• Luna Mexican Kitchen

  • (15)
    35
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican cuisine with labeled vegan options. Open Mon-Thu 9:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 9:00am-10:00pm, Sun 9:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Luna Mexican Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by MickeyMM

themuppetlibrarian

Points +2189

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Vegan breakfast burrito

I got the vegan breakfast burrito which was huge and filled with spinach, black bean, avocado, and sweet potato.

It was substantial and nutritious however I think it could have tasted better if the textures were more balanced.

Advertisement

anthonymhill

Points +564

Vegan
28 Dec 2022

Vegan enchiladas

Great vegan enchiladas as a vegan option!

johnlevy2099

Points +16

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Meh

They could actually stop by the table now and again

Pros: A few vegan options

Cons: Wait staff was uninterested in waiting on me

janicaj

Points +47

Vegan
12 Mar 2022

Great vegan options!

I’m in San Jose a lot for work and I always try to get to Luna! There’s not a ton of vegan options but the ones they have are delicious😄You Must try the Camote appetizer (charred sweet potato) and sub aioli for the cashew creama. They have a veggie Parrilladas that can be shared and the salads are yummy too.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-12

Pros: Outdoor seating , Tasty vegan options , Great cocktails

Cons: You may have to remind them to make it vegan

Conniemm

Points +1557

Vegan
13 Oct 2021

Nice restaurant

This restaurant was recommended in a local vegan Facebook group so I decided to check it out. The menu mentions which items are vegan or can be made vegan.

The restaurant is attractive and I appreciated the attention given to things like the cloth napkins and art glass drinking glasses.

I ordered the El Buddha Bowl and it was both delicious and nutritious:
brown rice and quinoa blend, portobello mushroom, asparagus, epazote black beans, sweet potato, avocado, cabbage, chipotle cashew crema, chile de .

I would definitely return and recommend this restaurant to others.

Pros: Delicious food, Nice atmosphere, attention to detail, Lots of outdoor seating

Adventurechica

Points +1095

Vegan
28 Feb 2021

Good but

Order burrito bowl and specifically asked for no cheese and please asked for vegan and it still came out with cheese.m, and was mostly lettuce

Pros: Outdoor seating , Vegetarian items that can be made vegan

Cons: Still came out with cheese

JPJackie

Points +146

Vegan
17 Nov 2020

Not a whole lot of vegan options, but delicious

The vegan enchiladas and guacamole are bomb! You can also make the tacos and burritos vegan if you ask them too. Only tried the tacos and they were delicious.
Really high quality ingredients and fun atmosphere!

jkguzman

Points +27

Vegetarian
21 Jul 2020

Ingredients don't match order

This restaurant has few vegetarian and vegan options. They are not the best. In the two occasions I have come what I've ordered didn't match the description of ingredients in the menu. The cheese may have been produced with rennet. No information on that

jenbarb

Points +62

Vegan
31 Jan 2020

Great food and atmosphere!

Been here twice and always look forward to going back to San Jose to eat here!!

Pros: Marked vegan option , Many other item can be made vegan

naama651

Points +372

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Good food

Delicious vegan dishes, healthy, clean, great service. I will definitely come to try some more vegan dishes.

CatLady2

Points +21

Vegetarian
26 Jul 2019

Great Mexican restaurant!

Nice decor and great wait staff. The food was delicious with many vegetarian and vegan options. They make their own tortillas which were gluten-free. Many gluten-free options. Vegetarian dishes can be made vegan upon request.

Pros: Lots of both vegan and vegetarian options.

badgirlsvegan

Points +2016

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

Cute place and good amount of options

Everything vegan on the menu (as well as things that can be made vegan) is clearly labeled and quite tasty

missfury

Points +253

Vegan
04 Jun 2018

Tasty!

Delicious vegan options, and a great atmosphere.

ronitw

Points +675

Vegan
29 May 2018

Good Breakfast Choices

Late breakfast. I recommend the Cafe de Olla! I had El Buddha Bowl and it was good. Service was friendly.

Pros: Vegan options!

MickeyMM

Points +131

Vegan
28 May 2018

Great Mexican Place with Veg and Vegan offerings.

Since I am the one that nominated to put this restaurant on HappyCow I will write an longer review to get things started. It was pure desperation for Mexican food that helped us discover Luna. Our Happy Cow search turned up virtually nothing in San Jose but Chipotle. We found Luna through a web search and verified that the menu had veg and vegan items. It is a local, organic restaurant. Atmosphere was cozy and buzzing on a Friday night. We didn’t make reservations but they got us to the table in about 20 min. This gave us a chance to indulge in the craft cocktail menu which was fun and inventive. The menu has plenty of veg options and a few vegan dishes. Fortunately there were some veg items that could be modified to be vegan. (Clearly marked on menu). We got 3 appetizers. Elote- corn spiced with lime and chili. It was so good I stole my husband’s piece. (Note it is one ear of corn cut into pieces). Next app was Tacos Doritos de Papa. Basically a fried taquito like shapes filled with potatoes. My husband and daughter loved these so much we got a second plate. Final app was Frita con Chile and was one of the more unusual tastes. It consists of fresh peeled fruit (melon, jicama, pineapple etc) with a sweet chili sauce on top. Note it’s big. And we each had about two slides of the fruit and left a lot uneaten. For main meal I had the vegan enchiladas which were made with sweet potato, black bean and spinach. It even comes with a cashew crema on top. It was SO delicious. I ate every bite and was glad my daughter got full midway through her meal since I ate her leftovers the next day. Yum. My hubby isn’t a fan of sweet potatoes so he asked the kitchen to craft a rice and bean burrito out of the vegan sides and he liked it. Overall this was a great discovery and we will be back.

Pros: Plenty of veg items, Super friendly staff, Kitchen willing to create (slightly)off menu

Cons: Vegan options are limited




This page has been viewed 3308 times.