Japanese
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Macrobiotic restaurant with vegetarian and vegan menu sections. Some desserts are vegan also; inquire to confirm. Reservation only. At 大阪市 北区兎我野町3−20 雁木ビル1F. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:30pm, 5:00pm-9:30pm, Sat-Sun 11:00am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Medaka Natural Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by geoffmatters

eam

Points +174

Vegan
11 Dec 2023

great for a train journey

there’s a few vegan options, though we both had the cutlet. no notes, a great meal for a train trip!

Advertisement

tainagm

Points +87

Vegan
10 Dec 2023

Delicious!!

Amazing vegan sets! Delicious and healthy. A lovely macrobiotic-inspired meal. Additionally, great service - the staff are super friendly and kind.

shjipstone

Points +232

Mostly Veg
05 Dec 2023

Loved it

Got takeout - a vegan set meal. Things were labelled vegan. I really loved that I couldn’t identify many of the foods in this meal, but enjoyed everything. Very light in taste and very healthy

Kusakabe1

Points +40

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

A true 5*

Really nice place & environment. Staff members are eztremely nice and willing to help! ♡

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-20

tarajunee

Points +28

Vegan
22 May 2023

Yum!

Walked in around 4:30pm, no reservation required for that time as there wasn’t many people in there. Got one of the meals with the soy fried bites. The meal came with a small salad, miso soup, rice, 2 types of soy fried bites and some sauce. Was super yummy, my partner who is a non-vegan really enjoyed the soy fried bites as well and tried to steal them off me.
Super friendly service as well, didn’t get an english menu so not sure if they have one available. Paid by card at the end.

Pros: Tasty, Super Friendly

Cons: Didn’t receive English menu

AngelaUK

Points +54

Vegan
22 May 2023

Japanese vegan food

Happy to find this relaxing corner cafe with vegan Japanese options including cake and some soy milk for my coffee. Food and service were good and very chilled vibe here.

Pros: 3-4 vegan options , Dessert options , Relaxing music and nice service

LudmilaZurdo

Points +27

Vegetarian
10 May 2023

5 stars 🌟

I had the veggie hamburger curry, and it was extremely delicious. I still think about that great meal 😌💭💘
I went on a weekday during lunch, and no reservation was required.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-10

Pros: Amount of food, Taste, Service

Cons: Don't accept card payment

narutomaki

Points +62

Vegetarian
30 Apr 2023

Nice japanese vegan dishes

Nice and very friendly restaurant with a variety of clearly marked vegan dishes like Hamburg steak, omu rice and japanese curry. Food is great!

ValerieSherpa

Points +38

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

Great food!

I recently had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant, and I have to say, the food was absolutely delicious. While the decor was a bit plain, the food more than made up for it.

Evrinomi

Points +512

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

They have vegan omu rice!

Great restaurant. We (2people) were there at ~18:30 and we got a seat without reservation. The omu rice menu was delicious (and a lot!). The dessert (black sesame muffin) wasn’t my favourite.

Pros: Several vegan options, Good food

Cons: No English menu, but photos were helpful

AmandaSakiye

Points +2694

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Delicious!

Loved everything here😄the vegan burger patty was so good. It tasted like it had some Japanese potatoe inside as well. There is also an English menu available.

AbbeyWilliams

Points +101

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Set meals, curry and coffee

Enjoyed the set meal of the day which was “meatballs” in black vinegar sauce, accompanied by a small pickle salads, miso and rice. Plenty of vegetables, a nice light meal. Japanese curry comes with small portion of vegetables a few choices of toppings. My partner ordered the one with wheat gluten and fried soy, they ran out of the wheat gluten so was only given 3 small pieces of fried soy, a substitute would have been appreciated for the price. They served beer which is great along with soy milk hot chocolate (pretty tasty) and coffees. By closing time there was just one vegan muffin left which had a good texture but I personally needed little more flavour. The atmosphere is casual, the server was friendly and spoke good English. We did make a reservation beforehand but this wasn’t checked so it is possible to just walk in if it’s not full (1-2 tables left on a Sunday evening)

Pros: Healthy set meal, lots of veggies, Close to Umeda station area, Friendly service

Cons: Quite pricey for what you get , No substitute for missing ingredient given

Prady

Points +242

Vegetarian
07 Apr 2023

It's meh

Not bad, not terrible. Curry was okay, personally wouldn't recommend it since theres much better options in the umeda area

EvaSusin

Points +84

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Loved it!

