CLOSED: Mashke Vegan Bar

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 5 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
984-147-6386
Find

Avenida 10 Esquina con Calle 26, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, 77710

Vegan and vegetarian restaurant with organic options. Unique flavors and alchemy merged with natural fruits and herbs. Please be aware that although the name implies it's vegan, they do use eggs in some of the dishes. Confirmed closed, Jan 2017.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Ovo, American, Pizza, Italian, Organic, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern

5 Reviews

First Review by alicus

Not good, and Ridiculously overpriced - Edit

If you are going to have such insanely expensive food it better be amazing or at least decent. This was ...*not* good. I had the vegan burger with fries. The bread was dense and dry(like a bad bagel), the lentil patty was burnt and tasteless: i believe it was deep fried. after two bites i just gave up on the burger and started eating the fries. which were also awful ...very greasy and soggy. So not only was the food fatty and greasy, it was not tasty and poorly made. The guy asked me if everything was ok with the food because he realized i had stopped eating the burger. I told him everything was fine. I am usually honest with these vegan restaurants so i regret doing that. I do not want overpriced, bad (IMO) vegan restaurants to remain open because it gives people the impression that vegan food is nasty AND expensive. Which is a disservice to the animals. I left feeling hungry AND angry- at how much money i had just wasted. This place needs to close down, in my opinion, they need to reopen with a new name and change the 'chef'. [edit by staff - see tos]

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-07

Pros: Nice, Friendly Staff

Cons: Terrible Food, Extremely Expensive, Opens at 1 pm

5 Responses
Read More

DrorLevi 30 Oct 2016 - Thx for remainder us that u R THE OWNER of pitted date !! U should be a shame about your actions ...go to other buisness just that u can say lies ?!?! It's a shame ! I suspect in the moment that I saw that u get inside of the restaurant with 1 box of pitted date ,and imidiatly after u finish here u come back for pitted date ! Next time do for me a favor ...if u wanna spy about my food just ask me how I make it ! If u think that I over price ,so u forget to mention that 1 pice 2 cm of brownie cost 10USD in your favorit place -pitted date ! Hoy low can u get :(  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

caa5042 30 Oct 2016 - Hi. I am not the owner of the pitted date. I am simply recommending a place with great quality vegan food. I am simply being honest about your food. The staff are very nice but your food is really bad and very overpriced. I think you need to change your chef or change the way the food is made.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DrorLevi 30 Oct 2016 - I dont wanna to argument with u ...what ever u say ,I just wanna mentions 2 things ...
1.its seems that u have interest and u don't say the true because u praised 1 reasturant and get down about the other vegan places in the city (I check your profile)
2. it's strange ...I know that the prices r expensive and i hear that before but u r the only here that talk bad about the food ..yes the ingredients r expensive here because there isn't a lot of options to buy this products here (we r in Mexico ) and if u have a chance to check the prices of the products that we use -u will see that it's not cheep to be vegan in this country! But NEVER I here that the food is NOT GOOD.
3. I saw u get out from the reasturant and come back to pitted date ,I smell something stinky so I follow u..it's seems that u r in a mission...well I wish u good luck ...and remember :"karma is bigger than everyone in this world "  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

caa5042 30 Oct 2016 - Hi. I have never walked out of mashke vegan and walked to the pitted date. I am not the owner of pitted date lol. Vegan ingredients are not expensive.... Potatoes bread and lentils are not expensive. Maybe other people would love your food. Maybe I'm being too harsh.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DrorLevi 30 Oct 2016 - Yea...what ever u say ...  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy but pricy - Edit

We had the spaghetti bolognese and it was really amazing. Vegan pizza is crazy overpriced and vegetarian pizza is not very good and a lot more expensive than in the itAlian restaurants on 5th avenue.

Pros: Great menu

Cons: Overpriced

3 Responses
Read More

DrorLevi 31 Oct 2016 - HEY Caroline thx for the review.
I just wanna tell that the ingredients that we use they r from the first quality that the market can offer u.
The pizza r expensive (and I know that ) is because we use really expensive vegan cheese (daya) this cheese cost 600MXN for 1 KG . For every pizza we use 200 gram of this cheese..now do the math!
We also enter to the menu other ripe of pizza with peanut cheese-this pizza is cheaper that the other .
Thx
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

a.caroline 31 Oct 2016 - I'm sorry, I am from Mexico City where you can get bigger pizzas with the same vegan cheese for almost half the price. Other vegan places in Playa are very decent too and not so expensive.
For what I read you take criticism more as an accusation than as a wish to improve. If you want to continue operating the way you do, then simply ignore our comments.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DrorLevi 02 Nov 2016 - Hhhhh... So funny:)
In Mexico City you can get also in half of price house ,beer, bus!
Carol don't take it personally. WE R IN QUINTANA ROO NOT IN DF. Here everything coast double if not more ! Not because I don't wanna this is the market here I also loved in Mexico City and I can tell u that to make my food ther it will cost half of price .until there please don't talk about things that u don't have any idea about them. And other thing maybe here in playa u can get more chipper vegan pizza but not with dayia cheese. Guaranteed! So please do me a favor when u will have a reasturant and u will buy your products talk with me . But the wey we also have vegan pizza at 145MXN with peanut cheese or also this is too much expensive for u.
Good vibes :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not Vegan, VEGETARIAN - Edit

Nice place and concept, while veggie eateries are opening everywhere with mostly not able to offer alcoholic beverages, the idea of a bar is great! Good food, mostly middle eastern specialities. It is a new place and there are a few issues that hope they will address.
1. Name is very confusing as the place is vegetarian, not vegan. Not a problem with a vegetarian restaurant, there should be more of them around! But when calling it "Vegan Bar" there should be no animal product offered on the premises. Veganism is not a diet but a simply a decision to be coherent with ones action and not unnecesarily harm other living beings. A business that encourages the abuse and killing of millions chickens and cows should not use the name Vegan.
2. While they offer the option to veganize every vegetarian plate, there is an extra charge and that is not even listed on the menu.
3. I ordered a beer they advertised on facebook that same day as a 2x1 promotion. After drinking the first I asked for the second as part of the promotion and was told it would not apply to that beer. When I pointed out it was exactly they beer they had posted about the promotion, instead of offering me the second beer, the owner simply told me they would remove and change the facebook post.
The place has potential and is new, hopefully in the near future they will be more clear about vegetarianism/veganism and also be a bit more costumer focused.

Pros: New concept, Bar environment, Drinking alcohol with vegan food

Cons: Not Vegan as their name but Vegetarian, Vegan option has not listed extra cost, Do not respect their own web promotions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan bar and restaurant - Edit

Only vegan bar in playa .they have good menu ,they use Daiya cheese.Drinks and vegan food to animate your night!!!

Pros: drinks, location, staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great new vegan place! - Edit

Saw this place popped up on our usual walk and we were very excited to give it a try. First time having gnocci (they spell it nioki) and it was really good. We also had the garlic bread and Bolognese Spaghetti which were well done and great comfort foods.

Second time I had the garlic bread again ( I just love Daiya I guess) as well as the Fusilli Pesto. I didn't really like the Pesto as it was really oily and the pasta may have been a bit too underdone, but that's par for most Pestos I have had in places I knew it wouldn't be very good.

Overall, highly recommended. Really want to try the Lasagna and some if their alcoholic offerings!

Pros: every item but 2 can be made vegan, super friendly and attentive wait staff, lots of different kinds of cuisine

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Playa Del Carmen Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Mashke Vegan Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 947 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support