Vegan
Asian
Malaysian

Vegan Malaysian restaurant offering soups, noodles, rice dishes, curries and more. Open Mon-Wed 11:30am-8:30pm, Fri-Sun 11:30am-8:30pm. Closed Thu.


Venue map for Mamak Vegan Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

62 Reviews

First Review by calamaestra

JanakJoshi

Points +72

Vegan
27 Feb 2024

My favorite restaurant

This is literally my favorite spot in the world! Just come here

Advertisement

JacqulynnMartinez

Points +6

#Veganuarian
19 Feb 2024

Best we've had

We are baby vegans exploring different vegan resturaunts in Atlanta. This was so good. Do not pass on it. We had the curray, mamak chicken, shrimp fried rice and burger. The burger was the least exciting but still good. Everything else was so fresh and flavorful and filling. They also give large portions.

sayrilamar

Points +22

Vegan
12 Feb 2024

Very Good Food!

I ordered takeout from this place and didn’t realize how good it was. Even the vegan chicken was great.

Michelle.L.

Points +505

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

Amazing!

Mamak Vegan Kitchen is incredible! I got the honey tangerine chicken and beef lo mein. Both were delicious! The atmosphere is really nice and the service was fantastic. I’ll definitely be back next time I’m in the area!

Pros: 100% vegan, Nice atmosphere, Delicious food

thom8418

Points +1815

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

So good

The Satay Chicken and spring rolls were great starters. The sesame chicken had a great sauce. The beef fried rice was smokey and really good. The place is modern and very clean.

SavannahMaddux

Points +18

Vegan
14 Sep 2023

The best vegan food in the city!!

We’ve been going here every single week for years now (I’m not exaggerating)! It’s soooo delicious every single time. Our go-tos are the Kari Sayur and Little Wok Lotus Root. The mango tofu and all the noodle dishes are also so good

Pros: Amazing flavor, Tons of super fresh veggies

ZachStephens

Points +183

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Best Malaysian Food in Atlanta

The food at Mamak Vegan Kitchen is so consistently high-quality that it's one of the best vegan restaurants in Atlanta (Chamblee). It's a great place to dine solo, with a friend or two, or in a large group, and the menu has so much variety that it's fun ordering different things and sharing family style. Some favorite recommendations: the Lemak Curry, Sesame Chicken, Pineapple Fried Rice, Dry String Beans, or Chow Kway Teow if you like noodles. Don't be afraid to try something new!

Pros: Kind staff and inviting atmosphere., You can rest easy knowing everything is vegan., Seated immediately and the food comes out quickly.

Cons: Closed on Thursdays., Sometimes they run out of dessert.

Parisma

Points +66

Vegan
19 Jun 2023

Perfect

This place was a 10 from the service to the food this my new favorite

Pros: Food , Service , Atmosphere

DakotaAlexa

Points +48

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

a must try

i discovered mamak a few years ago & now every time i visit atlanta i make sure to fit a visit into my schedule. the food is absolutely delicious, especially for the price & the staff is always so nice 🥹 everything i’ve ever gotten has been amazing & my non-vegan friend even said she couldn’t believe how good it was

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-10

RDF

Points +84

Vegan
25 May 2023

Excellent!

Have come back multiple times.

LolaRuns

Points +30

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Amazing

Since discovering it three weeks ago I’ve eaten here three times. Very large selection of vegetable, tofu, and “mock meat” (and “fish”) dishes. Asian friends confirm it’s the real deal, just 100% vegan. Each time I order randomly, knowing it will be vegan and delicious. Have not been disappointed. I have brought here carnivores who enjoyed it every bit as I do. There are many great “hole in the wall”-type places on Buford, but Mamak is spacious, nice ambiance, plenty of parking. Not at all expensive for the size of the portions or the quality of the food.

Pros: 100% vegan: one can order anything , Large selection, amazing flavors , Plenty of parking, nice ambiance inside

Cons:

DDesai

Points +198

Vegetarian
26 Feb 2023

Delicious!

4.5 stars! Great tasting food and so happy to see a vegan Malaysian restaurant. The food was a tad oily. If it was a bit less oily I would rate this restaurant 5 stars. The interiors are also beautiful. I will definitely be coming back here and brining friends and family here! #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-19

Pros: Great tasting food , Fully vegan South East Asian restaura, Beautiful interior

Cons: Oily food, A bit pricey

Ddouglas5471

Points +148

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

Big menu

The food was good. Service could have been better… I got my appetizer, meal and bill within about a 6 minute timeframe, so I felt a bit rushed.

