• Mama Piyawan's

  • (19)
    25
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A small eatery run by a family. Has tofu as alternative. Staff speak English and understand when you specify "vegetarian," "no egg," "no fish sauce," etc. Reported open March 2023.


Venue map for Mama Piyawan's
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by Zwoni

hannearts

Points +3608

Vegan
25 Mar 2023

Good food, incredibly long wait

Had to wait 15 minutes to order and then 30 minutes for food. The meals were delicious and cheap but rather small

Pros: Tasty options can be made vegan, Cheap

Cons: Time consuming , Small portions

Advertisement

JanaIsabel

Points +64

Vegan
23 Jan 2023

Classic Thai food

Super delicious food! There are no vegetarian/vegan dishes on the menu but she makes everything vegetarian or even vegan for you when you say no egg, meat or fish sauce! And it’s super cheap - also really kind and nice lady😄definitely come back. I had the coconut soup with tofu (vegan).

Pros: Cheap, Vegan option when asking

Selina_nsw

Points +3489

Vegan
30 Nov 2022

Cheap and good

Go to place if you want decent food which is cheap. There is no tofu on the menu but they'll add it to your dish if you ask them.

cokru

Points +86

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Very cheap and delicious

Food not marked vegan (have to ask for no egg etc.) but they have super good food!! Especially the cashew tofu!
very cheap prices:)
Their shakes are also amazing!

Pros: Delicious , Authentic food , Very cheap

Cons: One has to wait for quite some time

thevegantravellerme

Points +47

Vegan
01 Dec 2021

Good

Cheap good food, will substitute most meals for veg options

DonPedro

Points +307

Vegetarian
01 Mar 2020

empfohlen

Sehr einfaches Lokal mit sehr leckerem Essen und sehr preiswert

AmitKramer

Points +443

Vegan
24 Feb 2020

Very good

So cheap and delicious. Very good option.

CelineLongdenNaufal

Points +31

Mostly Veg
14 Feb 2020

Great Vegan/Veggie Alternatives

Really good food and prices! Even if the dish on the menu only shows a meat option, she will make it veggie and ask if you want egg or not!

LoveAnimalLoveNature

Points +1387

Vegan
20 Dec 2019

Deserves 5 stars

Very basic eatery with fresh and delicious food. We enjoyed pad thai with tofu and had nice smoothies. Staff is really friendly and the price is good. If you want to have a certain dish without egg and meat just tell the staff and they will arrange it for you.

Pros: Good prices

thegreenexpat

Points +57

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2019

Refreshing fruit shakes and tasty Thai food

The fruit shakes are very refreshing; cool, fresh and sweet (but not too sweet).
I asked for a veggie green curry and it was the best curry I've had (and I've been on a streak of eating green curry so that says a lot)!

Pros: Good prices (normal Thai restaurant prices)

Emmarosen

Points +60

Vegan
25 Nov 2019

£1.50 pad Thai!!

Pad Thai a bargain for 50 BHT and staff understood no egg. A huge portion of yummy pad Thai filling and cheap. Only disappointed to have not found this place before my last day on the island!

Pros: Authentic feel, Great value for money

Cons: Hard to find

DuncanMacbethLead

Points +1183

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Good for what it is

As other reviews have said, tofu is available here, and staff clearly know what no egg and no fish sauce means. There’s not tonnes of space inside, but it is just a small roadside place!

Best thing about it is the cost, cheapest place around the Sairee Beach area by far. The menu isn’t that extensive, and whilst it is pretty tasty, it’s nothing special! I had the green curry, and wasn’t exactly blown away by it.

Decent food for the price though, and as a backpacker I can’t really complain!

Pros: Cheap, Menu items can be easily veganised

Cons: Limited options

CharlotteWi

Points +18

Herbivore
01 Jul 2019

Große Portionen

Schmeckt 10 mal leckerer, als man denkt, wenn man das Restaurant von der Straße aus sieht. Für Thailand unüblich große Portionen. Pad Thai war lecker!

Pros: günstig, erst recht für die Portion

Cons: nicht alles vegan

AnaAlvessil

Points +1482

Vegan
22 Jun 2019

Happy food :)

Good and cheap vegan options and the energy of the place is good, everyone works really happy.

MichaelHaeuslmann

Points +114

Vegan
11 Mar 2019

Cheap authentic food, but not always vegan friendly

The food is simple but delicious. The shakes are amazing and will only cost you 40 THB.

Explicitly state that you want "no egg" and "no fish sauce". If you simply request vegetarian you might end up getting eggs with your food.

Brachiosaurus

Points +82

Vegan
24 Nov 2018

Super leckeres Essen

Kleiner gemütlicher Laden mit lokalem Essen. Auf der Speisekarte stehen keine vegane Gerichte. Man kann aber jedes Gericht mit Tofu, ohne Ei und Fishsoße bestellen. Das ist gar kein Problem:)
Unglaublich lecker ist das Grüne Curry und der frittierte Reis!

Pros: Gerichte können in vegan bestellt werden, günstig

Cons: Keine

MiuNeko

Points +50

Vegan
13 Nov 2018

Mama Piyawan's

The actual name of the place is Mama Piyawan's. Mama is the lady in the kitchen, cooking all day. Came there shortly before 10 p.m. and was told to order either pad thai or fried rice, because the place was closing soon. I ordered pad thai with tofu, which came without tofu. There was a lot of sauce on it, that tasted like sweet and sour ready-made sauce. Didn't enjoy it that much, but it was okay. Portion size was good. I paid 50-70 bath, can't quite remember it.

lisamstevens89

Points +226

Vegan
13 Jun 2018

tasty, cheap, local food 5 star! (it won't let me choose 5)

We stayed in Koh Tao for 10 days and ate here sooo often! Everything is cooked fresh so its easy for them to omit fish sauce, egg etc. They also offer tofu even though it is not on the menu and do take aways.

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing

Zwoni

Points +218

Vegan
30 Mar 2018

Good place for vegan/vegetarian budget travellers

Went there almost every day during my visit on Koh Tao - the staff understand English well, or definitely understand you when you tell them to make dishes without fish sauce and egg. They also have tofu (ask for it) and vegetarian/vegan curries - all for really good prices, starting at 50 Baht. Also, the shakes are delicious!




This page has been viewed 3855 times.