Lost Weekend

  • Coffee-tea Coffee & Tea
  • Vegan
  • ( 66 reviews )

Find

Schellingstr. 3, Munich, Germany

Organic vegan coffee and cocktail bar sharing space with Prophecy bookstore. Began operating in Oct 2014. Open Mon-Fri 08:00-20:00, Sat 10:00-20:00, Sun 11:00-18:00.

Categories: Organic, Western, Take-out

66 Reviews

First Review by eric

katypine

Points +289

Vegan
26 Aug 2021

Just know what to expect

Lots of these negative reviews I'm reading here are comparing this place to how it used to be. Fine, that's disappointing. No, they don't have a lot of food. What do they have still? Lots of seating, inside and out, good coffee, choice of non-cow milk, and cool vibes. I don't spend a lot of time in Munich so maybe there are a bunch of hip little cafes with oat milk, etc, that I don't know about. In the mean time, Lost Weekend hits all my requirements.

Pros: Oat milk, good people watching, good seating

Cons: Few food options

SelinaTrummer

Points +40

Vegan
23 Aug 2021

Nice

Nice little coffee shop mostly used by students.

Marieanne

Points +531

Vegan
27 Jul 2021

No vegan pastries or food

Unfortunately they do not have any vegan pastries or food. They offer coffee and other beverages, cocktails etc. Place itself is cool, staff is friendly

Advertisement

SeitanicVampyricTyran

Points +20

Vegan
21 Jul 2021

NO PASTRIES AFTER COVID

They don't have any pastries since the new owners took over after the pandemic

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-21

AndreasGast

Points +118

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

never fails to disappoint

some years ago, it was amazing with those sandwiches and cakes. stopped having sandwiches soon enough to offer some basic vegan options. now the menu is even less attractive. it feels like it gets worse every year. coffee is still good, yet pricey.
this used to be my personal hot spot and i had times when i went there two or three times a day. so i often go there just to feel disappointed.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-10


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-10

Pros: some unique vibes, good location

Cons: pricey, unattractive options, wifi really bad

Yesyesyesyes

Points +2014

Vegan
15 Oct 2020

Limited breakfast assortment, awesome sorbet

Came here for breakfast but there was not that much to choose from, maybe it's because of corona. No savory dishes such as sandwiches, only cakes and plain croissants. The vegan croissant was very nice, the matcha latte was just ok, no strong matcha flavour at all. They sold two kinds of sorbet in summer for 1 euro per scoop, which is mindblowingly cheap for munich. I tried maracuja and it was soooo good.

hiha

Points +125

Vegan
12 Aug 2020

Fantastic pies

Made me very happy

MalishaPun

Points +60

Vegan
26 Jan 2020

terrible experience

Terrible food and coffee, yet extremely overpriced. I don‘t know what happened to Lost Weekend...before it was a cozy place with super tasty food.

XOXO

Points +1570

Vegan
05 Jan 2020

Just come for tea or coffee

No food was available. You do have some juices. The place is really cool and very hip vibe.

DiesDas123

Points +25

Vegan
28 Nov 2019

Sadly disappointing since mid 2019

When I went there early 2019 it was just amazing. There were so many options. Many different cakes, awesome chocolate croissants, 3 or 4 different unbelievably delicious sandwiches and some other snacks. There was a cool vibe and very friendly staff. You see, I liked it very very much and thought I found my go to cafe in Munich.
Then I went there after the summer and everything changed. There is a truck in the room which takes way to much space. They moved the counter and now it looks just messy and unprofessional. The menu is written on pieces of paper on the wall. There are maybe 3 different cakes. No sandwiches except one on the daily menu. No croissants. The vibe has also changed a lot. Staff is kind of arrogant. It was very pricy before but for what it is now it's just way to pricy. It's just sad what happened to this place.

Pros: Good place to read/work

Cons: Much less options than earlier, All the good stuff is gone, Not as cosy as before

HannahDi

Points +58

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Pricey but delicious

The coffee and the food are pretty expensive but both are delicious. Sometimes there’s almost no food options available, which is too bad because their chocolate croissants are very delicious! The service is mostly okay, sometimes rather bad.

Pros: Delicious chocolate croissants , Great variety of plant milks

Cons: Expensive , Atmosphere

AnaBanana27

Points +93

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Disappointing

Update:
This place is not what it used to be. Only a couple of options, typically cheap meals, like bread with grilled veggies or pasta with veggies, all cold. It took 10mins to get my coffee that was served cold, there was hair in my food, the cake was like rubbery bread, no taste at all... There was no apology, nothing. Just overall bad experience. Sadly, I won't be going back after I've been there so many times, as every time it's worse than the previous time.
Old review:
What a nice place with such great energy. I loved seeing so many young people enjoying vegan goodies.😄
I had soya latte, teriyaki sandwich and carrot cake and everything was delicious! I wish they had pastry, I'd be happy to take some to go. :-)

Pros: Yummy food, many coffee options, decent prices, lo, 2019 - no pros

Cons: Poor food options, , Poor service, , Definitely not value for money

ChrisTaittam

Points +24

Vegan
08 Sep 2019

My Favourite Café in Munich

Very good coffee, including a broad variety of plant based milks.
The sandwiches were the best of the best, but sadly they are no longer available. Now the food is just alright. The cake is still good, as are the chocolate croissants.

