Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Breakfast and brunch place, also offering vegan choices including vegan waffle and pancake, French toast, tofu scramble, sausage, "milk" shakes, and "butter." Open Mon-Sat 7:00am-3:00pm, Sun 7:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Maywood Pancake House
© OpenStreetMap contributors

32 Reviews

First Review by Ellenkm

Barry9000

Points +28

Vegan
22 Feb 2024

Quite a Few Vegan Breakfast Options

The vegan choices are clearly marked. Not just odds and ends of a la carte items, but full breakfast fare.

Advertisement

CherylChaffee

Points +76

Vegan
17 Aug 2023

5 Star Vegan Breakfast!

So many options! We chose the vegan quesadilla and the "Popeye" tofu scramble. They were both delicious and filling! The quesadilla came with yummy vegan sour cream. Both also came with tasty potato wedges. Coffee was also great with soy or almond milk options.

Wait staff was friendly, helpful, and knew their vegan!

ChristinaCerutti

Points +88

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Delicious food

I wish I could give this place 5 stars. They have a lot of options. They also have GF options as well. I arrived looking for waffles and they were absolutely amazing. I will be back!

JOBORK

Points +322

Vegan
28 Jun 2023

Perfect brunch!

Best vegan breakfast and brunch spot in Northern NJ! Their tofu scrambled, soy sausage, and vegan waffles are Devine! Be prepared to wait on weekends!

JenCardenas

Points +40

Vegan
17 May 2023

Quesadillas!

So many awesome options. Vegan French toast, pancakes, waffles and more. I had the quesadillas and they were delicious. Loved it there.

Pros: Bunch of vegan options

anidziu

Points +226

Vegan
18 Apr 2023

Lots of menu options!

Everything on the menu is clearly labeled as vegan, and there’s quite a few options for decent prices. There’s pancakes, challah French toast, waffles, a few tofu scrambles, vegan quesadilla etc. the food was great and I love places that remind me of the places I’d go growing up, like nostalgic diner vibes. Definitely will return when I’m in the area!

ortal.citron

07 Jun 2023

Thanks for showing me what I can get for brunch here 😊

Joeybarber

Points +181

Vegan
01 Feb 2023

Great spot!

This and Rutherford pancake house ROCK!!

Frosecco

Points +24

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Pancakes were amazing!

They have a variety of toppings and different vegan breakfast options as well

Pros: Quick service , Few vegan options in menu

vegangyy

Points +696

Vegan
14 May 2022

Great options

You can find a lot of great vegan breakfast and lunch options here. They have three different tofu scramble dishes that are served with vegan sausage, they also have vegan pancakes, waffles that are served with vegan butter and they make a vegan challah French toast! All highly recommended and delicious. Their lunch options include a vegan quesadilla with cheese, veggies and chorizo and a vegan burger. They serve non dairy milks as well for coffee and the staff are well informed on vegan options and what they are serving you. I’ve been going here for years and take anyone that comes into the area!

HandsOffMyHummus

Points +383

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

Vegan & GF breakfast paradise

The tofu scramble is so-so in my opinion, but the gf vegan pancakes and waffles could not be better. Does not take reservations. Busy on weekends.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-04

KatieMcMahon

Points +205

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Finally some vegan breakfast food!!

I always have a lot of trouble finding places with vegan breakfast options, and I loveeee their pancakes and sausage here! I’ve had their waffles before too and they’re amazing

Pros: A decent amount of vegan options, Affordable, Great food

westchestervegan

Points +1133

Vegan
29 Aug 2020

If I could give it 5 stars I would.

One of my fave breakfast spots!! The pancakes, French toast, stuffed French, breakfast quesadilla, tofu scramble... basically EVERYTHING that they offer for vegan options is amazing!

JustLayuh

Points +574

Vegan
26 Jan 2020

Breakfast cravings satisfied✅

Vegan breakfast- especially outside of the home- can be hard to come by. So when I heard about the Maywood Pancake House, I had to make the trek. My family and I were not disappointed 👍🏽

They have a few different tofu scrambles to choose from, vegan pancakes and waffles, French toast, and milk and butter alternatives. The challah French toast was a little dry, but there were some major breakfast cravings that were satisfied that day 🥞🤤🧇.

Despite the long wait time the service was pretty quick. Will definitely be making the trek back 🙌🏽

Pros: Lots of vegan breakfast options , Pretty quick service

Cons: Long wait time

bartlee

Points +45

Vegan
08 Jan 2020

Yum!!!

Vegan pancakes, hash browns and milkshakes, what more can I ask for?! Love coming here. However, I don't recommend the tofu scramble unless they improved it - when I tried it a couple years back it was very lacking as are many places. They can be very very busy so be prepared to wait and sometimes I think bc of the rush things may be undercooked. But I still love it here!!

