MAX - Vasagatan

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 17 reviews )

Find

Vasagatan 7, Stockholm, Sweden, 11120

Serves meat, vegan options available. Fast food burger chain founded 1968 in Sweden and has since expanded to multiple countries. Concept is similar to McDonald's. Offers burgers, nuggets, fries, shakes, salads, and combo meals. Vegan options include a bbq sandwich, burger vegan, crispy no chicken (ask for egg-free mayo). The vegan dips are bbq, sriracha-ketchup, sweet n sour, and vegan mayo. Note: Many businesses in Sweden are cashless. Open Mon-Thu 07:00-02:00, Fri 07:00-05:00, Sat 08:00-05:00, Sun 08:00-02:00.

Categories: Lacto, American, Fast food, Take-out, Non-veg

17 Reviews

First Review by Sweganic

EUGENEJ

Points +90

Vegan
27 Aug 2020

better than mcdonalds

visited last may. i was surprised by the number of vegan things they had. pleasantly surprised. also pretty mind blowing that a fast food chain would have this many options. better than the swedish mcdonalds. if you love vegan junk food, which i do, definitely worth coming to. and the shakes were pretty good. i had the chocolate one and a pear one at another branch with a non-vegan swedish friend. i guess it would be a great place if you have different diets.

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-27

Pros: chocolate shake!

Cons: can't remember atm

SoyStina

Points +972

Vegan
01 Jun 2020

Fast food

It’s a huge food chain in Sweden. They’re environmentally conscious for a fast food restaurant. They have some vegan options. It’s a good deal if you’re in for some fast food.

Pros: Vegan options , Affordable , Fast food

SappyHuman

Points +42

Vegan
09 Mar 2020

Options vegan

Cool pour casser la croûte, il y a un burger "chicken" vegan, un bbq burger vegan et un burger "beef" vegetarien (steak moins bon qu'un beyond meat mais pas mal quand mm) mais qui peut devenir vegetalien en changeant quelques options ... comme la Mayo sans œuf par exemple (goût sauce pomme frite de chez mc do) ça dépanne bien en tout cas ..

Pros: Rapide et le personnel agréable

Cons: steak a la friteuse, très très gras

Advertisement

klara.traveler

Points +22

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Tasty fast food

Surprisingly wide choice of veg options, vegan burgers and ! shakes ! and some nice dips, so you can get the whole veg menu with fries for accetable price (concerning being in Stockholm) even at very late hours.

I think it's always great when huge chains come with some veg options 'cause thus this veg meals are finally getting to more and more common consumers :).

Pros: many options, vegan shakes, tasty, not bad price for Stockholm

Cons: heavy fast food

havelock

Points +104

Vegan
21 Dec 2019

Vegan Fast Food - easy ordering

Seeing they had a green menu, I was curious about what was on offer. They had a couple of vegan options - the burger was fast food but was tasty. The other consideration is that not speaking Swedish, you can order via the digital kiosk in english, tailoring your order. Sometimes in another culture it can get a bit fatiguing going through the whole plant-based explanation every meal (although this is becoming less of an issue).

Pros: Fast service, Good Value for Sweden, Easy

Cons: Junk Food

Eric_

Points +696

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2019

Convenient but

Since they're everywhere, it's a convenient franchise, especially now that they've really upped their veggie selection. But not exactly a place I'd visit having a proper alternative.

Cons: Actually quite expensive for what you get, Fast-food franchise - the opposite of cozy

BrynnTrussell

Points +130

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Great vegan fast food

We had a BBQ burger, vegan chicken burger, both as meals with extra vegan mayo and later I got a strawberry shake! I can't believe all the vegan choices.

Pros: Lots of options for a quick meal and affordable

Cons: Still fast food.

nmo210

Points +213

Vegan
26 Aug 2019

Vegan milkshakes

The no chicken burger meal is good fast food. Juicy! There are 3 different vegan milkshakes available

Vegandave100

Points +109

Vegan
02 Jul 2019

Fast food vegan option!

This chain is smartly offering a small number of vegan “burger” and “chicken” options. This is NOT health food but can get you by in a pinch until you can find a better whole food plant based option.

We had bbq sandwiches and were impressed! Spicy and good flavor.

Fries are decent not great. We also ordered carrot sticks and apple slices for a bit of health and fiber.

