Lacto
Pizza
Italian
Organic
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ice cream parlor by day til 6pm, then kitchen opens. Has vegan pizza, pasta, and an eggplant dish. Reopened June 2020. Open Mon-Sun 12:30-21:30. Kitchen opens at 12.30pm.


Venue map for Manifattura Di Gelato
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by Rozenblaadje

BigSixBass

Points +359

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

Big surprise!

Went for a light lunch, not sure what we'd find..so to begin with, they do serve food all day, not just in the evening.
It was packed with customers ( a Sunday).
A handful of vegan items on the menu (but clearly marked). We had a vegetable soup (very good), and ordered a "focaccia with rocket/rucola" expecting an Italian focaccia...but no.. instead we got the most amazingly tasty pizza with tomato sauce, plenty of rocket, and garlic. Lovely thin crispy pizza bursting with flavour! Very happy.
They also had oat milk for coffee, but no vegan ice-cream.
Menu in several languages, super friendly service.
Sadly I forgot to take photos, was so excited to eat the pizza/focaccia 😁

Advertisement

HappyRalf

Points +30

Vegan
04 Jan 2024

Lecker Bruschetta

Klare Empfehlungen! Aber Vorsicht, die Pasta ist, nach Nachfrage, nicht Vegan, obwohl auf der Karte gekennzeichnet. Ansonsten leckere Pizza und weitere vegane Optionen. Super Service #Veganuary

Pros: Service, Bruschetta

Cons: Pasta mit Ei

FrolleinM

Points +1405

Vegan
23 Dec 2023

Great Pizza, also for take away

Very friendly staff, menu in several languages - and indeed very good pizza. 😋

The vegan dish versions without cheese.

SarahCoppes

Points +119

Vegan
12 Nov 2023

Nice place

They had 2 vegan dishes in the vegetarian section on the menu, not specifically labelled.
Vegan pizza was ok, toppings were good but no substitute for cheese (vegan cheese or extra topping)
!! The sorbet is not vegan! No vegan ice cream

Pros: Good sangria, Helpful staff

Cons: Sorbet not vegan , Only cheeseless pizza available

Jakobk70

Points +25

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

Ausgezeichnet

Bestes veganes Essen, das wir auf Madeira hatten, sehr freundliches Personal, würde 5 Sterne geben

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-20

ScubaTropics

Points +304

Vegan
03 Sep 2023

Italian - Pizza

Menu was clearly marked. Staff was very helpful and understood vegan requirements. Loved the caponata and green Madeira wine.

Pros: Kind staff, Clear opinion, vegan identification on menu, GREAT food

wasens

Points +528

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

Ausgezeichnete Küche

Das Ambiente lädt nicht wirklich ein. Doch ein Besuch lohnt sich allemal. Die Speisen sind deliziös zubereitet. Die Service extrem freundlich und professionell.

Pros: Preis / Leistung ist top , Sehr gutes Essen, Sehr freundliche Bedienung

Raw Morka

Points +351

Vegan
13 Mar 2023

Best non-vegan place for vegans in Madeira

We had cappuccino, caponata, grilled veggies, salad and pizza there, everything was super delicious, tasted like in Italy! There are plenty of vegan options, clearly marked, waiter and waitress knew everything about vegan options and veganazing everything what was possible. All the waiting staff were just lovely, very friendly, smiling, joking, trying to make us feel comfortable. Best service and best food we had during our holidays.

robinlefleur

Points +682

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Nice food and good labelling

The menu card was very good labelled and available in 4 languages. The food tasted really nice.

VivaLAarte

Points +3067

Vegan
13 Nov 2022

Phantastic Italian food

The food is just great. There are a few vegan dishes on the menu. Plus the pizzas can be made vegan. The head waitress was very nice and helpful. She was the only person who took the food orders, which was a bit confusing at first. Drink orders could be taken by other waiters, too.

Chrischel1811

Points +44

Vegan
30 Sep 2022

Only Restaurant that clearly states vegan food

This was the only Restaurant that clearly states and differenciate vegan and vegetarian! Big props 🤗

Calhetta maybe has not much to offer but this Restaurant is worth a visit.

The foccacia is sorted under starters but has actual pizza size 😎. Really good with a very crispy and thin ground and nice extra toppings to choose from (e.g. mushrooms, garlic, olives, rucola).

We also ordered veg Soup and bruschetta.

Bruschetta was very good with a high quality oil, perfectly toasted bread, juicy sunreeped madeira tomatoes and garlic.

The soup was rich in flavour with saisonal vegs (especially tomato hmmm 🤪) and a nice light starter.

