83
Lacto
Italian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small Italian restaurant offering vegetable based dishes including antipasti, pasta dishes, and more. Specify vegan. Reservations recommended. Open Wed-Sun 17:30-23:00. Closed Mon - Tues.


Venue map for Mamma Peppino
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

26 Reviews

First Review by sterestherster

SabineElisabeth

Points +327

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

Hoofdgerecht was teleurstellend

Ik keek ontzettend uit naar dit etentje, maar verliet Mamma Peppino jammer genoeg onbevredigd.

Ik bestelde de huisgemaakte bigoli, dat volgens het menu geserveerd wordt met een romige saus. Er was niks romigs aan dit gerecht, juist droog. De spaghetti was taai, de saus was nauwelijks te bekennen en bovendien flauw van smaak.

Er stonden ook een vegan lasagne en ravioli op het menu. Misschien zijn die gerechten wel erg smaakvol, maar daar kan ik niet over oordelen.

Het voorgerecht, bruschetta, was goed van smaak, maar de portie was klein. Je krijgt niet meer dan de helft van een dun sneetje brood.

Voor het dessert bestelde ik de bosbessenmousse. Die was heerlijk! Ik weet niet of het huisgemaakt was, maar desondanks krijgt dit gerecht een ster.

Pros: Dessert, Niet duur, Genoeg vegan opties

Cons: Hoofdgerecht

Advertisement

SammieAssink

Points +20

Vegan
27 Apr 2023

Heerlijke avond uit.

Gezellig, authentiek Italiaans restaurant.

Een wisselend menu, waar slechts 1 vleesgerecht op te vinden is. Verder vegetarisch en veel veganistische opties, waaronder vaak verschillende antipasti, verschillende hoofdgerechten en proef ook zeker de taartjes na. De chocolade cheesecake is om van te dromen!! Ook wisselende Italiaanse wijnen, biologische frisdranken en kombucha.

Personeel is ontzettend vriendelijk en je ziet de passie voor het vak.

In de weekenden kan vooraf reserveren geen kwaad agz het een klein en gewild zaakje is.

bzwaan

Points +3283

Vegan
19 Dec 2022

Amazing Italian food

It’s a small family owned Italian restaurant. They always have plenty of vegan options on the menu, it’s all very delicious. The staff is also very friendly 😊

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-19

Oofie

Points +257

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Cute and authentic

They have a lot of vegan options! We got the bruschetta to start but to be honest, this wasn’t worth the price.. we got a very very small portion, only one little piece of bread and that was it.. so not off to a great start. The fungi ravioli was very nice and also the gnocci was tasty. We had the ChiChi wine, which was vegan and very very nice! I believe the food they serve here is good but I’ll have to come back to give it another shot. For now I’m not overly excited.

Pros: Lot of options, Authentic , Great wine

Cons: Expensive bruschetta , Small portions

Alina0505

Points +16

Vegan
10 Sep 2022

Best Italian food we ever had

This year we have been to Rome and Bologna, but found the heart of Italian cuisine in Alkmaar. We had the best vegan experience and came back twice in a row because the food (homemade Ravioli, Lasagne, Gnocchi, desserts...) was that good.
You should taste it, it still waters our mouths. We definitely recommend Mamma Peppino!

Pros: Very friendly staff, Excellent food, Great wine

malova

Points +76

Vegan
28 Jul 2022

Vegan als uitgangspunt, vega en vlees als optie

Geweldig menu! Waar je bij veelal uitgaat van 1 of 2 gerechtjes op de kaart die vegan zijn, is hier de basis veganistisch en bieden ze opties voor mensen die graag toch dierlijke producten willen eten. Wij hebben hier heerlijk gegeten en gaan nog eens terug. Zelfs de wijn was vegan en biologisch.

Pros: Veel opties, Compleet vegan menu mogelijk , Smaakvol

sebo3000

Points +26

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

Lovely!

We stayed at this cute and cozy restaurant for dinner. There were more than enough vegan and vegetarian options on the menu which all sounded amazing. Lasagne and Tortellini it was in the end, which tasted very very good! Bruscetta and cheesecake are a definite recommendation as well!
Also the people of the restaurant were very kind, caring and had good recommendations. All in all a lovely stay, thanks for having us!

