• Masala Indian Kitchen

  • (11)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Buffet
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu includes a large section of vegetarian dishes. Vegans to specify. Incense and simple decor. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-2:30pm, Mon-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:30pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:30pm.


Venue map for Masala Indian Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by kbdragon

KennethMcMullen

Points +58

Vegan
23 Mar 2022

I had the Channa Masala, med. heat, it was great! Brit was my awesome server! ☺️

Many vegan options to choose from…. great job!

Cara1020

10 Sep 2023
Advertisement

R&J

Points +80

Vegan
06 Feb 2022

Great Indian Food

Excellent vegan appetizers, soup, salad & entrees. All of the food is specifically labeled as vegan, vegetarian, etc. You can choose your level of heat as well.

ShirdenTuberville

14 May 2023

I love their food! I especially like how the owner travels around to each table interacting with the guests

jeanlac

Points +76

Vegan
10 Jan 2022

HEAVEN

The vegan options are plentiful and fabulous! I enjoyed everything I ordered and wanted to keep trying more of it!! I honestly cant wait to go back and have more.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: a bit pricey for the portion sizes

Notcrazyvegan

Points +225

Vegan
07 Jun 2018

Best vegan date night spot

Okay so every vegan/vegetarian in Lafayette knows Masala has the largest vegetarian selection in town. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable with vegan diets, food is some of the best Indian food I’ve ever had. My favorites are the potato samosas, lentil soup, and the vegetable biryani which they can make vegan.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff knowledgeable about vegan diets , Big portions

professorplumb

Points +257

Vegan
16 Oct 2017

Vegan options right on the menu!

I love that their menu marks which items are vegan, or can be made vegan. I've been here 3 times, and I think my favorite dish is the mashed eggplant with peas, and the potato stuffed paratha bread (ask for it with no butter). I only wish their naan could be made vegan too!

Pros: Vegan labels on menu, delicious

MRamsey

Points +34

Vegan
14 Apr 2017

Delicious, Filling Vegan Meals

Reading past reviews, I can confirm that Masala has definitely turned around their vegan options. There are now several to choose from. My personal favorite appetizer are the vegetable pakoras (so so yummy). I recommend trying out the mild Dal Tadka with a side of potato paratha. The food is comforting and very filling.

Also- if you're a first time visiter, the owner will explain the menu to you (just specify that you're vegan). He's such a cool guy!

Pros: Gluten free friendly , several vegan options

BrittanyCernek

Points +59

Vegan
25 Feb 2015

Top notch restaurant with wonderful service!

The first time I went to Masala, there was an Indian man who stayed at our table and explained a lot of the menu to us. He gave us his personal recommendations for me and my non-vegan friend. The staff is always very friendly, and I go to this restaurant about 2x a month now!

Someone wrote that in 2010 Masala had 2 menus, this is not the case anymore. There is one menu (entirely Indian) with many Vegan an Gluten free options. As far as taste, I've only had one thing on their menu that was bland. I can't remember the name of it, but I know that a main ingredient was okra. They offer 3 levels of heat in their seasoning (Mild, medium, and hot).

There are no vegan dessert options, though. I happened to meet one of the owners one time, and I requested vegan desserts, so hopefully they will take that into consideration!

I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the Lafayette area and want a delicious vegan dinner, as well as a great atmosphere for dining!

Pros: Very friendly staff, Flavor of food, Quiet atmosphere

Cons: No vegan dessert options, Slightly high priced

SkipStein

Points +152

Vegan
31 Aug 2013

Good Indian Food - Vegan Friendly

If you are Vegan it is hard to find a place to eat in the Southern USA off Interstate 10 through Mississippi, Alabama and Louisiana. We stopped at a Howard Johnson for overnight and found Masala via Happy Cow.

Service was very good, prices were very high for what we had but the food was good. Disappointing 'pickle' as they only had one selection (I love Orange Pickle) and it was too salty to eat.

Appetizers were good, main courses tasty if a bit bland. Presentation left a lot to be desired and only white rice was available.

If you are desperate to eat, this is an option for Vegans.

Pros: Vegan Options

Cons: Poor Vegan Selections, Few Vegan Choices

Amy99

Points +73

Vegetarian
13 Jun 2010

Good, but not great

Masala Indian Kitchen is a strange place--it is both Indian restaurant and Spanish Tapas place. No joke. They give you two menus, and you can order from either or both. I've only ordered off the tapas menu once, and I think the food was good. There were fewer veg. options on it, though. Indian food is always a good go-to for vegetarians, so I've been to plenty of Indian places, and in my opinion, this one is only okay. The food isn't bad, but it's nothing to get excited about. But if you're a veg*n dining in Lafayette, you have few other options, so at least the fact that this place exists is a good thing!

Amy99

06 Jan 2020

They no longer serve Tapas. But the Indian food is still fine but nothing special. There are now better Indian (all with vegetarian/vegan options) restaurants in town.

scottadams

Points +26

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2009

Awesome!!

Based on the Happy Cow recommendation, I ate there last night and was blown away. Had the Veggie Pakoras for appetizer and the Aloo Channa (Potatoes/Chickpeas) for main course. Also had a pot of Chai Tea for about 20 bucks and had plenty left over for lunch today. Food was fresh and delicious

Pros: Fresh, Good Veggie Choices, Vegan Friendly

Cons: none

kbdragon

Points +52

Vegan
18 Sep 2008

This place is the best!

No, its not 100% vegetarian. But they have a whole section on the menu dedicated to vegetarian entrees, quite a few of which are vegan, plus they have a vegetarian buffet on the weekends. The Samosas are vegan and the Naan is vegan if you get it without butter. And the people there are very helpful, they know how to accommodate vegans.

Pros: Great food, Nice people, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Not close enough to my house




This page has been viewed 4338 times.