Loving Hut 愛家

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 10 reviews )

Find

503, Ziqiang Rd, Jian, Taiwan, 97344

Part of vegan restaurant chain inspired by Supreme Master Ching Hai, an advocate for veg living. Each location is individually operated. This location is both a food store and a vegan kitchen. There is seating inside. At the counter you'll find a ready made assortment such as sandwiches with sweet potato, sprouts, and mayo; wraps with sweet potato; steamed buns plain or filled; and a couple of Taiwanese style dishes. The menu on the wall is written in Chinese and offers a larger selection, including veggie burgers, smoothies, espresso, and even fried vegan egg. At lunch time the owner also makes hot entrees - ask for the separate English menu for that. Meal service stops by 2pm. The shop continues to open till 9pm, selling packaged cookies, cooking supplies, and frozen mock meats. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-2:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Fast food, Take-out, Taiwanese

10 Reviews

First Review by JesseD

ryanwhatt

Points +339

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Great selection

There is a full menu (all in Chinese, the woman there speaks some English), as well as different take out options, breads, turnip cakes, etc. The grocery also has lots of frozen vegan meats. I had a pumpkin bread and turnip cakes and loved it.

zulzii

Points +38

Vegan
01 Feb 2020

Real vegan heaven in Ji-An Township

It is a small vegan shop and plus serves breakfast and lunch until 6 am to 2 pm. The owners are really friendly and adorable. I tried all of the sandwiches and traditional Taiwanese breakfast items. All of the items are really cheap and delicious. Also, they sell vegan ice-cream which was really good. Favorite place while I am in Hualien.

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2019

Tasty food, friendly owner

Was here July 2019. Saw this place listed on happycow and gave it a try. Here's my Loving Hut Ji'an Township review. It's a simple place that makes you feel like you are at someone's house. The owner is the person who usually takes your order and prepares the food. She was very friendly and chatted with us a bit (in Chinese). We got a bunch of things to share: a dark bread sandwich with falafel and sweet potato, a wrap, a potato salad sandwich, a mix fruit juice, and americano coffee. We even tried their vegan egg - pan fried like regular ones. It tasted pretty good.

Advertisement

GillVHibbitt

Points +243

Vegan
07 May 2019

Good tasty food.

Good size portions. Very tasty and reasonably priced. Has a menu in English too. Stocked up on some health foods too.

Pros: Vegan., Good portions, Very tasty

CemNY

Points +68

Vegan
25 Jun 2018

Good Food for Taroko

We stopped here twice on consecutive days before heading to Taroko Gorge. The wraps and sandwiches were tasty, though it was strange to eat apple in a sandwich, we also tried the pineapple cake which was good and some chocolate cookies. We also had a warm soya milk (not quite to my taste) and two smoothies which were tasty.

HaileyPoLa

Points +1118

Vegan
17 Jun 2017

Liked the food there

I really liked the bean sprouts wrap and the sweet potato wrap, which I ordered on the phone and picked up for our trip to Taroko National Park. The turnip cake was a bit soggy, but it could be because it was put in a take-out box. The people who work there are super friendly. Next time I'd like to stay in Hualian longer and try different dishes here as well! :)

LilacHippy

Points +9384

Vegan
17 Apr 2017

Go in the Morning

They speak very little English with no English menu so it's best to just pick some of the pre-packaged stuff, which is actually really good and healthy. They have buritto style wraps full of salad stuff and they taste great! Other fried stuff too. I got about five things and couldn't believe it when it was only 110 dollars!
Everything is vegan so if you are brave you can just pick pictures from the menu. It's a great place to pick up snacks and pre-packaged stuff for your day out at the Gorge!
Go early, as I'm not sure if they still have food in the afternoon/evening.
You can also get some rare groceries and snacks here.

Updated from previous review on 2017-04-17

Pros: Cheap, Healthy options, Good for take-away stuff

Nikki1801

Points +963

Vegan
21 Mar 2015

Got there too late...

We arrived at 2pm and he said 'no more food'.... So just bear that in mind everyone! They still had some things in their steam cabinet, so we bought some buns and some sticky rice (the ones wrapped in a leaf) and some sandwiches for the next day for the gorge. The buns were plain....I assumed they'd have flavour or something inside....but no. Just a bright yellow bun with zero flavour...shame, but better than nothing! The rice was decent, it had some mock meat/chickpeas inside which we both liked. The sandwiches however, were just too far out my comfort zone haha. if you live in asia, then you're probably used to everything being laced with sugar....but a sandwich made with sugary bread, containing mashed pumpkin, salad and apple slices mixed with some sort of savoury mayonnaise....it was a struggle to finish it. It was better than going hungry though, so I am grateful I could at least eat! If you want a proper meal, I'd aim for midday as I'm unsure really when they stop serving!! However Greenland is not too far away, they're open until 2:30 and you can attempt to communicate a vegan dish there.

JesseD

16 Jun 2015

I'm sorry but your review made me laugh. "If you live in asia, then you're probably used to everything being laced with sugar....but a sandwich made with sugary bread, containing mashed pumpkin, salad and apple slices mixed with some sort of savoury mayonnaise." So true, and it makes me realise that I've been here for a while, because sandwiches with mayonnaise and sliced apple seem normal to me now. I'd never make one like that myself though!

peas-full

Points +2133

Vegan
31 Dec 2014

don't go there in the evening.

We went there on saturday evening. Before I checked on the Loving Hut website to be sure about the opening hours. Once there, we just found two bored persons watching TV. The kitchen is running until after brunch, then they stay open only as a shop to sale vegan product. I was with a taiwanese friend and she was able to let them know that on the website it is written that on the contrary during the weekend they are open only in the evening. The lady then agreed to make some food for us and I asked about the stinky tofu, which I really wanted to try. They don't have it anymore. To have some proteins dishes I had first to buy the protein from the freezer and than the lady would have cooked it for me. I appreciated the offer, but 5 min walking distance from loving hut there is a nice local place where we had dinner.

Pros: vegan

Cons: wrong info on the website

JesseD

Points +824

Vegan
18 Nov 2014

Good Loving Hut

This is is a fairly typical small-city Loving Hut. It serves a range of simple but delicious, satisfying meals, at very reasonable prices (about 100NT each). It also serves a range of drinks, including fresh coffee and smoothies.

The best thing about this Loving Hut is that they open at 6:30 every day, and they sell packaged sandwiches and rolls which are perfect for taking into Taroko Gorge for hiking, as they keep ok (it's cooler there) and their wrapping can be easily carried around afterwards (unlike say a take-out meal box from a buffet). Even if you've just had breakfast it's worth coming here for these before a trip to Taroko Gorge.If you're staying in the gorge I would take some and keep them in the fridge where you stay for the next day, unless you know you're going to get food there.

They also have quite an impressive grocery store. It's worth getting some snacks for when your sandwiches run out, but chances are if you're in Hualien you won't want to stock up on kitchen supplies, which is a pity because some of them look really good.

Pros: only vegan restaurant in Hualien centre, simple, delicious, inexpensive food, take-out sandwiches for Taroko gorge

Cons: a little far from train station

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Jian Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Loving Hut 愛家 closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3120 times.