• Marlene's Market and Deli

  • (17)
    19
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Natural foods market with a vegetarian-friendly (Serves meat, vegan options available.) deli cafe. Confirmed open as of late June 2007. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-8:00pm, Sun 9:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for Marlene's Market and Deli
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by Lettuce Muncher

bEzz

Points +1385

Vegan
04 Jul 2022

Choc Chip Pumpkin Bread FTW!

In addition to all the natural food and body care items you could ever ask for, the deli has a decent selection of vegan baked goods, including the aforementioned pumpkin bread.

Advertisement

makcurtis

Points +1050

Vegan
15 Feb 2021

Love Marlene’s

I’m always able to find everything I need at Marlene’s. My favorite part is that they carry all the ingredients and supplies I need to make my homemade deodorant, cleaning solution, etc. I’ve since moved from the area, and I’m always missing Marlene’s!

Pros: Bulk bins , Natural cosmetic ingredients

Teamandersons

Points +136

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2020

When we cant find it

When we cant find something many timed they have it. They have classes on nutrition and diet.

Pros: Huge Selection

Randypobst

Points +39

Vegetarian
11 Sep 2020

Randy Food!

A can’t miss place for vegetarians. Much better than description. I am totally smitten by what’s available here.

Pros: Many fresh-made vegan and veg options, Tofu Reuben!, Sit-down inside seating

Cons: I live 2000 miles away

BritniWige

Points +42

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Love this store so much

Not only do they have amazing smoothies, but their rice and veggie bowl was exactly what I was looking for and what my tummy needed. Best produce, best vegan cream cheese, best local honey, it's just the best

Pros: Smoothie and juices are awesome, Rice and veggie bowl is delicious, Can't beat the fresh produce

Cons: A little expensive

AlyssaHodges

Points +193

Vegan
14 Feb 2019

We are regulars here!

We seriously go almost every time we are in Tacoma. Kombucha on tap, local goodies, fresh vegan bakery items, raw food options.... I could go on and on!

Pros: Lots of speciality items, Knowledgeable, friendly staff

Cons: Wish they had a location in Gig Harbor!

jocelynloraan

Points +35

Vegan
01 Dec 2018

Love Marlene’s!!

The staff is always very helpful and the store is clean, organized, and stocked well. I discover new things every visit. They are a little pricey but that’s to be expected at a store like this.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Helpful staff, Clean

Cons: Expensive

AdelliePop

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

In love!!!

Wow. This place is awesome. Downstairs they have beautiful fresh produce and yummy goods. But up stairs is where i found i spent most of my time. They had so many cool Bahamian style gadgets and organic/ all natural products of all sorts of things. But there deli was to die for! Lots of vegan options. The salad bar was absolutely everything and there vegan carrot cake was the best damn carrot cake i have ever tried! Everything in the deli was cooked/ baked there with real ingredients! Plus they have a variety of 100% fruit and vegetable jucies made right in front of you! I would go here all the time if i didnt live so far away.

Pros: Lots and lots and lots of vegan stuff!, Everything is fresh and/or organic and/or all natu, Lots of Bahamian goods.

Cons: Really quite expansive.

hayleyjoy

Points +16

Vegan
08 Jun 2018

Best salad bar & vegan dressing!

Ate here for 5 days in a row due to being in the area for a week long conference. There are other options for vegan food in the area, but I didn’t even want to explore other options because this store hit everything I wanted and needed! Best vegan Caesar dressing I have ever had! Also got to choose every night a vegan treat in their bakery :). Had a huge, clean dining area to eat as well. Can’t say enough good things about this natural food store. Employees were all very friendly and helpful.

Pros: Huge salad bar w/delicious vegan Caesar dressing!, Tons of pre-made & made to order options!, Vegan baked goods!

Cons: None!

