• Lukmaan

  • (7)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian and Zanzibari restaurant offering vegan peas in coconut curry, mixed vegetables in coconut curry, daal and spinach dishes. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Lukmaan
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Jtydlaska

samira.lra

Points +348

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

Nice vegan food options

The restaurant is very nice but very crowded and the staff was really struggling when I visited.
They have a nice menu with pictures of everything and it is relatively cheap to mix your own plate, but they don’t always have all the foods from the menu available… In addition, they forgot to bring many foods and we had to wait a long time… but in the end it was really tasty and most of us became what they wanted😉

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-25

Pros: Many vegan options, Cheap, Nice location

Cons: Crowded , Struggling staff, Vegan options not clearly labeled

Advertisement

zuendy

Points +2705

Vegan
22 Nov 2022

Good service and full house

Nice location where tourist and locals eating.
I just ordered take away curry with vegetables and some chapati bread. Got it really quick and it was delicious and a good price.
Delicious fresh food.

Stuff know what vegan means.

Pros: Vegan options

VeronicaWiltshire

Points +18

Vegan
13 May 2022

Excellent food.

Busy but didn’t wait long for our food

Pros: Decent amount of choices for vegans , Juices were wonderful

Cons: None

nastyvegan

Points +558

Vegan
05 Feb 2022

Delicious and cheap

Our go to while in Stone Town. I'm disappointed every time I stray away. Plenty of options - my faves have been curry aubergine and veggies in coconut. Menu rotates often. Still haven't tried the samosas. They're always sold out by the time I get in.

They're quite nice to the street cats. They allow them to nick leftovers when possible and I've never seen the staff be cruel. I appreciate that tremendously. Even when they chase the cats away they just use a spray bottle.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Cheap , Good location

Cons: My stomach isn't big enough

Mimozella

Points +436

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

great taste, great price

this is my first restaurant I went to, expecting all prices to be like in this restaurant, unfortunately its not. I think this is the cheapest restaurant in whole of Zanzibar. meals around 5k, roti 500. the portions are small, so maybe rice with 2 meals so be full.
the place gets super busy during rush hour. you might have to share a table with strangers and it might take a bit longer to order. the food is quite good and the smoothies delicious! location is great and easy to find. this is a very popular place and can get loud, best to go outside of rush-hour, but sometimes they are out of food (especially the samosas).

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-31

Pros: enough vegan options, cheap, big space

Cons: can get busy and hectic , might have to share a table during rush hour, serves meat

KarysStapley

Points +19

Vegetarian
16 Jan 2020

Delicious local food

My partner and I went to Lukmaan for dinner over a few nights during our stay in Zanzibar. We found there to be loads of vegetarian options available. It was delicious & super cheap!

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options , Cheap meal, Great local foods

Jtydlaska

Points +582

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Local food, lots of options

After a number of people encouraged me to come here because it has Swahili food, I felt I had to check it out. And I am glad I did because Zanzibari cuisine has lots of vegan options, and this place was colorful, cheap, and filled with mostly locals and only some tourists. I had the vegetable biryani, vegetable curry, sautéed greens (“spinach” is the local term for this type of dish, but it’s not actually spinach), and a mango/tamarind juice. All really good, but the greens and the juice really stood out.

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Feels like a very local place, Inexpensive




This page has been viewed 1885 times.