

Points +33

Vegan
20 Aug 2016

5 stars

I have avoided eating in a restaurant for fear of judgement, but our waiter was so accommodating and helpful in assisting me with a vegan order choice.
He took the feta off and added it to the side for our family brushetta, made sure I knew everything I was ordering and how he could accommodate requests. made me feel very relaxed and comfortable. this was the first order in a restaurant besides Chipotle for me.

Pros: You have the ability to order vegan options and th

Cons: There is not a separate vegan menu or a dedicated

Leetramp

Points +111

Vegetarian
04 Aug 2016

Loved the pizza

Nice place to bring a family, or not. I was with a group that was eating vegetarian, so didn't get to try the vegan options, but those looked as good as the pizza was.

Pros: Vegan options.

KathyO

Points +32

Vegan
18 May 2016

Not so good

Pro: It has a gluten free and dairy free pizza.
Con: Taste is not so good.
Con: Service is awful, at least at the one on Cecil Ashburn Drive. Tried it about three times before I gave up. My kids like the regular pizza, but it just isn't worth the bad service for me to go there and eat this gluten free version. Even Dominoes has a better gluten free pizza.

Manlyvegan

Points +86

Vegan
17 Mar 2016

Good pizza, great beer selection.

Asked for the separate vegan menu and got the veganized Thai Dye pizza with Daiya, tempeh, cucumber, tomato, basil, and sweet chili sauce, on a garlic olive oil base. Also, pretzels with salt and mustard.

Very filling, lots of dough. The kind of make-your-jaw hurt amount of dough which I'm not the biggest fan of. They also have calzones available.

Happy Hour is a great deal on beers with $1 PBR and $2 Yuengling.

Pros: Good for groups, Beer




This page has been viewed 2165 times.