Vegan
American
Western
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Australian
Breakfast

Lord's journey traces back to 2004 when it first began selling fries out of a mobile van; within a year, its flagship outlet was planted. The company has since expanded to operating franchise outlets across Australia and into New Zealand. Its menu offers vegan versions of fast food like burgers, hot dogs, nuggets, onion rings, and fries (chips) in addition to shakes, ice cream, and all-day breakfast foods. Check website for holiday hours. Open Mon-Thu 8:30am-8:00pm, Fri 8:30am-9:00pm, Sat 9:00am-9:00pm, Sun 9:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Lord of the Fries - Southern Cross Station
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by beancurdled

GlennChua

Points +64

Vegan
28 Jan 2024

Avoid at all costs

Overpriced fast food - fries were soggy after a long wait

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Expensive, Not much options

Advertisement

leannem

Points +84

Vegan
25 Jan 2024

Dim sims and hotdog were spot on

Perfectly cooked dim sims were super tasty.
And the hotdog was fresh and yummo. #Veganuary

Pros: Freshly cooked, Fresh bread for hot dog

emilycrumlin

Points +224

Vegan
05 Jan 2024

Always nailing it 💪🏻

Love LOTF! First time trying it in Melbourne and didn’t disappoint😄this time I got the HSP and The Lot Burger 🍔
Highly recommend both, but the burger definitely stood out! So much crammed into one burger, you’ll get your moneys worth for sure!

Pros: Relatively budget friendly , Quality consistently good, Quick

Seatown_vegan

Points +6901

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

Vegan junk food

2nd time visiting here, ordering this time via DoorDash. I got the chicken waffle sandwich which was a tasty #Veganuary

kajabear

Points +500

Vegan
06 Dec 2023

Yummy

I love LOTF. If you like garlic, definitely go for their Parisian sauce and I also recommend the shoestring fries. The chick’n was tasty, though I wouldn’t have expected the nugget texture since they’re advertised as being drumstick 🍗 style. Already looking forward to getting LOTF again.

danhosk

Points +756

Vegan
01 Dec 2023

Meh

If you’re stuck and there isn’t much else around, then this will do the job but other than that go elsewhere. 10 years ago this was elite but not so much anymore with average burgers that are overpriced. They also seem to hire as few people as possible making waits for food a joke.

kelseyjaynex

Points +2738

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Pretty good

Located upstairs at the train station - no seating. We couldn’t resist one last LOTF hit before we headed downstairs to the airport bus. Just what you’d expect from LOTF - no frills fast food. Although it wasn’t the fastest (about 10 min wait) so keep that in mind if you’re in a rush.

Pros: 100% vegan Melbourne icon

Cons: kinda expensive for what it is

leannem

25 Jan 2024

Seating is directly opposite in the food court

fka

Points +80

Vegan
10 Aug 2023

The best hearty & wholesome vegan junk food

SO YUMMY and perfect for on the go. Heaps for options and also super tasty. One of my all time go to places to go. I love the american flare the menu has.

zsanett0820

Points +526

Vegan
22 Jul 2023

😍

Fast food, vegan, delicious, what else could I say? 😁

Pros: Delicious, Location

crispi_1971

Points +639

Vegan
17 May 2023

Tasty but overpriced Junk Food

Tasty but overpriced Junk Food. Prices are in very small text.

Obviously being a stand, there's no seating in an incredibly windy location.


If this is (and 2 other LoTFs) are the 3 of the 10 _BEST_ vegan restaurants in Melbourne, I think that says how bad Melbourne's vegan scene is.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-23

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Often slow service, Expensive, No seating

AmeliaBronger

Points +98

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

It okay

I wouldn’t say it was worth the hype but considering the limited options in Melbourne it’s good.

Pros: Lots of options, Reasonable price

Cons: Pretty average

mrfantastik22

Points +184

Vegan
03 Mar 2023

Quick, Convenient and Cheap

The food is descent and the Waffle Chicken sandwich is 🔥🔥🔥. A good early morning and late night as well. If you pressed for time or need an after bar snack, this is great.

JamieBarr

Points +233

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Convenient location & opens early

Lord of the Fries is in my Top 3 favourite fast food chains in the world. This outlet was exceptionally pleasant.

rpoulova

Points +1539

Vegan
03 Feb 2023

Open early for your brekky!

This branch opens earliest (8:30 am), so I had my breakfast before hopping on a train to explore Melbourne's surroundings. The breakfast combo is a good deal, the bacon&egg muffin was surprisingly good (I wonder how they make the egg!), and so was the hash brown. Junk food, but sometimes you just need it.

