Mandarava

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 14 reviews )

Cafe offering organic food, drinks, and baked goods with gluten free options. Each day a different selection of grains, beans, soup, and savory vegetables. Has juices and smoothies, French pressed coffee, handmade chocolate, spiced nuts, and granola. Ask about the Sunday supper club, a ticketed 3-course meal. Window seats and a long stone bar wrap around the open kitchen. Playground outside for kids. Open Mon 4:00pm-6:00pm, Wed 4:00pm-6:00pm, Fri 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Organic, Juice bar, Take-out, Bakery, Gluten-free

14 Reviews

First Review by VEGvoyagers

mortalfright

Points +23

Vegan
21 Mar 2021

highly recommend

the owners and food are just simply amazing...if i could eat here everyday, i would. the recipes are just unheard of and scrumptious! a must try for any veg head or foodie!

Pros: owners are the best , prices you can not beat

Cons: none

JacksonJackson

Points +36

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Good and Healthy

The bowls and plates are good. The soups are excellent. Don’t forget to have dessert. You’ll leave happy. They make everything in house. Everything is vegan.

Pros: Made from scratch , Service , All vegan

Cons: Hours are tricky. You may want to call ahead.

veghead007

Points +124

Vegan
27 May 2019

Loved this place

Loved the home cooked food and eclectic vibe. Simple and sweet menu and lovely owner.

Advertisement

jonh

Points +160

Vegan
26 May 2019

Really good food

I loved the simple lunch menu, a soup and a bowl of beans, grains and greens. I had the black bean, brown rice and kale bowl, which had a creamy cashew dressing. It was very good.

Carlositylos

Points +47

Vegan
18 May 2019

Home cooked awesomeness

Everything is made from scratch and as you order. We sat at the bar with a great view of the kitchen and it felt more like an experience and not just grabbing food. Very good, we’ll be back!

KimboThisVeganLife

Points +79

Vegan
03 Jul 2018

Simple menu, extraordinary flavours

Popped in here on our way back to Boston airport. Fresh, earthy vibes abound. The menu is a simple idea - you have to trust in it! Our only regret was not ordering the big portion because it was SO delicious I could have eaten it all over again. Healthy, fresh ingredients, fantastic flavour combinations. Great smoothies too - I had sunflower cinnamon and it was lush.

Pros: great menu idea, healthy, tasty

Charlie_Hustle5

Points +16

Vegan
16 Oct 2017

Sunday Dinner

Mandarava has been a home since I became switched to a plant based lifestyle. The food is always different and you can expect fresh healthy meals and food for the soul.
Our first time at Sunday dinner and it was amazing. I should have expected to be blown away, but the atmosphere and staff are humble. We were not disappointed.
It’s by reservation only. They served delicious signature cocktails, wine, and beer all paired to match the evenings creations. The dinner was 6 courses, and each one was delicious, new, and exciting. I wish I had the vocabulary of a food critic because I would be able to do the event some justice. All I can say is if you want a food tasting that is intimate, has fresh ideas, and flavors you wouldn’t believe could be infused, then don’t hesitate to get a reservation.

Pros: intimate, fresh ideas and delicious flavors, awesome paired cocktails

Cons: the only con is they do not serve dinner nightly,

cookiemonster

Points +627

Vegan
23 Jul 2017

Amazing, delicious, affordable!

The food was excellent and healthy - in that rare type of way when food "tastes" healthy but also perfectly seasoned and truly delicious. I'm so glad we stopped in! The chocolate macaroons were heavenly!

Pros: Delicious , Healthy , Affordable

MorganM

Points +80

Vegan
08 Jul 2017

One the best in the area

Mandarava is one the best restaurants in the Newburyport area. The food is here is nutritious, well presented and a good serving size for the price. There are daily special bowls and the done of best smoothies I've ever had. Definitely try the daily bowl as it is usually a bean, a grain, and leafy green. The bowl is basic but tasty.

Pros: Daily changing special bowls and soups. , Amazing smoothies. , Quick service, good prices and great decor.

raphanos

Points +164

Vegan
06 Mar 2017

nice little place

This is a nice little place run by a nice woman in the center of Newburyport. I always like to support vegan places as much as possible since there really aren't many out there even today. After that being said, this isn't one of my favorites. I have dietary concerns and there just aren't many menu options to choose from if this is your case. There is basically a meal of the day and you can get it or not. Maybe another one or two options but don't expect a lot to choose from. Not trying to put it down in any way, it's just not the type of place where you have options. Also my kale salad tasted like there was a pound of salt in it. Maybe I'll try it again in the future and give it another try.

Pros: Small place downtown

Cons: Hit or miss, few options

TayFro

Points +24

Vegan
22 Sep 2016

Loving, Whole Foods Vegan Cooking

I was working in the area and this place was the closest vegan restaurant in the area. The daily bowls are simple, yet rich in flavor. I also had a cup of the soup which was decadent and savory. I left with a happy, healthy, and full tummy, and will be headed back again soon!

Pros: vegan , healthy , whole foods

VeganTini

Points +85

Vegan
31 Jul 2015

Simple but lovely!

The daily bowls here are cooked lovingly with generous portions, and Ellie is very warm and passionate about what she does. They're expanding, which means that vegan food is in demand and that's so wonderful to see! The food here is simple, mostly what you could make at home, but it's such a nice place to eat and eat with intention that it's still a fav.

mustanggirl531

Points +72

Vegan
17 Apr 2014

Wonderful!

My husband and I are new vegans and were in the area and decided to stop in. The owner was delightful and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. We really enjoyed our meals. I had the bowl of the day and my husband had the soup. Both were absolutely delicious. Recommend to all vegans in the area!!!

Pros: Excellent Food, Great Value, Friendly Staff

VEGvoyagers

Points +40

Vegan
02 Oct 2013

unique and genuine

if you want pure, real, vegan, and organic/local food this is your kind of place. We have been here over 10 times and are never disappointed. this place is still fairly new but the mother-daughter team does a great job and really care about the food they make. Theres a juice and smoothie menu thats standard every day but they offer only one soup and one bowl a day so if your going for food its good to check on their facebook page before you go incase you have food sensitivities. ive tried several soups including tomato(my fav), veggie medley, and chili. A typical bowl is something like brown rice, marinated kale, and a bean or lentil mixture, simple but real! they dont use any processed vegan stuff like some places. you will only find pure ingredients here which make this one of my favorite place to grab a quick lunch. they also have special dinners a few nights a week with limited seating where you reserve your spot ahead of time because its closed to the general public, you can make reservations on facebook :)

Pros: organic/local/pure, good location with ample parking, friendly service

Cons: limited inside seating

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Newburyport Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mandarava closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9331 times.