American
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hot dog eatery but with a veggie soy dog, a veggie sausage, and veg chili. Gluten-free buns are vegan, ask about other options. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-4:00pm.


Venue map for Mad Dogs Hot Dogs
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by RobinDeo

Jennr12

Points +16

Vegan
07 Aug 2023

Good dog

Clearly labeled vegan options build your own. 3 types of vegan cheese, vegan mayo and ranch, vegan beyond sausage and light life dog.

I got a byo with the hot dog, onions, relish, vegan mayo and sriracha. Super tasty, cheap and filling! Cute spot and vibe as well. 5/5

Advertisement

stephaniem1998

Points +414

Vegan
31 May 2022

Many options

They have SO many vegan options. I love the drago, which comes vegan. You can basically make anything vegan on the menu. Highly recommend!!!!

MelissaFadden

Points +215

Vegan
15 Feb 2022

Massive variety of delicious dogs

Finally made it here after a few years of visits to Florida- well worth the wait! Almost EVERYTHING on the lengthy menu has a vegan option. The staff was knowledgeable, verbally repeated the vegan part for each item ordered (since my partner got meat), and labeled each item in the bag.

Only downside was all of the styrofoam packaging, would have preferred something more sustainable.

Food itself was delicious! I got the Hawaiian, the Seattle, and the cheese fries and enjoyed them all thoroughly (and still have a list of things I want to try next visit!) #Veganuary

Pros: Almost everything on the menu can be made vegan, Employees knowledgeable and cheerful

Cons: Packaging not recyclable

mt168

Points +26

Vegan
18 Jan 2022

They have vegan option for everything even the cannoli. Owner use to be vegan

They have a lot of vegan option for everything even the cannoli. Owner use to be vegan. Everything was very tasty and I love how they understand veganism so she goes out of her way to make sure we can get pretty much anything on their regular menu. She also has a new place called Mad Salads that has vegan meats and cheeses down the street.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

HeatherRoessler

Points +49

Vegan
11 Sep 2021

Wow !!! Amazing menu !!!

Wow !!!! Fantastic menu !!!!!! Everything can be made vegan !!! Vegan bacon, vegan cream cheese, vegan ranch, TWO kids of vegan cheese (one home made like a queso style sauce), vegan chili, beyond sausage and light Life jumbo dogs !!!!!! Pictured is vegan Coney Island and vegan Route 66 !!!! Amazing !!!! — eating lunch at Mad Dog Hot Dogs.

Pros: Anything can be made vegan , Fast service , Cheap !!! Vegan chili, vegan bacon, vegan chz

TheMEGATRON

Points +18

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

Deserves 5 stars just on service alone.

They serve meat and dairy but have a bunch of vegan options. I am a regular customer, so that should tell you the food is great. Try the Seattle. The options are massive. You can just about get anything on it. Another option for the Vegan and GF is the Cincinnati. Her chili for it is good. Just try the place you won’t be disappointed.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-21


Updated from previous review on 2021-08-21

Pros: Lots of Vegan options , Gluten Free options available

Cons: I don’t work there lol

ShannonL

Points +36

Vegan
30 May 2021

Owner is so lovely!

The owner loves to make suggestions and customize menu items for you. Almost anything on the menu can be made vegan, and they have vegan substitutes of almost all of their toppings. The tofu bacon bits are so good!

Felish123

Points +345

Vegan
29 May 2021

Did not disappoint!

Super friendly staff- every single time! SO many vegan options. I can’t get enough of this place, everyone loves them.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-08


Updated from previous review on 2021-05-29

Pros: Can have every signature veggie dog veganised, Cheap, Nice staff

Cons: No real seating

ehc1997

Points +49

Vegan
18 Jul 2020

Awesome!

I’ve been trying to find a place with fun vegan hot dogs and finally found this one. The vegan coney (or faux coney as they called it) was awesome. So was the vegan sandwich. Very helpful staff.

bcastronova

Points +19

Mostly Veg
29 Sep 2019

I would give 5 stars if Happy let me

My husband and I have been going to mad dogs on the way to venice beach for the past 8 years. When I made the choice to eat Vegan I thought our tradition would be broken. I was elated to see they had vegan and gluten free options! They're delicious too. They can make almost everything on the menu vegan. I had a vegan dog with vegan chili and cheese. Absolutely amazing and was able to eat it on the beach in our usual fashion 💗

Pros: Lots of vegan and gluten free options

Cons: No cons, this place is amazing

ketzler

Points +202

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

I wish I could give FIVE STARS!