Pros: many creative vegan options , cozy atmosphere , kind people

Myscha

05 Jun 2022

Hi, thank you for this beautiful review and the nice pictures you made!
See you again on your next trip to AlkmaarπŸ™‹πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

Madeleinewf

Points +6

Non Veg
05 Jun 2022

Amazing Experience

We went there for dinner, and had a wonderful time! Starting with the place and its coziness, then the wonderful owner and her very friendly way and most importantly the very delicious food, it was all in all a great experience. We will definitely come again our next visit!
Thank you for this wonderful place ❀️

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff, Great vibe

LennyvanErp

Points +26

Vegetarian
26 May 2022

Klein gespecialiseerd Italiaans restaurant

Overzichtelijke kaart met een klein aantal, meest vegetarische of veganistische gerechten, slechts twee opties met vlees. Originele smaken, authentiek Italiaans. Erg vriendelijke bediening. Gevulde ravioli (vegan) was erg lekker, net als de toetjes (ook vegan)

Pros: Veel keuze, bijna alles is vegan of vegetarisch , Heel erg lekker

Cons: Geen

Myscha

05 Jun 2022

Bedankt Lenny, hoop jullie snel weer te zien.

happyowl

Points +2385

Vegan
26 Jul 2021

Authentic little restaurant

Good vibes, small place. Friendly staff. Food is authentic Italian: simple but prepared well.

Myscha

02 Aug 2021

So good to read that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thanks for the review and hope to see you again!

VillaLaVida

Points +538

Vegan
19 Jun 2021

Geweldig gegeten

Wat een heerlijke plek om super lekker te eten, ontspannen met een goed glas wijn & goede sfeer!
Wij hebben erg genoten van het smaakvolle eten.

Pros: Erg goed eten, Lieve eigenaresse, Ontspannen sfeer

Myscha

02 Aug 2021

Dankjewel Selma voor deze review. Leuk jullie te hebben leren kennen!

KarlaKort

Points +22

Vegan
16 Nov 2020

Delicious!

Heel sympathiek restaurant met heerlijk eten! Als je eten afhaalt is het leuk verpakt met takjes verse kruiden als decoratie. Heel veel vegan opties, vers en smaakvol en ik miste niets. ook het dessert taartje was geweldig, je merkt dat echt aandacht aan details besteed is. Ik ben zeker van plan hier vaker te eten als ik in Alkmaar ben!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food, Attention to detail

Cons: -

Myscha

21 Nov 2020

Bedankt Karla voor het delen van je ervaring.
Hoop je snel weer te zien. En dan het liefst aan een tafel natuurlijk. Dan weet ik zeker dat het eten goed aankomt ; )

MonaV

Points +251

Vegan
14 Nov 2020

Wow! Nr. 1 restaurant in Alkmaar

The food is so fresh and so delicous! The restaurant owners are focussing more and more on vegan food.

I had delicous homemade ravioli with creamy mushroom sauce that was very good. All the side dishes were also very nice.

Pros: Fresh homemade Italian food, nice owners

Myscha

21 Nov 2020

Wow! What a great compliment! Hope to see you again soon . Ciao! and have a nice weekend.

Gert-Jan

Points +120

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

This is 10 stars

My favourite restaurant. Like dinning at the chef's house with true traditional Italian cuisine. Would recommend. They take their cooking and also vegan cuisine very seriously. Wine also vegan.

This is anything but a standard pizza place. If you visit Alkmaar and want a surprising new fun unique and delicious restaurant experience, this is it.

Pros: Taste is 15/10, Serious about vegan, Excellent value

Cons: I can't afford to eat here everyday

Myscha

01 Nov 2020

Gert-Jan, thank you so much for your review! We would like to see you and Linda too every day ; )

Tofumonsta

Points +75

Vegan
03 Sep 2020

Great food, great ambience

Very tasty food, cozy and nice ambience with good music. They don’t have a menu but you can specify you’re vegan upfront and they will prepare great Italian food for you. Small & cozy restaurant so best to make reservations, also cash-only (unless you have a dutch paying system). Overall it was a great vegan experience, bravissimo to all the staff : )

Myscha

04 Sep 2020

Thank you Tofumonsta=) for sharing your experience in our restaurant. Hope to see you again! Ciao.

MeikevanOtterdijk

Points +16

Vegan
19 Feb 2020

Aanrader!

Op de veganavond (zondag heb ik samen met een vriendin heerlijk gegeten bij dit restaurant. We hadden een heerlijk voorgerecht met bruschetta, aubergine salade en uit de oven groente met een noten pasta als dip. Lekker en vullend! Als hoofdgerecht een lekkere pasta met een verrassende kruid anijs erdoor heen, smaakte prima! En toen het toetje, echt super lekkkere vegan taart met hele mooie versiering en roze roomachtige pudding ernaast. Vooral het toetje was bijzonder lekker en mooi om te zien! Zeker aan te raden om hier eens vegan te gaan eten!!

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-19

Pros: Heerlijk vegan Italiaans eten, Alles werd vegan. Zelf de wijn!, Er hing een gezellige sfeer

SuzanneSchouten

Points +11

Mostly Veg
19 Feb 2020

Heerlijk en eerlijk

Laatst heeeerlijk gegeten bij Mamma Peppino! Leuke gerechtjes, lekker vers en een goed sfeertje. Ik ben nog geen ander vegan Italiaans restaurant in de buurt tegen gekomen, en deze is absoluut de moeite waard om langs te gaan. Er is duidelijk veel aandacht aan de vegan gerechten geschonken, wat zeker terug te proeven is. De gastvrouw en kok zorgen voor veel gezelligheid en topavond! Echt een aanrader!