MariaMaria1607

Points +68

Vegan
04 Jan 2017

Found every vegan option I was looking for

great also due to the second floor restaurant choices

Donnab

Points +18

Vegan
06 Aug 2016

Marlene's Federal Way and Tacoma

Excellent gorcery store and cafe that has been a local favorite of mine. Vegan and vegetarian, cool vibe, very friendly and helpful staff. The bulk foods section is great place to shop. Clothing, Incense and more.

Pros: Healthy anf Local

Skirol97

Points +226

Vegan
24 Jun 2016

wonderful- organized

Everything in the store is easy to find and the salad bar, smoothie/juice, and deli section is really quick and easy. I always have a good experience here.

Pros: organized , vegan friendly

TheVeganBunnySlave

Points +23

Vegan
23 Jul 2014

Delicious!

I am a frequent Marlene's Market visitor. It is a place where I can pick up vegan goodies and purchase greens for my house rabbit.

I LOVE the deli. The folks at Marlene's make great juices and baked goods. My favorite is the vegan chocolate cake and the Green Monster juice.

There is also a salad bar that you can put whatever your heart desires and there is always a vegan ranch dressing available.

Also, their deli can create a vegan sandwich using field roast slices and vegan cheese if you like. There is also a soup that is vegan friendly as well.

Hidden in the cooler near the deli are vegan wraps, burgers, and sandwiches made by the folks at Quickie Too in Tacoma. I HIGHLY recommend!

Marlene's also can special order so if you see or hear about something that you want, just let them know and they'll see if they can get it in.

Customer service is superb!
Updated from previous review on Wednesday July 23, 2014

Updated from previous review on Wednesday July 23, 2014

Pros: Friendly, Vegan choices galore, In my city

Cons: Expensive

veganlogger

Points +61

Vegan
18 Mar 2011

Best Sandwich I've Ever Had

When my mom was visiting recently, we made the trip to Federal Way to check out Marlene's. My mom, an omni, got a vegetable pot pie that she liked, though there were too many mushrooms for her own personal taste. I got a sandwich with wheat bread, blackened tofu, soy cheese (I think it was Follow Your Heart Mozzerella Style), avocado, carrots, lettuce, and cucumber, then grilled. It was honestly the best sandwich I've ever had. I also bought a bag of potato chips, which were stale. We both got smoothies, banana mango, though I ordered mine with an extra protein boost.

There's also a variety of treats and baked goods - vegan chocolate pie, bars, etc. I got a peanut butter crunchy bar, which only had 7 ingredients and was soo tasty.

There's an area next to the deli that has all natural cosmetics and the like. I asked an employee if they had any vegan mascara, and unfortunately they didn't :( They did have vegan liquid eyeliner though.

Pros: Amazing, Soy cheese, Desserts

Cons: Not in Tacoma

artsandcrafts

Points +25

Vegetarian
06 Mar 2011

Very good

I like the buffet idea and the food is excellent. When in the area we always visit. Good prices and the shop downstairs is excellent as well.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, portions adequate

bayzydk

Points +108

Vegan
12 Feb 2010

Amazing salad bar!!

The salad bar at the Federal Way location is to die for! Lots of yummy organic toppings (they even have vegan bac'un bits!) It can get pricey if you load up on too much heavy stuff though. Fresh made sammiches in the deli (featuring a couple different flavors of field roast). Several vegan desserts/baked goods are always available. Fresh smoothies too! A very reliable stop for hungry vegans/vegetarians who find themselves in the area...

Lettuce Muncher

Points +393

Vegan
03 Jul 2007

Yummy

This place is extremelly vegan friendly, they have a sandwich bar that offers meat but has vegan options and they keep their utensils and the ingredients very separate, going as far as to label their knives "meat" and "NO MEAT". They have lots of yummy vegan junk food, try their vegan pumpkin bread with chocolate chips. They have a huge grocery section downstairs too.

Pros: Vegan Friendly, Yummy Sandwiches, Pumpkin Bread

Cons: Inexperienced Employees




This page has been viewed 3946 times.