Pros: Very good coffee, , including a broad variety of plant based milk

Cons: Not cheap, Always crowded

Aldork

Points +301

Vegan
14 Aug 2019

No more sandwiches, bagels, anything

There's nothing to eat anymore. Just communal tables for computer work and coffees.

sustainably.vegan

Points +386

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

Absolute favorite cafe

Lost Weekend is an absolutely wonderful place. There's a chilled mood in the air, people and staff are very friendly and the coffee is great, can't tell what drink is my favorite. Definitely try the vegan marble cake!! :)
I love coming here with friends but also enjoying the atmosphere by your own or working here is fine...

Pros: Chilled atmosphere, Amazing drinks and cake, Friendly people and staff

KattiV

Points +235

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Auswahl ist gering

Es gibt keine Sandwiches mehr. Wir hatten die Auswahl aus einem kalten gnocchisalat oder couscous salat. Es gab auch nur noch zwei Sorten trockener Kuchen.
No more sandwiches, only two dishes and two cakes available...

peachum

Points +119

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Lieblingscafé

Nette Bedienungen. Gute und leckere Auswahl an Essen.
Musik ist super.

Sturbock

Points +76

Vegan
25 Jul 2019

Great coffee

It's always super full because it's right next to university. If you manage to find a spot and enjoy your coffee and pastry in the cafe it's a nice atmosphere (sometimes a bit loud though).

They had the recup cups for take away for quite a while but I haven't seen them the last times I was there... I liked the concept of borrowing a cup (you pay for it) and then bringing it back to this cafe or any other one participating in the recup concept.

They had the best food for a while - I went there with a friend every week for the carrot cake and sandwich - but sadly they've changed the caterer. I hope they find back into their old groove cause the last time I went there the selection was sparse and what I chose was a bit bland.

Pros: Many options (depends on the caterer though) , Great coffee , Location is very convenient (U-Bahn and Uni)

Cons: Some items are a bit pricey , Service a bit slow (self service at the counter!), Usually hard or find a place to sit

Dandido

Points +1166

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Nice chill place

I only had a juice here but really loved the atmosphere and music. Would definitely go back again to try some of the pastries.

lilScorpio

Points +4929

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

chilled place

Lost weekend is kind of a students café, when we arrived on sunday afternoon the whole place was crowded by people working with their laptops.
Unfortunately most of the yummy sweets they usually seem to offer where already sold out.
I was really graving that vegan chocolate croissant, I’ve seen on the pictures!
Nevertheless I had a good piece of chocolate vanilla cake and an iced coconut-rice latte with it.
They offer four different kinds of vegan milk options.
You order at the bar and wait for it to take it with you.
One of the employees (two girls) was very friendly, the other not so much.
All in all a nice experience and I definitely would be here on a regular when living in munich!

Pros: nice atmosphere, solid vegan options , affordable

Cons: can be very crowded , Most food sold out at noon already

dorazill

Points +30

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

Absolutes Lieblings Café

Keine Wort mehr.
Die Sandwiches schmecken so als ob sie mit echtem Käse und Fleisch wären. (Aber auf eine gute Weise)
Die Menschen sind nett und man kann gut lernen oder arbeiten. (Viele Studenten) abends gibt es sogar Jazz Abende und vieles mehr. Komme immer super gerne hin ob mit Freunden oder alleine.

Pros: Yummmyyyyyy, Bücher!

JangaNdala

Points +36

Vegan
10 Jun 2019

Yuppie Cafe

I went there with a friend and we both were a little bit disappointed, it was crowded with students using laptops, the seats were uncomfortable and the variety was very little. We ordered 2 big cappuccinos Wich weren't big. The 3 stars for the staff.

paulinadls

Points +22

Vegan
18 May 2019

Good vibes and delicious treats

I love Lost Weekend!! They have really delicious vegan sweets. The only thing is that the vibe isn't so cozy if that's what you're looking for. During the week if you don't have your laptop and study material with you it sometimes feels like you're super out of place haha. But other than that, I love it and really enjoy the events they throw like open mic nights and jazz nights.

Pros: nice vibe, tasty food

Cons: a little pricey

Marys.veganes.essen

Points +179

Vegan
17 May 2019

Immer wieder gerne

Direkt neben der Uni der absolut perfekte Platz um mal beim Essen/Kaffee entspannt zu arbeiten.

Pros: Sandwiches !, Kuchen, belegte Brote, Müsli, heiße Schokolade, Lademöglichkeiten

PaulsBuffet

Points +2688

Vegan
03 Apr 2019

Great breakfast options

This was our first stop on our Munich trip and it raised the bear pretty high.
Breakfast is fantastic and they have great sweet as well as savoury options.

Croissants, banana bread as well as the Philly cheese sandwich and special wrap were absolutely delicious.
Staff were very friendly albeit a bit slow, but we had a great time.

The place is stylish, with some strong hipster vibes and seems to attract a large laptop-crowd due to its proximity to the uni.

QuietBec

Points +196

Vegan
22 Jan 2019

Just what I wanted!

Popular hangout for people working on laptops. Easy and quiet atmosphere. Coffee and hot chocolate were lovely. They had soy, soy vanilla, oat, almond, and rice-coconut milk available. Sandwiches, crossiants and fruit available to buy. Lots of books for sale.

Pros: Does what it says on the tin.

travellingpear

Points +202

Vegan
30 Dec 2018

Groovy Vibes

Really cool crowded cafe with yummy coffee and cakes!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Munich Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Lost Weekend closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 14581 times.