Pros: Inexpensive, Open for breakfast, Great choice

Cons: Typical fast food - not everybody's thing, I was a bit struggling to find it

LauraWinston

Points +56

Vegan
02 Dec 2022

Food good but service incredibly slow

Lots of choice for vegan junk food. The quality has really gone downhill and is hit and miss. The service is so slow. Definitely not fast food.

Pros: Lots of choice

Cons: Slow, Quality not consistent

JordanBlower

Points +55

Vegan
08 Oct 2022

Quick and Cheap

Had the hash brown breakfast muffin and it was amazing. Super great service and delicious food.

Pros: Loads of options, Cheap, Friendly service

Cons: Nowhere to sit, Awkward location - difficult to find

GrayHorwitz

Points +1667

Vegan
25 Jun 2022

Quick and cheap fast food

Good option if headed somewhere from the station

YohanⓋ

Points +5631

Vegan
23 Dec 2021

Not bad mushroom burgers

We had the mushroom meat burgers and they were not bad. This place is overpriced for what they offer though. Staff were nice and helpful.

Pros: Not bad mushroom meat burgers.

Cons: Overpriced, Hit and miss with taste

l0vec0urtney

Points +485

Vegan
02 Jul 2020

The Best Ever

Lord of the Fries just get everything right.

The location is PERFECT and also naughty because I used to have to come through this station on my way to work and just couldn't walk past without getting something! The food is always hot and fresh, the staff are lovely and the menu is perfect and all vegan.
Never had any complaints with this store or any LOTF.

Pros: All vegan, TASTY, They sell BEYOND BURGERS

christy1993

Points +827

Vegan
10 Jan 2020

One of the better locations

Ah Lord of the Fries... a vegan heaven. This branch is particularly good and one I have visited many times due to working close by. The nuggets have recently changed due to supplier issues and aren't as great anymore.. but do yourself a favour and get the Phish in a wrap. My absolute go-to with the introduction of wraps and combos etc, and I have tried 90% of the menu. Also treat yourself to the HSP and the poutine/loaded poutine... omg yes. They use barely any plastic which is great, apart from the little sauce containers (ask for sauce on top to avoid this), the shakes and some bottled beverages. Avoid where you can everyone, save the planet! BYO containers etc ❤🌻

Pros: 100% vegan, Vegan fast food! The dream!, Barely any plastic used.. ask for sauce on top

Cons: No seating at this location , Can sit in the food hall across the way, Sometimes long waits due to being at the station

missjester

Points +56

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Tasty dirty vegan food!

Definetely a place for hungover dirty vegan food! The "chicken" nuggets were delish, the burger was ok, a little dry and the bread could have been nicer if it was brioche or something similar. Sweet potato fries were nice!

Pros: Everything is vegan

CamilaSilvaL

Points +5877

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Amazing

Real vegan fast food with delicious options, the shakes and burgers were my favourites. I wish we had something like this in Chile.

Dazbris

Points +875

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Vegan fast food - has to be done!

I have been to Flinders St so many times and ignored this place as I didn’t know it was vegan! Above average friendly staff for a fast food place. The food is most suited to a late night snack after a couple of bevvies! Not the healthiest but a guilty pleasure and I will be coming back. Great work Lord of the Fries! Several locations in the city centre.

country mum

Points +58

Vegan
30 Sep 2018

Friendly Fast Food Kiosk

I love the nuggets, & vegan egg and bacon muffin (available all day). Onion rings are great if you like the sweetness. We love the spicy burger & parma burger. Favourite sauce is American on the side for dipping (we wash and reuse the plastic containers). The oreo cookie thick shakes are made well here and now our favourite is peanut. My little daughter eats a whole Melbourne hot dog
(minus onion) when she is normally very fussy.
Staff here are friendly and efficient.

Pros: Fast, All vegan

Cons: Costs add up for a family.

KateFrancis

Points +35

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

Spicy burger

This is super duper junk food but omg it was so tasty! Had the spicy burger and fries- wow! It was so good that a seagull tried to steal it from my hand! Great value if you want a fast, not so nutritious vegan meal!

Pros: All vegan! , Cheap prices, Fast service

Cons: Unhealthy

Aloo

Points +6644

Vegan
02 Feb 2018

Great for junk food

Convenient location, loads of options and open late. Food is consistently good, great service.

Purekiwi

Points +100

Vegan
06 Nov 2017

Delicious!

Love coming here when I'm craving greasy food. Their burgers, fries and sauces are delicious. This is a great place to take meat eaters as they are often surprised at how good the burgers taste without meat.

Pros: yummy food

Cons: a bit pricey




This page has been viewed 9309 times.