Pros: Tasty vegan fast food, Inexpensive , Convenient

Cons: Not health food

RachelNurse

Points +18

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

Fab bbq burger

The bbq burger was tasty and cheap. Surprised how good it was. Impressed with the vegan mayo.

FlokiTheCat

Points +870

Vegan
30 Sep 2018

Good vegan burger but bad fries

Max is a fast food chain offering a vegan "pulled pork" style burger.

The burger is quite good and cheap (especially in a city like Stockholm) making it a very good option to grab on the go when you are on a hurry and don't want to spend a lot of money on a meal. The fries though are not very good, being similar to the one offered by any other fast food chain.

Pros: Cheap, Good burger

Nandayoo

Points +220

Vegan
14 Feb 2018

Good option in a pinch, not so qualitative

Max has broached the fast food market for the veg-movement by not only offering two vegan burgers, but also the new "Oumph"-product that is excellent. This is good for several reasons, for one you have vegan food available all over the country all of a sudden, and it's good to take a stance.

Unfortunately the burgers are not very well executed. Only one is a dedicated vegan-burger (BBQ), the other one can be made vegan on request (tex mex). The BBQ does have oumph, but it is not well balanced, since it is both oily, cloyingly sweet bco the marinade that leaves a lot to be desired, and then there's the sub-par jalapenos that are either bitingly acidic or so hot that they overpower any other taste.

The bread is soft and the burger is far better if you ask for cucumber (which costs extra) because it balances out the other issues, but overall they failed a chance to produce a good vegan burger. Oumph as a resource has a very high potential.

Overall, a lot can be improved, but you have vegan "emergency-food" when you're out and about.

Pros: Oumph, Two vegan options, Widely available

Cons: Low quality, Expensive for what you get, Oily, cloyingly sweet and overbearingly hot

Emilykmiec

Points +249

Vegan
19 Nov 2017

Good vegan fast food

There's only one vegan burger at this place but it's really convenient and cheap compared to most places in Sweden. The burger is pretty spicy, which I loved, but you can easily remove the jalepenos and I think you'd be fine. The opening hours listed on happycow are wrong though, this place is open ridiculously late, we stumbled in after a Saturday night out around 4am and it was insanely busy.

DavyJones

Points +74

Vegan
02 Nov 2017

a good pull

Yes, it’s a (meat serving) fast food chain. But it‘s a fast food chain that has a vegan burger/sandwich, that even labels well and has many convenient locations. It‘s rather cheap and you can get the burger as a menu with your usual fries and drink. The burger itself is better than you‘d expect, the pulled Oumph fits well into the burger, the jalapeños are spicy but easy to either leave out or try and then take off. There tends to be a lot of sauce/mayo that can be used for the fries but might be a downer for people that aren’t into these kind of things. Other than that it‘s your usual fast food that you get for the usual reasons.
Also apparently they plant trees somewhere in Africa for environmental reasons.

Pros: cheap, available in a menu pack, many locations

Cons: serves meat

Laudi

Points +358

Vegan
01 Jul 2017

Only one vegan option

There is only one vegan burger on the menue which - for me - was far too spicey hot, even without the jalapeños. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this place.

Pros: location , reasonable prices , easy ordering

Cons: only one vegan option , too spicey , fast food atmosphere

Frederika

Points +120

Vegan
16 Apr 2017

Nice vegan fast food options

The BBQ sandwich tastes great, but looks so-so and generally has a flabby feel. You should order is without the Jalapenos unless you like it really hot.
Fries were good, the place was always quite crowded and not very tidy. Overall a good fast food experience, recommended to grab a quick bite if you cannot find anything else.

Pros: Tasty burger, Decent value for the price

Cons: Crowded, Serves meat

Sweganic

Points +119

Vegan
14 Jan 2017

My vegan safe card in the fast food jungle

Since burger chain Max released their "veg-family" I tend to go there whenever I'm in need of quick, affordable and delicious meal. Their vegan burger (the BBQ Sandwich) is nothing like vegetarian burgers used to be in such joints (ie boring): Max veg burger is actually not boring at all, but actually super tasty!
Highly recommended especieally for travellers passing the central station and looking for something they can eat. I assure you this is a safe bet for a good lunch!

Pros: several veg-options, real, original, tasty options

Cons: serves meat

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Stockholm Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has MAX - Vasagatan closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3181 times.