• Mellow Mushroom

  • (9)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hippie-themed, sit-down dining pizza restaurant. Has vegan cheese, tempeh for pizza and hoagies/sandwiches. Order from the pre-designed menu or build your own. Other menu options include a calzone and hummus and pita. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for Mellow Mushroom
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by happyvegans

HannuNiemi

Points +16

Vegan
02 Dec 2023

Ok, but tasteless pizza

The place is nice, located in an old factory. The pizza was a bit tasteless. The pizza was delivered installed to some kind of metal rack, and was difficult to cut.

Pros: The place, Location, A lot of space

Cons: Tasteless pizza, Cannot pay with Apple Pay

Advertisement

Ashliebe

Points +317

Vegan
29 Aug 2023

Okay

We got the mushroom chive pizza and it was covered every last inch in mushroom chives and onions. I had to pick most of it off because it was so stacked on top. The tempeh sandwich was great! The pretzels were dry and the server didn't really understand what vegan was.

RonnieMorson

Points +24

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Would give it 5 stars if I could

Unfortunately they’re are not completely vegan but their vegan pizza is to die for. It tastes amazing and it’s the first vegan pizza I’ve actually liked and the staff there have always been kind and helpful.

gabadoodledoo

Points +250

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

Really good staple

Love their veggie pizza! I like how easy it is to choose vegan and hVe the butter and parm removed. If you’re ordering in person, don’t forget to ask for the crust to be without the butter seasoning!

Chris666

Points +373

Vegan
30 Jul 2019

Good vegan options for a pizza joint

This is a good place to go to with omni friends. Pizzas can be made with vegan cheese. I has a tempeh hoagie with Follow Your Heart Cheese, no mayo. There were also tofu hoagies available. It wasn’t the worst tempeh sandwich, but not the best. It was pretty good. Good atmosphere and variety of pizzas.

Pros: Some vegan options , Tofu, tempeh, and vegan cheese available , Moderately priced

thedaileyshow

Points +35

Vegetarian
22 Sep 2018

Awesome food in a great location

They tend to be very busy, but with good reason! The tempeh sandwiches and pizzas are awesome.

turtleveg

Points +1590

Vegan
16 Feb 2018

now using Follow Your Heart cheese

Loved our pizza! They switched from Daiya to Follow Your Heart. FYH tastes so much better. It was melty and delicious. Topped with buffalo tempeh and veggies. Yum!

Alyannkar

Points +1163

Vegan
29 May 2016

Solid, like always.

I have been to several Mellow Mushrooms throughout NC, SC, and GA. They are a good staple pizza place, especially for those who are vegan and gluten free. I tried one of the veggie pizzas, and it was great. I love their crust and am happy that people who are vegan and omnivores can easily eat together here. I also love the huge salads they have.

Pros: Gluten free and vegan pizza, Amount of toppings, Vegan cheese

Cons: Sometimes busy and slow service

happyvegans

Points +78

Vegan
13 Feb 2011

Daiya cheese

The Downtown Durham Mellow Mushroom recently added Daiya vegan cheese to their menu options. With vegan options, and plenty of options for meat-eating folks, this makes a good stop for vegans/vegetarians with friends/family in town.

Pros: Vegan/Vegetarian Options

Cons: Loud, Usually crowded




This page has been viewed 3240 times.