5
  • REMOVED: Little Plum

  • (7)
    3

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Japanese
Western
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Not labelled but staff understand what vegan means and can offer suggestions. Near to Miyanoura port and is frequented by foreign visitors. Offers Japanese food plus some Western dishes. Removed September 2022: Limited vegan options.


Venue map for Little Plum
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by saretap

Riceball

Points +46

Vegan
23 Sep 2022

Did not accept vegans, inaccurate opening hours

Were not willing to accommodate a request for vegan food - explained in Japanese, showed a Japanese vegan food card, said even plain rice would do, but they said no. Also, the first night I went they were closed even though the opening hours on Google and happy cow said they were opening. Definitely call ahead!

Advertisement

caine

Points +18

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

Tasty - friendly & affordable

Friendly staff. Several vegan options. Showed the waiter my ‘I AM VEGAN’ sign thing in Japanese on my phone and they knew right away. I had the Chinese tofu with rice - I don’t think it gets much better on Naoshima.

Pros: Staff spoke basic English and understood veganism, Affordable (around 1000JPY for a meal)

HistoricalMarkers

Points +222

Vegetarian
26 May 2019

Cute and convenient

Varied enough menu that you will find something that suits. I had the minestrone soup and French fries, which hit the spot, with a melon soda float. Not a destination restaurant, but your veggie options on Naoshima are very limited.

spinachtots

Points +41

Vegetarian
15 May 2019

Delicious vegetarian options

Staff kindly made their yakisoba vegetarian for me, and is was excellent. Very filling. Cucumber in sesame dip was particularly excellent. Also quite a few other vegetarian options at good price

dktahara

Points +34

Vegetarian
19 Apr 2019

Super friendly and will suggest substitutions

Stopped by to ask if curry had meat (yes, premixed), and then had the host say they could make mabo tofu with mushrooms instead of meat. And then that they could remove the meat from yakisoba. She even proactively didn’t put bonito flakes on it, assuming we were veg and not pesc

Pros: Friendly, Omelet and some other sides are already veg, Many entrees can be made veg or vegan

arbacadarba

Points +94

Vegan
02 Nov 2017

Few vegan options

Cute little cafe but has very few vegan options (probably on par with your average restaurant in Japan). After talking to the waitress and cooks, only vegan items were steamed edamame, raw cucumber, and raw tofu with soy sauce. Contrary to previous review, the mapo doufu and other items had fish sauce.

saretap

Points +75

Vegan
06 Oct 2017

Happy to find, several choices on request

The staff speak decent English & understood what was meant by vegan (always having an 'I'm vegan, I don't eat...' card in Japan helps). We were told we could eat several of the dishes and opted for the Chinese tofu, yakisoba noodles, bread, potatoes and tomato salad. They also had a few other salad dishes and offered us a variation of another tofu dish. Prices are reasonable.

Pros: Located near the harbour, English speaking staff, Vast menu

Cons: Not labelled options




This page has been viewed 1501 times.