Pros: Heerlijk vegan, Erg sfeervol, Echt Italiaans

LindaB86

Points +136

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

True Italian

Mamma Peppino is a great restaurant with a true Italian chef and owner.
He tells you to trust him and you absolutely can. He will whip up something very delicious and all vegan if you wants.

Pros: Nice chef and wife , Delicious food, Great price

happycees

Points +11

Mostly Veg
05 Nov 2019

Wat een verrukkelijke vegan eten

Een klein en gezellig restaurant waar we een warm welkom kregen. Uitgelegd werd dat de zuid Italiaanse keuken heerlijke Vegan gerechten kent en dat bleek op tafel. Salades en antipasti eenvoudig maar vol smaak, daarna een heerlijke pasta norma en een verrukkelijk desert kortom de plek voor een heerlijke gezellige avond.

Pros: Geweldige smaken, veel vega /vegan.

Cons: Geen

JurgenR

Points +69

Vegan
04 Nov 2019

Aanrader

Erg lekker eten. Wij hadden het volledig veganistische menu (olifant menu) en dat beviel erg goed. Vooraf heerlijke geroosterde en gekruide groenten (courgette, aubergine en puntpaprika). En als hoofdgerecht een pasta met bonen en aardappel. Erg verassend eten en leuk dat het wat anders is dan de meeste andere Italiaanse restaurants. Zeer gastvrije eigenaren.

Pros: Erg goed veganistisch menu, Gastvrij

corryrood

Points +116

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Hier gaan we vaker eten!

Heerlijk gegeten! Ik had het vegan menu. Vriendinnen konden vlees/ vis of vegetarisch nemen. Het is alsof je bij de kok thuis op visite bent. Geen vast menu maar wat de markt bied.

Pros: Vegan menu en vegan wijn

Cons: Geen

rose28

Points +37

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2019

Italian vegan home cooking

Very nice small italian restaurant situated a little bit outside the "touristic centre", near the windmill. They serve a 3 course vegan menu which changes every 2 weeks. We had a great antipasto: bruschetta, salad, grilled bell pepper with parsley sauce and super sweet little tomatoes from the oven. Then a pasta with chickpeas and potatoes. After this the best chocolate cake I ever ate. By the way the Sicilian orange sorbet with wodka was very good as well. Its a small place so you d better call them to book a table.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-22

Pros: friendly staff, great desserts

TimdeGoede

Points +35

Vegetarian
14 Oct 2019

Nice cosy place

Small Italian restaurant run by nice couple. Real Italian food. Not your regular Italian restaurant, no traditional Γ  la carte menu. Just tell them your preferences (vegan, vegetarian etc.) and they'll cook you a great meal. They really take their vegan options seriously!

Pros: Great vegan meals

SanneStam

Points +23

Vegan
10 Mar 2019

A great experience!

The staff was super friendly and very personal to suit your needs. I loved the idea that the chef picks what you eat. The restaurant has a nice, cozy feel. Super tasty food too!

emma-dee

Points +65

Vegan
29 Dec 2018

Heerlijk

Wij hebben hier gegeten met twee alleseters en twee planteneters. Als je een paar dagen van te voren belt, kan er veganistisch eten voor je gemaakt worden. Sowieso hebben ze geen vaste kaart en wordt er dagelijks met verse ingrediΓ«nten gekookt. De veganistische gerechten waren goed uitgedacht (dus niet van die onzin dat je een 'normaal' gerecht zonder de kaas krijgt). Bovendien hadden ze drie verschillende veganistische nagerechten, die allemaal heerlijk waren. Iedereen was zeer tevreden, dus zeker een aanrader als je met gemengd gezelschap gaat eten.

sterestherster

Points +965

Vegan
31 Oct 2018

My favorite restaurant in Alkmaar!

Cosy Italian restaurant where Peppino and Misha make you feel very welcome and at home. They deserve 5 stars. I always ate vegetarian there and tonight I tried a completely vegan menu and I have no regrets. It was delicious πŸ˜‹! The antipasti were a salad, sourdough bread with grilled veggies, balls made of white beans, vegetables with a pesto of black olives, and grilled aubergine. After that I had a plate of pasta with a broccoli, basil and cashew pesto. Unfortunately there was no space for dessert left, but they cakes and desserts are recommended!

Pros: Both vegan and vegetarian are possible , Very friendly atmosphere , Did I mention the food is delicious?




This page has been viewed 3094 times.