The service was very kind and the waitress probably speaks all languages of the world, at least all that was spoken by the guests ;)

Worth to mention: 'Why not' lemonade, a drink with local portuguese fruits which was founded in Germany.

Recommended: Peach/Ginger very good!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-30

JeroenvanTriest

Points +76

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

Really good

Very nice staff. Vegan options on the menu. Maybe next year allso vegan desserts.

Pros: Vegan options , Very nice staff

Cons: No vegan desserts

ElMarvinho49

Points +60

Vegan
25 Jun 2022

Italienische Küche mit einigen veganen Optionen

Vegane Gerichte sind klar auf der Karte gekennzeichnet. Sehr nette und aufmerksame Bedienung.

letscar

Points +62

Vegan
09 Apr 2022

Amazing vegan food - so delicious we ate there 4 times!

The most amazing staff. Exceptional customer service from every single one of them! They accidentally made our drinks with white instead of dark rum (we didn’t mind!) so they insisted on giving us another round on the house!

Everything that is vegan is labelled, and the staff are very knowledgable about catering to vegans. The staff alone were worth the 4 trips!

Pros: Lots of vegan options. , Lovely staff. , Lovely owner.

Cons: None!

fifo130

Points +112

Vegan
24 Sep 2021

Good but too little

We went twice and I really liked the way they cook. Dishes are interesting, flavorful and fresh. I would especially recommend the gorgeous onion soup and also the vegan main dish with the sweet and intense tomato sauce. The personal is totally acknowledged of veganism, kind and helpful. Menu as well clearly labeled.

But really if you are vegan you can go there only once, they have no vegan protein incorporated into any of their dishes. It's only vegetables and some grains. The pizza they make is perfectly on point but if you take a vegan version of it it ends up sadly poor, and I tried the one with the most ingredients mentioned, trust me. Final product is a tomato sauce and handful of vegetables - yawn. You can use my hack and order the grilled vegetables side dish which you put on top of the pizza. But you end up with a boring veggie pizza for around 16 euros. Vegan desserts- none. Even the sorbets contain milk powder I've been told.

It could be a great place also for vegans but frankly with what they offer it is not yet. It's nice for a small afternoon snack but not when you are looking for a balanced and satisfying dinner.

Pros: Great kitchen , Labeled menu, Beautiful location

Cons: Only veggies, No vegan deserts , Vegans also need protein 😞

ThomMcK

Points +600

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

Great pizza options

Right on the marina port so you get a view of the boats if you sit outside. Very friendly staff that helped show us what was vegan (the menu also clearly labelled). Food tasted great. Only quibble was the focaccia starter was actually just a flat pizza, not proper focaccia bread.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-30

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Any pizza with a napoli tomato base can be vegan, Great staff, English speaking

Cons: Lots of ice creams but none vegan

LinaBrooks

Points +409

Vegan
28 Dec 2018

Tasty vegan food

We gone here few times now, loved it ! Staff is very friendly and glued in on what vegan food is, and made suggestions what could be made vegan. The vegan pizza and Bruschetta is so fresh and tasty!

Pros: Tasty fresh food , Friendly staff, Ambience

Cons: More vegan options would be nice , No dessert/ all ice cream has milk

kate01307

Points +26

Vegan
31 Oct 2018

Gutes Essen, nette Bedienung

In Calheta ist es nicht so leicht vegan zu essen. Umso erfreuter waren wir, dass wir in diesem Restaurant einen Koch gefunden haben, der gezielt auf unsere Wünsche eingegangen ist. Die Bedienung war nett, der Service schnell und das Essen gut. Schade dass das Eis nicht vegan ist.

Pros: Vegane Optionen, auch über das Angebot der Karte

Cons: Normal

swabine

Points +31

Vegan
23 Sep 2018

Favorite Place

Already our favorite Place in Calheta! Nice Staff and awesome vegan Pizza Option!

Pros: Nice Staff, Tasty Food, Chill Location

Cons: No Vegan Icecream

Rozenblaadje

Points +18

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

Heerlijk vegan gegeten!

Dit restaurant bevindt zich naast de jachthaven van Calheita tussen de Savoy hotels in. Ik ben blij dat we deze plek hebben ontdekt, want het eten was heerlijk. Op de kaart staat duidelijk aangegeven wat de vegetarische en veganistische opties zijn. Ik koos voor een soep van wortel, sinaasappel en gember vooraf en een vegan caponata als hoofdgerecht. Aanrader om eens te gaan eten als je in de buurt bent!

Pros: Veel vegetarische opties , Veganistische mogelijkheden




This page has been viewed 4295 times.