Pros: All vegan, Large menu

Carlos2012

Points +47

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Highly recommended

Great tasting food and friendly staff who answered our question and made suggestions

Pros: Many dishes to choose from, Got our food a short time after ordering

IamcoachGen

Points +16

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Oh My...This Is Good

Just started my vegan journey on Jan 1. I have not ordered out much because I like to cook my own food. I ordered the Lemak Curry, Curry Pie, and Strawberry Cake. Wow, was I impressed! The Lemak was a bit spicy in a good way and soooo flavorful. I don't care for large cooked tomatoes, but everything else was amazing. The eggplant was perfect, the okra was not slimy, and overall, a delightful dish.
The Curry pie consisted of sweet potato that were both sweet and savory. They could have been dessert by themselves. I don't like overly sweet desserts.
I have not had a dessert since I started other than fruit and some horrible plant based cookies. This was just what I needed. It loom like a parfait, tastes like excellence.

I know this is long, but I have to shout out good food when I find it. #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Wonderful Flavor

theqweermind

Points +18

Vegan
24 Dec 2022

Amazing food

Food is amazing. Have been going there for about 2 years now. Highly recommend.

Blueberrychristine

Points +23

Vegetarian
29 Nov 2022

Very happy

Tried this place with friends and we were all super happy with our food ! We Really liked the pan fried dumpling, olive leaf fried rice, the sweet and sour chicken , and the sesame chicken ! We also had a pot of the butterfly leaf tea which is a fun blue color and then when you add the lemons it turns purple! Was served in the cutest little glasses. Will definitely come back !

StevenBecker

Points +77

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Great Find - I love Happy Cow

This is just another great find on Happy Cow. I had to drive a bit from hotel but very much worth it.

The food was fantastic. I had the Lemak Curry. Really - really good. Then someone picked up a to go order that had spring rolls. I like spring rolls. Now I am stuffed. Very happy and stuffed


I come to Atlanta for work occasionally and this will now be my go to.

Service was really good too. Restaurant is very nicely done.

Pros: Tons of options , Very nice restaurant , Staff is incredibly nice and helpful

Cons: Atlanta traffic. What you gonna do.

BrandonWright

Points +62

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Expensive, but satisfying

All vegan. Filling. Delicious. Expensive. Worth it occasionally.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-16

charlie.mack

Points +25

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Best Vegan Food in Atlanta

Everything I've ever gotten has been amazing. The quality of the food is so refreshing. The service is 5 star

Pros: quick, amazing food, excellent service

audrey.s

Points +22

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

100/10

So so soooo amazing, I love Mamak and could not recommend this place enough. I come at least once a week, they have a fully vegan menu and everything I’ve tried has been amazing. The mango tofu, black pepper chicken, and fried rice dishes are my favorites. The staff is always super kind and friendly, prices are great, and the food always comes out quick and perfect everytime. Again, I cannot recommend this place enough, must visit you will not regret it!!!

Pros: Fully vegan menu

Billup

Points +42

Vegan
12 Jun 2022

A must try

Absolutely delicious food and friendly staff. I got the Lemak curry and was blown away with the flavor, and it had just the right amount of heat too. Prices are affordable and portions are well-sized. Loved it! Will definitely be returning.

gimmepaw

Points +28

Vegan
12 Jun 2022

Loved it!

This place was amazing! EVERYTHING on the menu is vegan. We were driving through Atlanta and had to make a detour here to try it and it was so worth it. The food was awesome and the staff were super friendly. I wish I didn't live so far away or I would definitely make this a regular stop.

Pros: Everything is vegan!, A lot of variety of dishes.

cbanaab

Points +154

Vegan
10 Jun 2022

Fabulous!

Delicious vegan food at a very reasonable price. Atmosphere is cute and comfortable. Servers were very friendly. Would eat here every week if I were local!

Pros: Tons of vegan choices, Great taste, Reasonable prices

Goldsinga

Points +233

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Amazing!!

I stumbled on this gem while in the area. I'm so glad I found it. It's totally clean, friendly staff, quick service and don't even get me started on the food. The food is amazing! I had the roti naan, the sesame chicken and a spring roll. All were fresh and delicious. I couldn't even tell it was vegan meat to be honest; it tasted like the real thing! I'll definitely drive across town to eat here because it's so worth it!

Update (6/2022) - I frequent this place now and I've never had anything that wasn't delicious. I've added new pics for some of the other items I've tried.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-07

Pros: Lots of delicious options, Clean restaurant, Amazing service

suziqcu

Points +31

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Consistently delicious

I love having a full vegan menu so close by.

Pros: Everything is vegan, Delicious and creative entrees , Lots of options

Cons: Expensive , Online ordering not working

jmichelej

Points +42

Raw
08 May 2022

Great place to eat!

The food was all vegan and delicious. The portions were very generous. I am the only plant based vegan in my house. My hubby and kids enjoyed their meals. Even the most pickiest of the 4 children enjoyed it. She asked for seconds. 😂. I was disappointed that they didn’t have any more desserts because they had ran out due to the earlier Mother’s Day rush. Great service!

Pros: Generous portions, Very tasty and seasoned well, Nice ambience

Cons: No desserts




This page has been viewed 7977 times.