Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Opened in March 2011, nearly half of the menu can be made vegan, including burgers, turkey/ham sandwiches, hot dogs, chili, quesadillas, tacos and more. Uses separate equipment for veg and non-veg food. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-2:30am, Sat-Sun 10:00am-2:30am.


Venue map for Lucky's Taproom and Eatery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

43 Reviews

First Review by julesy bear

Momof6

Points +240

Vegan
27 Feb 2024

Very accommodating

Yes it’s in a bar, but more than just fried bar food. Lots of different choices and can make most anything on the menu Vegan. I had the Jackfruit Reuben on Rye, good sandwich! My husband had the Cobra Impossible Burger, really good! Both had side salads. Vegan Ranch was good and the Vegan 1000 Island was even better! Chocolate cake for dessert and it was also really good!

Pros: Lots of Vegan choices , Friendly waitress, Easy parking

Advertisement

dontkalemyvibe

Points +128

Vegan
28 Jan 2024

Comfort food to the max

Great choice! Happy to see somewhere open on Sundays.

christopherevans

Points +329

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

Pretty much anything can be made Vegan

They have pretty much everything that can be made vegan, they offer Vegan cheese. Lots of Vegan options. Service is pretty quick and good

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-28

lwidmeyer

Points +50

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

My favorite!

Pretty much my go to place in Dayton. The chicken and waffles is so so so good! They always have new and interesting beers to try. Last time I went just after the brunch rush and they only had one functioning waffle iron, so had to try something different and got The Cobra with an Impossible patty, which was also very good!

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff

Cons: Small space

KialSmith

Points +51

Vegan
03 Jan 2023

Great food with a taproom vibe

Had the Cobra burger with the Impossible patty on the gluten free roll. It was very rich and very good. The fries were good. The vegan broccoli cheese soup was also good.

Mbarker1003

Points +443

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

A great find!

We were visiting from out of town and found Lucky’s on Happy Cow. So happy we visited! We all were so happy with our dinner (vegan and non-vegan). I got the jackfruit Rueben sandwich, with vegan 1000 island dressing, vegan mozzarella cheese, and the gluten free/vegan bun. The bun was house made and delicious! My only complaint about the sandwich would be that the ratio of bun to jackfruit was a little too much bread. But again, the bread was so good that it was ok.

I also got both sweet potatoes and shoestring fries as my side. I LOVE fries and was so happy I got both. They were so crispy and well seasoned. They also have a vegan southwest sauce that was delicious!

We all said we wish we were able to come back!

Pros: Vegan accommodating, Friendly staff, Homemade GF/V bun

Cons: Small seating area, Inconveniente parking

JeneferPughRiddle

Points +40

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Excellent vegan comfort good available

I had the seitan chikn and waffles as well as the seitan chikn bites(also cauliflower bites option), and vegan chocolate cake and all were delicious. Husband had impossible burger with vegan cheese. Would come back to try other things such as seitan gyro. I was told anything except the pasta dish could be made vegan.

Pros: Most of menu can be made vegan, Flavorful vegan comfort food

tdroeth

Points +259

Vegan
11 Sep 2022

🧇

loved the vegan chicken and waffles 🥰

sarahdavis89

Points +1134

Vegan
16 Aug 2022

So many options!!!

I love that there are so many things to choose from at Luckys! They can veganize most things and are very knowledgeable and helpful with their menu. We love the cauliflower bites and fried pickles. The vegan chili is very good as well. I got the quesadilla with soyrizo and it was amazing! Can’t go wrong with anything on the menu!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food

zmky

Points +63

Vegan
13 Aug 2022

Good

Prices are average for a sit down. Service was fine. The food was very good. It is a small place and starts to get busy around 6.

FrankieFranks

Points +44

Vegan
29 Mar 2022

Best Meal of the Weekend

I was in Dayton for a convention and was thrilled that we found Lucky's. They had amazing options for Vegans. Definitely recommend trying the vegan southwestern sauce! I had an impossible burger and it was the best cooked one I think I've ever had. Our waitress was also great and they didn't have any issue making some additional substitutions and on the burger (mushrooms instead of bacon)

Pros: Lots of Vegan substitutions available, Great beer selection, Make their own sauces

Cons: Limited seating

rasika.venkat

Points +3270

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Holy Cow! DELICIOUS!!!

My first time trying Lucky’s for my birthday lunch this week, and WOW!! Blown away by all the vegan options. This is *real* vegan junk food (Seitan! Vegan grilled cheese! Just egg! Allll the vegan condiments!) and almost everything on the menu can be veganized.
The Fried Chicken Sandwich with the hot seitan patty was perfection. Just the right amount of spice and crunch. And OMG! The sweet potato fries 😭 SO good. Get the Buffalo Cauli bites with extra buffalo sauce and vegan ranch on the side! You won’t regret it!!

I will be back many, many more times to work through the entire vegan menu!

Pros: Separate fryer for veg items!

anmrise

Points +366

Vegan
20 Feb 2022

Best Vegan Brunch

Weekend brunch is great! I got a vegan style breakfast taco with hash browns #Veganuary

Pros: Knowledgeable waitstaff, Lots of options

Cons: Vegetarian/vegan labels unclear

Silly Little Vegan

Points +1000

Vegan
31 Dec 2021

Delicious vegan options!

Really delicious vegan food! While the restaurant is not all vegan, a lot of the menu items can be made vegan. The menu includes burgers, sandwiches, and wraps.

