Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Bakery
British
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Non-profit community and cultural venue with cafe and bar est. 2012 and relocated August 2020. Features a regularly changing menu of sandwiches, burgers and salads as well as cakes and pastries. Previously vegan, no longer veg as of May 2023. Still has vegan options. Check its Facebook for current specials. On the premises is also a gallery showcasing the work of local artists. Open Mon-Tue 07:30-17:00, Wed 07:30-23:00, Thu-Fri 07:30-22:00, Sat 08:30-22:00, Sun 11:00-19:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Matthews Yard
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by Eva-ThereseEriksson

Vegfix

Points +6018

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

Edit - this review was written when they were a vegetarian eaterie

Would give Matthews Yard 5 stars if fully vegan. Saying that all the food and cakes/treats are vegan, just dairy milk for hot drinks. I had the vegan breakfast and it was very tasty indeed, really hit the spot. The baked beans I think were home made, definitely not from a tin. Friendly staff, spacious inside, and great community vibe.
(hopefully they re-use the little plastic ketchup pot)

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-19

Advertisement

Anna_dyd

Points +261

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

Dissapointed

No longer fully vegan but still some decent choices, good enough to get a quick fix

LilacHippy

Points +12139

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Mostly Vegan

Although it is always very sad when a place makes such a backwards step to go non-veg, I was pleased to see there was actually only one non-veg dish on the whole menu. I was immediately offered oat milk when I ordered coffee.
The dishes offered are not really proper meals, more like light light brunch/lunch. The pancakes I ordered were quite nice although a little plain.
It's more geared up to be a co-working space than an eatery.
It's cheap and it's cheaper if you join.

Pros: Mostly veg, Cheap, Good for working

Cons: Switched from veg to non-veg! :(, Needs more power outlets

RichardⓋMolyneux

10 Jul 2023

Owner Saif Bonar sadly changed MY to non-veg on 3rd May 2023. Despite claiming to be vegan on e.g. https://meetup.com/matthewsyard they've always stocked (even donated to kids) dairy milk :-(

TBVG2019

Points +447

Vegan
07 Jan 2023

Dog Friendly, Basically Vegan

As noted by some other reviewers, all the food and cakes here are vegan - as can all drinks be - they just offer dairy milk for vegetarians. The sandwiches were delicious, with a good range and pricing from £5 to £7. We also had some really tasty waffles and cakes and one of the chocolatiest vegan oatmilkshakes I've had to date. A great place with a cool atmosphere and really lovely staff, a jewel in Croydon's crown!

veganevolutionist

12 May 2023

Hi, on their fb page they show them serving meat and eggs etc. They are no longer a veggie place but an omni place:(

TBVG2019

23 Jun 2023

Ah that's a real shame to hear, thank you for letting everyone know

NereaDelEstal

Points +62

Vegan
11 Jul 2022

Fantastic

Fantastic cafe with 10/10 food. Really tasty vegan breakfast. It has great coffee and tea. Very friendly staff.

TamlynShimizu

Points +324

Vegan
18 May 2022

Nice corner cafe with good options!

Definitely a nice place to check out, eat, drink, work from, etc.

Pros: Nice cafe atmosphere , Almost completely vegan , Nice staff and good options

Cons: Dairy milk

Bananacake

Points +435

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Delicious vegan cafe in west Croydon

Community vegan cafe with a great menu and cakes. Good price

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-27

Pros: Affordable , Food , Art

Cons: Lack of wifi

Skyzieboo

Points +3142

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

Such a cute spot!

Hot drink and pastry deal is amazing!!! I got a pain au chocolate (which was really good!!) and a latte - the latte wasnt really very hot but it was okay. The shop itself is soooo cute and also the staff are really nice. A little (basically) vegan gem in Croydon

Nicola1111

Points +901

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Fully vegan!

Extensive vegan menu, breakfasts, burgers etc they also do lots of different milkshakes! They do desserts, crossiants etc.
We had the moving mountains fishless finger bap with tartare sauce and gherkins! It was delicious. The biscoff milkshake was a 10/10 too!
So happy to have a local vegan restaurant as good as this!
We'll be back to work through the rest of the menu 🌱

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-27


Updated from previous review on 2021-06-27

Pros: Fully vegan, extensive menu

Cons: Nothing 🌱

Eva-ThereseEriksson

Points +34

Vegan
04 Apr 2021

Incredible!!

AMAZING selection of vegan food and pastries and it was also the absolute BEST coffee I've ever tasted, no lie. Moving away from Croydon and so gutted I only discovered it today!! Their almond croissant (pictured) was to die for.

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-04

Pros: Affordable, Tasty




This page has been viewed 3470 times.