• Masalaa

  • (13)
    45
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Indo-Chinese

Vegetarian Indian restaurant with a large menu of dishes from India's southern region as well some Indo-Chinese dishes. Offers buffet on Thursday evenings. Vegan items are marked. Comfortable interior with plenty of tables. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm, Mon-Sun 5:30pm-10:00pm, Sat-Sun 12:00pm-3:00pm.


Venue map for Masalaa
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by kornfeld

JosephGarrett

Points +18

Vegan
13 Dec 2022

Finally open again!

I love this place and they were closed for a few months but they're finally back open. The food is amazing and the menu is clearly labeled with a large variety of vegan options. The service and good are both amazing! I recommend getting a dosa.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fully vegetarian restaurant , Amazing tasting food.

Cons: Not fully vegan :(

Advertisement

Samadhi808

Points +15

Vegetarian
08 Sep 2022

Masalaa is a Family Favorite

I have eaten at Masalaa for years. I love the food and we never have to worry about meat being in our near our food during preparation.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-08

maseface

Points +1099

Vegan
02 Jun 2021

Great place!

Food is always perfect, it might take a bit to get to you but it’s worth it. Menu is clear, staff is knowledgeable!

pagescats

Points +81

Vegan
17 May 2021

Amazing and fantastic find!!

We stumbled upon this restaurant today and we are so happy we did. It is a vegetarian restaurant that marks vegan items on their menu. They also mark gluten free items.

We love our dosas and search high and low for good ones. This place is an absolute must. They have a large variety of regular dosas. Today we discovered there are stuffed dosas too. We tried one and absolutely loved it!

We can't wait to return here and try more dosas. The prices were decent. The place was clean. Our only complaint would be that we were given bottled water but they may be because of COVID. Hopefully they will have glasses of water soon.

Pros: dosas are large and great flavors

Cons: given bottled water

Ozzie13r

Points +18

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Great Indian food best in Colorado

Amazing vegan and gluten free options, menu is very clear with ingredients!

Redheaded Vegan

Points +447

Vegan
27 Aug 2018

Fantastic Food

A friend introduced me to Masalaa and I love it! Their dosas are out of this world.

The service can be spotty but if you go and you're not in a hurry, the food more than makes up for it.

As a bonus, there is a great Indian grocer in the same strip mall that is well worth the visit.

Pros: Great Food, Vegan Clearly Marked

Cons: Spotty Service

ColoradoLeo

Points +33

Vegetarian
18 May 2018

Like home cooking - a bit different each time

We love East Indian food, and a non-violent diet. Between us, we've sampled India cuisine in many cities,and in other countries. When we discovered this place 15 years ago, we were hooked. At the time, it offered southern-style cooking, mostly based on coconut and very comfort-food feeling. The place has apparently gone through several different management changes over the years, and different kitchen leads, but still provides vegetarian fare with pretty consistent quality. In particular, we will drive an hour or more to the Thursday night buffet, which comes with masala dosa as part of the deal (potato inside, but you can ask for plain dosa also). The current chef/cook must be a walking encyclopedia of recipes - something new nearly every time. We'd never had pani puri until he brought it out for one of the buffets. From time to time here have been celebration special dishes when an East Indian national religious or agricultural festival occurs or for some other holiday. We've overheard 'new' people commenting that they "could eat vegetarian if it was like this" and "Wow -
so many flavors!" We've overheard meat-eaters with their veg friends, commenting that veg eating can be interesting/fun. Lately we've noticed that when they are busy, we may have to remind the wait staff to order our dosas, or remind them to put out more little bowls for the soup. Although the general management of materials and staff has slipped in the last year, it's a small inconvenience when considering the food - which remains the reason for coming back.

Pros: Non-meat restaurant, Variety, Buffet is great value

Cons: Current staff need better training

kenvegan

Points +12636

Vegan
21 Aug 2016

Tasty buffet

I cannot say this is one of the best India buffets I have been to, but all of their food is very tasty.

I particularly liked how they gave me a small Masala Dosa (Potato in a flour shell) at the end of my meal. That was much better than anything I ate at the buffet.

I think the vegan items could be more clearly labeled.

4moby

Points +120

Vegan
24 Mar 2016

spicy and yummy

went to buffet, 3 kids and 2 adults. price was low for a family dinner out. the food was spicy, but they made our table bread w/o ghee, w/o us requesting it which was kind.

Pros: Buffet price, food was great, options for vegans

nsonnesyn

Points +138

Herbivore
24 Apr 2015

Recently Renovated!!

I have always loved Masalaa because it is the closest thing I've ever had in the US to the traditional South Indian cuisine I so dearly miss enjoying during my travels.

After closing for quite some time to remodel, Masalaa is now back open and better than ever! The decor and ambiance are improved, the floors replaced, and the bathrooms completely redone.

As usual the staff is friendly and food is wonderful.

I've been visiting Masalaa for late brunch regularly for 5 years. The flavors are incredible and I've brought many non-Indian food fans and meat eaters there only to get them completely hooked! It is a MUST-TRY for everyone. :)

Pros: Good Food, Low Prices, Well-Marked Vegan Options

Cons: Staff doesn't speak very good English

Labylala

Points +741

Vegan
02 Sep 2013

yummy indian food

Yummy Indian food! We are glad that we have chosen this restaurant for dinner while staying in Aurora. It's a vegetarian restaurant but has plentiful of vegan options on the menu that are labeled "V" for vegan! We had the best veggie cutlet here and the curry dishes were very good too. Would definitely come again if we are in town.

Pros: vegan options

allikatk

Points +57

Vegan
06 Jul 2012

A Wonderful Find!

This is my favorite restaurant. I eat here about once a week with my son, who is also vegan. The food is always freshly prepared and the menu is very clear on what is vegan (or gluten free), and the staff couldn't be nicer. Try the Chettinadu Dosa, or Tomato Uthappam. Yummy!

Pros: Easy to identify vegan dishes, Friendly staff, Made with fresh ingredients

kornfeld

Points +40

Vegetarian
19 Jul 2009

Great Place

We found ourselves "stuck" in Aurora for several weeks and Masalaa was a welcome find. We went several times for lunch, not for dinner. The lunch is always a buffet. The fare is principally South Indian, which we often don't like because there often isn't much protein, but each time we went there were always two dishes containing legumes on the menu. Everything is delicious. What's served tends to change frequently so you won't get bored if you find yourselves there multiple time. In addition to what's served on the buffet, the owner brings to your table a freshly prepared Masalaa Dosa. It's hard not to overeat.

Pros: Variety, Flavor, Legume Dishes.

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 8455 times.