Everything that I've tried so far has been delicious! I really love their fried pickles! So yummy! #Veganuary

Pros: A lot of their menu can be made vegan, Delicious vegan food!

couscous4

Points +69

Vegan
07 Aug 2021

Solid Dinner for Me and My Omnivores!

I used Happy Cow to find a spot for dinner during a day trip to Dayton. Great recommendation! I was thrilled with all of the vegan options on the menu, and ordered the pesto grilled "cheese." The others ordered vegetarian sandwiches. All good, and the portions were hearty!
I will definitely return on my next visit to Dayton.

Pros: Many vegan options, Friendly, casual atmosphere, Great dinner spot for vegans and friends

VeganOhioLady77

Points +54

Vegan
17 May 2020

Vegan Substitutes

Love that most items can be turned vegan, especially the waffles with fried seitan and pesto grilled cheese! Delicious!

EleanorM

Points +41

Mostly Veg
09 Jan 2020

Best Veg options in Dayton

The best restaurant around town with delicious veg options. Friendly staff and low key environment. Family friendly while being great for a date night. Should be 5 stars.

Pros: Lots of tasty vegetarian options, Friendly staff and exceptional owner, Convenient location and a great selection of beer

happyvegan01

Points +21

Vegan
16 Oct 2019

Most vegan-friendly place in Dayton!

This is truly my go-to place to get great vegan bar food. Is great to take non-vegan family & friends, too, as they have something for everyone. A favorite haunt of the local vegan meetup group, VeganDayton. They can make a vegan version of most menu items (and often daily specials, as well). Vegan nachos, burgers, quesadillas,seitan nuggets (like buffalo wings), tacos on Taco Tuesdays, as well as a great grilled kale & beet salad (as for the vegan version, with seitan instead of bacon, with or without vegan cheese). They also have creative Meatless Monday specials & frequently have vegan specials other days, as well. (Vegan "meatloaf", mac & cheese, and grilled asparagus, anyone??? Not every day, but has been a special several times.) Staff is very friendly, knowledgeable of vegan options & accommodating. They have dedicated grills & fryers for vegetarian items, too - another big plus! I highly recommend!!

Pros: Extensive vegan menu, Friendly, knowledgeable staff, Good value

Cons: Sometimes limited parking,but can be found nearby

Littletonytone

Points +28

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

Looks good on paper.

Loads of friends getting meat instead of veg(an) dishes. Finding meat in food. Owner making mocking comments on vegan lifestyle. Only offering vegan for the $$$.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Meat brought instead of vegan food, Cross contamination , Owner’s only offering vegan for $

happyvegan01

16 Oct 2019

I can hardly believe the owner mocked you. I have been there countless times & have always had a good experience. I'm sorry you were accidentally served meat, but everyone makes mistakes. They are absolutely the most vegan-friendly place in town, in my opinion (other than maybe juice bars). They have dedicated grills & fryers for vegetarian items & I can assure you the management there is very committed to offering good vegan options.

MaggieMullen-Branch

Points +42

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

Huge vegan menu

Almost every item in there menu they have a vegan version of it - we got the fried pickles and buffalo cauliflower bites, they also have vegan dipping sauces! For a main I got the “chicken” and waffles everything was great!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fair prices , Great beer list

Cons: Very hot inside

hellstothellama

Points +34

Vegan
12 Jul 2019

Best vegan options in the Dayton Area

They have the best vegan food around the dayton area. The best thing about this place it doesn’t break your bank. A casual place where all your friends can go to.

Pros: Friendly, A lot of options, A lot of substitutes

TeresaLinda

Points +24

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

The menu was labeled wrong

Went here on a road trip to NC. Stopped here because it was on the way and I looked at the menu before to make sure there were gf/vegan options. The menu turned out to be labeled wrong with limited gluten-less/free items.

Pros: Vegan options, Delicious food, Cool vibe

Cons: Menu was incorrectly labeled, Very limited gluten free vegan options

mixMatch15

Points +136

Vegan
08 Jun 2019

Almost everything can be veganuzed

Great beer with tons of vegan food options

Pros: Lots of vegan options

ptrip

Points +16

Vegan
01 Apr 2019

Didn’t care for my meal

Ordered the daily special, which had faux chicken. I didn’t care for the taste of it.

sdlang276

Points +38

Vegan
21 Nov 2018

Definitely worth the trip!

Passing through the area on our way south, we read the reviews and had to stop. Between the four of us we tried the kids vegan grilled cheese, buffalo sietan nuggets with ranch, and the vegan rueban. All came with fries and all were delicious. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Excellent vegan bar food!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Beer!

Cons: I don’t live here

darren.delvalle92

Points +20

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

Favorite in Dayton

A bar atmosphere with excellent food. They do a great job making a meal vegan and I have never been disappointed with a meal. They also have late hours on the weekend and a nice beer selection.

Pros: vegan optins, quality meals

Cons: small but we usually find a seat

jthorp

Points +16

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

Very good food!

Very knowledgeable waiter. Found me vegan and gluten free meal options. Delicious meal. I had vegan gluten free bean burger on a gluten free bun I could hardly believe was gluten free!! Weak wine list. But it is a taproom after all... 😊

Pros: More than average vegan options, Knowledgeable waiter

Cons: Not good wine selection




This page has been viewed 8227 times.