They have a lot of vegan options, including desserts. The english menu is shortened and has just 5 items, but the japanese menu has several pages. Staff knows english tho so they will help and recommend what to pick. New item on menu is vegan rice omelette, very good. No reservation needed.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Delicious food

Cons: English menu not whole

Gazza

Points +182

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Good vegan options.

Very cozy place with a vegan menu. The soy-patty hamburger steak was soft and tasty. The curry was mildly spicy and tasty. Love the rice, glad that I ordered extra rice for both meals. Finished the curry with all the rice. So perfect!
Cakes and muffins have vegan choices too.

Pros: Good portion, vegan menu

itsrinokt_

Points +3348

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Very enjoyable osechi cuisine

My family and I decided to order vegan Osechi ryori from this place this year to celebrate the special occasion. An assortment of colorful osechi dishes were fresh and simply delicious. We’d love to order their osechi ryori again next year.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-01

SakuraJennifer

Points +1569

Vegan
19 Dec 2022

Great place with healthy food

Macrobiotic style kind of restaurant. Great options, also for sweets. Items are clearly indicated in the menu

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-26

Pros: Clearly indicated vegan options, Healthy food

Cons: Only cash

GeoffreyGunter

Points +34

Vegetarian
16 Oct 2022

Delicious Japanese vegan food

Much of the menu was vegan and clearly labeled. Some items were not vegan but the place is clearly catering to vegans primarily. Coffee shop, cool atmosphere, live music.

Pros: Full vegan menu, Faux meats

Asahi

Points +814

Vegan
05 May 2022

Nice

車麩のカツがとてもおいしかった。ヴィーガンのデザートもあります。

sarita.p

Points +426

Vegan
28 Mar 2020

I recommend the Curry

It was mild and sweet and had a very homemade vibe, I really loved it

BethS76

Points +275

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

Cute, cosy and healthy

This was a great little place for lunch. Unfortunately it does serve meat but there are many options which are vegan or can be veganised. Vegan friendly dishes are clearly marked with a green V leaf mark. I had the curry rice, and my boyfriend had the soymeat karage teishoku. Both meals were delicious and portion sizes were very generous.
The atmosphere was cute and bright but cosy. It also looked like they sometimes have live music too.
Apparently they also recently started doing delivery via ubereats.

Pros: Delicious, healthy and filling., Lots of vegan options

Cons: Serves meat, A little bit pricy

盧幼惠

Points +44

Herbivore
27 Nov 2019

日式蔬食料理,平價好吃!

日式蔬食料理,平價好吃!套餐約1000-1300左右!有提供蔬食餐,種類豐富,但非純素,有洋蔥。分量很夠!

Pros: Cheap,delicious

Frenchbaker

Points +79

Vegetarian
12 Nov 2019

Vegetarian and vegan restaurant with non vegetarian options. 😉

Excellent vegetarian / vegan organic restaurant.
Dishes are just delicious!

Pros: You can choose with your eyes closed.

Cons: Nothing.

linahrichiger

Points +512

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

Delicious

I had the soft tofu kimchi stew (vegan version), a vegan lassi and a charcoal chocolate muffin.
I really enjoyed everything. The food was absolutely delicious.
I payed around 1.900yen for the whole meal, which I think is a fair price.

Pros: Vegan options clearly labeled, Delicious, Fair price

emily991

Points +91

Vegan
26 Nov 2018

well priced, tasty food

the lunch sets were large and well priced- the friend mock meat was some of the best I’ve had. The atmosphere is very nice

EmmaCebuliak

Points +1735

Herbivore
12 Aug 2018

Nice Energy & Food

I came here for dinner with a friend and we both had the vegan korokke set with no extra salad bar option (you can choose one extra salad dish, or access to the entire salad bar buffet for about 700 yen +). They are reservation-only, but I called ahead only 30 mins before we wanted to come and they were able to accommodate us easily. The staff were friendly and attentive. We also had a vegan charcoal muffin for dessert and I was really impressed with it. The decor inside is a little kitschy but it's also pleasant and there were no aspects to complain about really. I'd recommend it for a calm and nourishing meal :)

MyMylou

Points +30

Vegan
21 May 2018

endroit à découvrir

Joli petit resto avec option végé proposé directement par la gérante deplus plusieurs articles fait main tout mignon.

Pros: simple mais savoureux et copieux , wifi gratuit




This page has been viewed 6811 times.