Matsumotoya

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 7 reviews )

Find

13 Rue des Veaux, Strasbourg, France, 67000

Serves meat, vegan options available. Japanese restaurant with vegan options, but you should specify when ordering. Choices include: miso soup, salad, nishiitake (shiitake mushrooms cooked in sake), fried eggplant, fries, edamame, inari sushi, cold hiyayakko (tofu with seasonings), natto (fermented tofu), pan- or deep-fried vegetable gyoza, agenasu-don (fried eggplant with rice), yasai-tendon (tempura vegetables and rice), kitsune soba or udon (noodle soup with tofu skins), and vegetable tempura. Likely used shared fryer for tempura. Variety of Japanese beers, spirits, and tea. NOTE: Nov 2018 reported limited vegan options - please send updates. Open Mon-Sun 11:30-14:30, 18:30-22:30.

Categories: Ovo, Japanese, Beer/Wine, Asian, Non-veg

7 Reviews

First Review by fievos

arianna.terzago

Points +281

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Not much choice

Non a lot of vegan or vegetarian options

marianacoim

Points +18

Vegan
21 Feb 2020

Bad for vegans

Everything has hondashi or eggs. Even my raw tofu came with fish flakes on top.

Pros: Free rice

Eih

Points +56

Vegan
14 Mar 2019

Vegan options available upon request

Everything is usually cooked in fish stock but they made a mushroom one for our meals, which was very kind. The food was good and the waitress was nice and in tune with us.

Advertisement

SapiensSapiens

Points +361

Fruitarian
12 Jan 2019

☹️/€€€

-gyoza légumes👍🏽
-tofu froid 👍🏽
SERVICE ☹️ ne sait pas ce qu'est le véganisme (Oui, les fruits de mer sont des animaux. On ne met pas de mayonaise sur la salade d'un.e végane)
AMBIANCE 😊

CharlotteNessius

Points +41

Vegan
15 Jun 2018

Totally Disappointed

Almost every dish is made with fish sauce - no main is vegan ! Won’t go back

Cons: Very few vegan options

Dariadaria

Points +78

Vegan
01 Jun 2018

Neither much vegetarian nor vegan

Having read the review and description I expected a place with vegan options. I then was told that any broth they use is on fish stock base, which then make it impossible to eat most of the hot dishes. Also items labeled as vegetarian contain fish, the waitress explained to me that in Japanese cuisine fish is considered vegetarian. They have very few vegan items on the menu, yet they were very friendly and helpful.

Pros: Helpful, friendl staff

Cons: Not big vegetarian nor vegan choice

fievos

Points +362

Vegan
11 Apr 2018

Authentic Japanese food

This is probably the best Japanese food I've had in France - very authentic, and a wide range of dishes, going beyond the usual range of sushi and including a good selection of vegan dishes.

I ordered miso soup and two entrées - everything was delicious, and I was brought a few other small plates to accompany them - inari sushi, edamame and mushrooms. These were almost enough for a meal in themselves, but I also had a great soba noodle soup, with slices of inari. It was all very good quality, the staff were very friendly, and I would definitely come again.

It was quite busy when I visited (about 8pm on a weekday), and there aren't many tables, so it's worth booking ahead.

Pros: Authentic Japanese food, Large selection of options, Very friendly staff

Cons: Slightly expensive, Often quite busy

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Strasbourg Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Matsumotoya closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1147 times.