• Lulu's Thai Noodle Shop

  • (17)
    22
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai food in Crossroads area, vibrant atmosphere. Ask for the separate vegetarian menu. Aug 2017 reported staff are familiar with veganism. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Lulu's Thai Noodle Shop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by DWNPhoto

DanielleHusted

Points +73

Vegan
01 Feb 2024

Lots of Options, Great tasting

They have a separate menu you can order from. Lots of options. I particularly like the Rainbow noodles and Yellow Curry. Be careful on the spice though. There mild can be too spicy for some!

Advertisement

RyanFleming

Points +43

Vegan
12 Dec 2023

They Served Me Meat

Ordered veggie dumplings, took a bite into one of them and realized one of the eight had meat. Instant no-go for me.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-12

Cons: Careless with orders

HenriettaMorgenstein

Points +32

Vegan
10 Jul 2023

Not as described

There were tons of vegan options and gluten-free options which was wonderful. But when I asked the waitress if my dish was spicy, she said no and when I started eating it it was very spicy to me, and there were visible red pepper flakes. When I confronted her, she said well. I guess our sauces are just normally too spicy for you, but I ordered no spice in my food. All she did was make excuses no, can we make something else, no, let me talk to the chef. So if you want lots of vegan and gluten-free options but are not spice sensitive this is the place for you. If you are space sensitive, I would probably be very leery or choose some thing that doesn’t come with any sauce or any way they can make it spicy.

ElenaW32

Points +159

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Not worth it

There is a non meat menu but the vegan options aren’t labeled well and I was directed to order something that was not in fact vegan. The hot level of spice isn’t that spicy and the food doesn’t taste like much.

Pros: The atmosphere , The patio, Tempera veggies

Cons: No flavor, Little to no spice , Mislabeled menu

maseface

Points +1099

Vegan
22 Jun 2022

Great Menu, Great Food

Food is really good, and the menu is labeled amazingly no matter if you’re ordering online or in person. Had takeout this time, but looking forward to dining in soon!

6/19/2022 update: still fantastic!

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-04

ElissaBVegan

Points +2325

Vegan
12 Jun 2022

Full vegan menu!

Lots of tasty options on the meat-free menu, all of which can be made vegan. Huge portions and beautifully presented.

Pros: Meat-free menu, Tasty food , Great service

Justin K.

Points +284

Vegan
10 Sep 2021

Always a delicious choice

Fantastic dine in our take out experience. My consistent go to are the Rainbow Peanut Noodles, but i don't think you can really go wrong with anything from here!

Pros: Lots of clearly labeled vegan options

Jadoreurlife

Points +63

Vegan
04 Jun 2021

🙌🏻 vegan paradise

We rolled through Kansas City on a road trip and were referred here by a friend who used to live in the city. SO glad we listened, it’s amazing. Adorable atmosphere, delicious fresh food and so many vegan options. We loved the spring roll and the Bahn Mi!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious!

PaigeR.

Points +6

Non Veg
22 Dec 2019

the most amazing food to ever exist

FIVE FULL STARS. all the bad reviews are absolute bs. seriously. i have been all over the world and i have never ever found better thai food. their fried rice is immaculate. absolutely heavenly. all their food is fresh, filled with spices and flavor, and the staff is so sweet and helpful. this is by far my favorite restaurant in kansas city. if i could give this A MILLION STARS i would but it won’t let me give even 5. i literally just made this account on this website because their rating was so low and that’s not what this place deserves.

Updated from previous review on 2019-12-22

Pros: amazing food, amazing flavor , always fresh

Cons: none, none, absolutely NONE.

paxfamilia

Points +34

Vegan
31 May 2019

vomit inducing

After several months of eating a 'salt shaker' at their 47th street location, we gave the Crossroads location a try on the suggestion or area vegans that this location was better. It's not, might have even been worse, if that's even possible. I ordered Pad Sea Eu (with tofu). First of all, they don't even know what that is as it's a savory comfort dish with a sauce on it. What came out was dry noodles with the only flavor being 'hot' as in pepper, nothing else. The tofu was over-cooked to the consistency of shoe leather. The green curry dish was not much better. Just looking at others' tables, these dishes don't even seem that authentic. It's sad that Kansas City thinks this is good Asian food, vegan or not. Deplorable.

JaimeeMcG

Points +110

Vegan
25 May 2019

Rude employees - blah food

We visited during a slow time and seemed to be intruding on the employees’ phone time. The server gave me three or four eye-rolls when I asked about menu items. The food was blah and lacking flavor, and it was pricey for what we got. Definitely the first and last visit for me.

Pros: Decent vegan options

Cons: Rude employees, Bland food with not much flavor, Pricey

kissthevoiid

Points +30

Vegan
22 Apr 2019

Favourite

While not all of their food is vegan, they have the most accommodating menu I've found. Without egg and fish sauce, plus tofu... so good. I eat here probably once a week, I just can't resist the flavors. Amazing!

MsDana

Points +28

Vegan
17 Feb 2019

Amazingly good, great atmosphere, friendly staff!

I ordered the Basil fried rice spicy hot with tofu. The kind staff offered to make it vegan. The food is yummy yummy to my tummy😊😋

Pros: Basil fried rice with tofu made vegan

Cons: Reasonably priced !

ALR14

Points +384

Vegan
06 Mar 2018

Good Thai food with multiple vegan options

Ask for the No Meat menu. It has all their vegan options as well as how to make certain things vegan. Lots of options, great tasting food, neat place. Only complaint was portion sizes for the money, but that won’t keep me from coming back here for some Pad Thai!

Pros: Tasty food, Cute atmosphere, Separate No Meat menu

Cons: Pricey for portion sizes, Parking

amazingIg

Points +24

Vegan
06 Jan 2018

we were given chicken instead of tofu

New Year’s eve dinner was ruined by a manager in training that didn’t know how to ring up vegetarian lettuce wraps, an item on the menu. It’s very hard to tell if it’s chicken or tofu when it’s all mixed in. We were offered a free lettuce wrap for our next visit. Why would I want that again? We wrote them an email asking for our money back with no response. Very inconsistent food quality as well.

DaniJones

Points +40

Vegan
17 Apr 2017

Great place to go with non-vegans!

I went here with family (non-vegans) and found it pretty easy to order vegan! Of course, ask for no egg or fish sauce, these are the common things snuck in the food. My waiter happened to ask me if I'd like to leave those out after I asked for tofu as the protein option. They were very considerate!

Pros: Great wait staff, Decent amount of vegan options

Cons: A little pricey for small portions

DWNPhoto

Points +387

Vegan
24 Jun 2015

Good food, a little expensive for what you get.

Not our favorite Thai food in KC (that would be Thai Place), but the food is good... and it's a fun location near other options for a night out.

They have several apps, rice options, noodle dishes, and curries all vegan... and many more that can be made vegan. Ask for their allergen menu, it lists everything that is either OK or can be made that way by removing something simple.

Pros: Consistently good food, Fun location

Cons: Never "GREAT" food, Higher price than other Thai in KC




This page has been viewed 5236 times.