Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Chinese
Buffet
Take-out
Malaysian

Vegetarian restaurant serving a variety of rice and noodles dishes, zichar and snacks. Open Mon 10:00am-9:30pm, Tue-Sun 10:00am-4:30pm, 5:30pm-9:30pm.


Venue map for Living Seed 翠园素食馆
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by Durianwalker

bryonyhickson

Points +931

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Wow!

Stumbled across this restaurant and I’m so glad we did. So so many options of traditional dishes. Massive portions even for a small. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Advertisement

mayraaleida

Points +172

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Nice!

Great place for good food in KK. We ordered from the menu but the buffet looked really god as well.

dester214

Points +526

Vegan
13 Jun 2023

Amazing food

We went here for lunch and immediately decided we wanted to go again for dinner. We had the chicken satay, curry and pork dumplings, ma po tofu, and the chilly prawns. You can indicate of your ordering leaflet you want no egg, less sugar and oil etc. The food tasted amazing, and was not too greasy or salty what is sometimes the case with similar restaurants. We didnt try the buffet, which made it rather expensive but def worth it. Note that the bao and dim sum are not available during the evening

Pros: Amazing food, Good options

Cons: Bit expensive

frankensteinsmonster

Points +1162

Vegan
24 May 2023

Withering seed

FM was disappointed by the quality of the cooking. There was a promising range of vegan Chinese and Malay dishes on the menu many using mock meat but the preparation was not so good and the food tasted bland and one-dimensional. FM thought the chicken satay was ok.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-08

Pros: Good view over Kota Kinabalu bay

Theannamaria

Points +45

Vegan
21 Mar 2023

Great View and Good Food

The water view and service is great. If you eat at the buffet, it is about the same price as the noisy food court options near by. 7 to 10 myr depending on if you order white or brown rice and 3 or 4 options. The food was fresh. The buffet had some different items the 3 times we ate there. English is spoken by several of the staff so it is easy to ask questions.

jazzy.g

Points +362

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

Nice!

Heaps of vegan options, massive portions too. Great view from the dining area. A bit more expensive than other restaurants, but worth it with such a great view and indoor experience.

Pros: Lots of options , Good service , Great location

thesavagefoodie

Points +708

Herbivore
18 Feb 2023

Big & Varied Menu

Was a bit sceptical to try this place after lots of bad reviews but tried it anyway as we wanted a nice restaurant experience for a change. The menu was huge with lots of options. We haven’t tried a laksa since being in Malaysia so we both had a S (the S was definitely plenty in size!) and shared some of the Satay ‘Chicken’ both were delicious and staff were really helpful. Tastiest meal in a while!

Brennesseltee

Points +68

Vegetarian
01 Dec 2022

Eher mittelmäßig

Es wird eine große Auswahl angeboten, aber der Ort ist nicht besonders ansprechend. Die Tischen weisen div Flecken von vorherigen Gästen auf und der Geschmack an sich hatte auch nichts besonderes an sich. Ich habe Gyoza, ein 4-Pilz-Tofugericht genommen

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-01

Pros: Größe Auswahl, Essen kommt schnell

Cons: Keine besondere Atmosphäre , Mittelmäßiger Geschmack

Evisali

Points +148

Vegetarian
25 Nov 2022

Lots of choice

Many many options, all are vegetarian, most of them vegan too. Easy to order with order sheet.
Nice for big groups as the restaurant is very spacious.

masteryeoda

Points +72

Vegan
11 Oct 2022

Poor food standard & service

This app won’t let you 1 star this restaurant but I had a very much 1 star experience unfortunately. I have a severe egg allergy and ordered food that should not contain egg, or so I thought. Pre ordering I confirmed what I ordered with staff was egg free, and when the food arrived (within 5mins so not cooked fresh) I began to have a reaction, therefore not being able to eat the food. When explaining this to staff they simply responded with ‘there’s no egg’, and had to pay the full amount, whilst my throat was closing up.

Pros: A lot of food choices

Cons: Poor staff service, Poor food standards, Cheap and tacky interior

SophY_Travels

Points +398

Vegan
11 Oct 2022

Egg in ‘vegan’ food, incredibly rude staff

Greater awareness of vegan and allergies needed
Despite proving some food had egg in and we couldn’t eat it, they forced us to pay for all of it.
Two waitresses were really rude from start to finish, even before any issues were raised.
Would give 1 star if the app would let me

Pros: Harbour views - but not worth it

Cons: There was hidden egg in 2 dishes, Rudest staff I’ve ever met

amat

Points +29

Vegetarian
29 Aug 2022

Nice location and view

If you don't want to get vegetarian meat (that tastes like real meat), let them know while placing an order. Food is bland (at least ours was). Good drinks. You get your order after 5-10 minutes only.

Pros: drinks, fast service

Cons: bland taste

RSD

Points +482

Vegan
18 Aug 2022

Great view

Great view overlooking the water - although it's inside behind a glass window. No buffet at dinner - big menu with a lot of mock meats. Food was bland. Fresh juice watered down (although this isn't uncommon in Borneo).

Charlie.

Points +812

Vegan
23 Jun 2021

Strategic Location with Amazing Ocean View!

Convenient - strategically situated in Suria Sabah shopping mall in CBD. Very spacious, with amazing sea view where you can watch the sunset! Lotsa of choices, be sure to remind the dishes to be made vegan.

Just few tips to share...

- Deep fried mushrooms dishes are not vegan (contains egg)
- Tom Yum and Laksa dishes contains dairy
- Red Bean Biscuits (Dim Sum) is not vegan (contains dairy - they brush milk the pastry with milk)
- Remember to request for Eggless / Local Tofu (it's quite common that 2 types of tofu are offered in Chinese Vegetarian Restaurant so be sure to ask)
- Lion Mane Mushrooms are not vegan (contains dairy - quite common in most Chinese Vegetarian restaurants so please ask!)

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-23

Pros: Great View

Durianwalker

Points +1761

Vegan
31 Jan 2020

big place with big options

delicious soup Laksa on menu. also have prepared foods ready to eat. epic ocean views. in a big mall.

Pros: lots of choices, menu and prepared items too




This page has been viewed 6993 times.