Pros: Great vegan options, Yummy vegan breakfast diner food!

Cons: Weekends can have long wait times, Tofu scramble bland

OmarJohnson

Points +102

Vegan
19 Dec 2019

great vegan pancakes

Came in here around Sunday at 930. Place was packed and we still got speedy service. I had the vegan pancakes, waffles, and vegan sausage. All good

Adjexc

Points +46

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Great breakfast diner

Absolutely love the vegan options here, everything you could want! Pancakes, waffles, French toast, tofu scrambles. Excellent fresh squeezed orange juice.

JenniferU

Points +22

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

one of the few gems in my area

Wish I can give them five stars, but since it’s not a fully vegetarian or vegan restaurant I can’t 😓. Found this little gem about a year ago or longer. I’ve ordered from here before I went fully vegan (I was a vegetarian). Love their waffles, pancakes, and vegan sausage! I love coming here for their food

star-girl

Points +44

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Vegan pancakes and breakfast- oh my!

The vegan food is amazing and consistent. I love my chocolate chip pancakes, French toast amercaine and more! HOWEVER- it’s a nightmare to eat there. Always crowded and the service leaves a lot to be desired. Get your vegan brunch- just take it to go. And be very clear about wanting vegan butter. Once I ate there, ordered vegan pancakes and they gave me real non-vegan butter. They apologized (barely). I only love their food because where else can you get fluffy vegan pancakes and French toast?

Pros: Vegan pankcakes, French toast and more!

Cons: Not always friendly or smart- repeat your order, A nightmare to eat in

rioscathy8

Points +286

Vegan
01 Apr 2019

Can’t believe it’s vegan

I had the vegan French toast with strawberries on top and it was amazing! The prices are fair and huge portions.

VictoriaLeighAntis

Points +38

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

Love this spot

They even do challah! And have great pancakes with butter just amazing. Service was good too

thatveganmom

Points +26

Vegan
26 Dec 2018

What a shame

We have given this place chance after chance after chance. We’ve found hair in our food on three separate occasions. We’ve had horrible service (not the norm) and have had the servers laugh at us when we found hair in our food the third time. The manager has always tried to do damage control, but today was the last straw. First, there was a hair in our menu- not just between the pages, no- between the plastic where the pages are inserted which tells me the menus aren’t cleaned (or they are, but in a mediocre fashion at best). Anyway, my fiancé asked if they could make a vegan breakfast sandwich with tofu scramble, cheese and sausage with a side of home fries. When the good came out, the waitress said, “oh we can’t put it on a sandwich because it’ll fall out. So here’s a platter with toast so you can make your own.” Uhm, that’s not what we asked for. If you thought there would be a problem, come and inform us so we have the option to order something else. Additionally, they gave us a side of sausage which they charged for instead of giving a breakfast sandwich price. We asked for a BREAKFAST SANDWICH, not a “make your own” platter. After today, we will not be back. It sucks because I love vegan breakfast options, and I really wanted to love this place, but after all this, I just can’t.

Pros: Decent coffee, Variety of vegan options

Cons: Dirty, Expensive, Damage control instead of making changes

JeanRenè

Points +185

Vegan
15 Oct 2018

Go to breakfast spot

You won't be disappointed.

TheresaStowell

Points +906

Vegan
06 May 2018

excellent overall

Great spot with plenty of options for everyone. Vegan and gluten free items are clearly marked and the servers are knowledgeable. When the waitress learned that we were friends out of town, she asked if we were vegan and went through the menu with us to make sure we knew our options.
Pancakes, waffles, scrambles, burgers, smoothies, milkshakes and more

Pros: lots of vegan options

Lucipurrr

Points +117

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

wish I could give it 5

The omelet and pancakes were amazing!! We came in on a busy Sunday and sat by the bar but it was totally worth it. Lovely server.

Pros: none

Cons: none

VεGΛ☥GΛL

Points +98

Vegan
13 Feb 2018

One of the best pancake houses in Northern NJ

To feel welcomed by enjoying a vegan breakfast/brunch/lunch meal amongst others. It's a win-win for everyone.

Pros: sweet & savory vegan options

Cons: waiting for a table varies

Passion4Peace

Points +45

Vegan
21 Jan 2018

French toast😋

Food was delicious! Nice seating and staff...We were helped as soon as we walked in. It seems to be a very popular place, so that was amazing!

Pros: Lots of delicious vegan options!

Lizziebenson

Points +140

Vegan
28 Aug 2017

great vegan pancakes

If I'm looking to go out to breakfast with my non vegan family and friends this is the perfect place!!




This page has been viewed 5864 times.