Love this place! The owner is so nice and always takes time to explain what she can make vegan, which is almost everything! My whole family looks forward to eating here every time we are in town. The vegan coney can’t be beat!!

Kallyn

Points +360

Vegan
19 May 2019

A long time favorite!

Mad dogs has been one of my favorites since before I was vegan! I’m so happy they have vegan options.

Nate_C

Points +78

Vegan
17 Aug 2018

So Good!

This place has became a staple for our family ever since we learned they can make almost all their dishes vegan if you request it.

Pros: Lies of vegan options.

MarcieTanielu

Points +18

Vegan
23 Jun 2018

So many vegan options

Discovered this awesome little place while on vacation thanks to Happy Cow. I wish I could give it 5 stars. Vegan dogs, vegan cheese, vegan bacon, vegan ranch 😍😍😍 everything can be made vegan. Please come to VA

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Everything is made to order , Customization is easy

Cons: Outdoor seating ( it’s hot in June 😬 ), No other cons, this place is a dream for this veg

kallyn3

Points +23

Vegan
15 Jan 2018

Love this place!

I've been going here since 2012 (pre vegan) and loved it!
When I went vegan in 2016, I obviously couldn't eat here anymore. Several months ago, they posted on facebook about vegan hot dogs and I knew I had to try!!
They usually have a different vegan option as one of their specials, as well as regular vegan dogs on the menu. Maria and the rest of the team are so kind and accommodating! A hot dog place is the last place I'd ever expect to have something for me to eat, but Mad Dogs is where it's at! Definitely give this place a try, vegan or not!

Pros: friendly staff, great food, lots of options

Cons: only outdoor seating

beccavegboni

Points +79

Vegan
31 Dec 2017

Great vegan options!

I went with my family. I am a vegan and my family is not. I had a vegan Chicago style hot dog. It was perfection. My husband, my kids, and my mom all loved their selections. The owner, Maria was so excited about her many vegan options. I tried her vegan chili and I was blown away! I don't live on the West coast of Florida, but I look forward to my next visit so I can try more lovingly crafted vegan treats!

Banana Buzzbomb

Points +833

Vegan
21 Nov 2017

Veggie Options

Veggie hotdogs and tofu chili. Make sure you ask with no cheese!

GloriaHappyVegan

Points +21

Vegan
19 Nov 2017

Mad Dog Hot Dogs

Yesterday I had the "Reuben Hot Dog." A vegan hot dog with loads of sauerkraut on it, one strip of vegan bacon, and mustard on a traditional hot dog bun. Price $5.25. Very friendly helpfulstaff. Very small venue, a few tables to eat at outside in back, shaded by a canopy, facing the Galleria Plaza parking lot. I have to be honest and say vegan hot dogs are not my fav vegan item, but they are really trying to cater to the vegetarian/vegan clientele, and I wanted to give them my patronage for that.

Pros: Specifically vegan options, All vegan "add-ons" like cheese, bacon, mayo, Food fairly well presented.

Cons: Styrofoam containers for the food., Plastic straws., The hot dog bun probably not vegan.

KristenKnight

Points +39

Vegan
18 Nov 2017

Vegan Options Galore!

We had tofu dogs with tofu chili- delicious! These people are so friendly and nice; the service was excellent. We were so impressed to find such great vegan options- tofu bacon, vegan cheese, vegan mayo, vegan thousand island, vegan dogs- awesome! They said their vegan business is “booming,” we can see why! We’ll definitely be back every time we visit Venice. Ps- Happy Cow will only allow 4 stars for a non-vegan restaurant, but we give their vegan options five stars for sure!

Pros: vegan dogs, vegan condiments , friendly knowledgeable staff

RobinDeo

Points +28

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

many delicious veg and vegan options

Drive through with picnic tables outside.

Pros: they have many types of vegan cheese as well as ve

Cons: none




This page has been viewed 4302 times.