Asian
Laotian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Guesthouse with a kitchen that will make food to your specification. The host speaks English. Open Mon-Sat 7:00am-3:00pm, Mon-Tue 6:00pm-8:30pm, Thu-Sat 6:00pm-8:30pm, Sun 7:00am-10:00am. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Cafe del mundo @ Manichan Guesthouse
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Forager

anautrecht

Points +1796

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

Solid breakfast option

This place has some decent vegan options, especially if you're missing western food. It was a bit under seasoned though.

We got a weird response from the (french?) owner for thinking that the vegan parmesan omelet would be vegan, because an omelet could never be vegan. Like it literally also says vegan parmesan my dude.

Advertisement

pemasaskia

Points +155

Vegan
22 Jan 2024

Friendly little place!

A little difficult to find but such a wholesome little restaurant. The owner was friendly and welcoming, bringing us complimentary water. Food took a little while to arrive but it was delicious. Many vegetarian/vegan options clearly labelled and often cheaper than the meaty ones.

I had the veggie massaman curry and my friend had the veggie shepherd's pie. We then had red sticky rice (for me) and sorbet for dessert (for her). Rave reviews all around.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-22

Nurjen

Points +73

Vegetarian
02 Dec 2023

Went here at least 5 times

We went here multiple times for the breakfast. They were usually busy, so prepare to wait for the food approx. 10-30min. 🙏🏻 Ordered from the menu where’s clearly labeled the vegan foods, tofu scramble was our favorite morning food!

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-02

Pros: Flavours, Selections of the food, Opening hours

Cons: 30-40 min for waiting the food on multiple days, There’s not bottled water in the menu

Graham

Points +168

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Excellent Taco's & Burgers

I eat here twice and ordered from them too. The Taco's are great as are the bean burgers and the spicy potatoes. I also had the falafel plate, which was really nice, but a bit small for a main.

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff, Well priced

asensation

Points +347

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

Nice vegan options

Labeled vegan dishes. Flavorful. Enjoyed the taco, burger and a few others.

bryonyhickson

Points +931

Vegan
23 Apr 2023

Loved!

Ordered the Asian vegan chicken salad and the tofu tacos. Tacos were sooo good! And the salad was pretty good too - chicken was great considering you can’t really find in Laos. Lots of options but pretty expensive.

LucyAliceForshaw

Points +176

Vegan
20 Apr 2023

Nice cafe great options

An cafe with a lovely ambiance serving several vegan options, really nice service, quick and easy to find. The food was tasty. Not too expensive

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Easy to find, Fast and great service

hgor

Points +428

Vegan
30 Mar 2023

Best in LP!

Love this little place! A ton of vegan options, homemade, tasty and nourishing. They also do homemade kombucha. The guy who does all the serving it super friendly and helpful. Went here a couple of times during my stay in LP as it was my fav!

Pros: Lots of options , Cheap , Homemade

MiaCohen

Points +867

Vegan
10 Mar 2023

Yum with lots of vegan options

I was surprised at how many vegan options there were, they really understood the difference between vegan and vegetarian. Food was yum, price okay but a little higher than other places and not super filling. It was all really yum though and nice to see some slightly different options!

baffy22

Points +53

Vegan
27 Feb 2023

Yummy western influenced vegan options

We had the bean burger and scrambled tofu which where delicious as well as the fermented pineapple drink. The owner is really friendly and has a great life story. 10/10 recommend!

Here.To.Travel_Jade

Points +8653

Vegan
09 Feb 2023

Delicious food

Delicious food at this guesthouse which is open to non staying guests. We had a tofu based salad and a chilli which came with wedges. The flavours & textures were great & they really care about their food, as they ran around town looking for a ripe avocado which the chef then added to the top of the chilli. The setting is cute and relaxed. We also ordered some takeaway falafel sandwiches which were really tasty & filling

DevonNewton

Points +427

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Lovely tacos

We had the vegan tacos and they were delicious

Pros: Vegan options clearly labelled , Friendly staff, Cute puppy and cats

SaraMieze

Points +61

Vegetarian
27 Dec 2022

Great little Café as well

Café del mundo, great vegan dishes

Pros: A Lot of vegan Option, ask about More

Forager

Points +325

Vegan
03 Nov 2016

Guesthouse with free vegan breakfast!

Stayed here for five days; while it's primarily a guesthouse, they also serve meals and have all sorts of vegan options on the menu. A full breakfast of bread, muesli, fruit, and a hot dish (such as vegan noodle soup) is included in room rates and they take great care of vegans, with special vegan treats from the market, and will get soy milk if you mention that you are vegan.




This page has been viewed 3097 times.