Vegan-friendly
Organic
Raw
Western
Delivery
Fusion
Gluten-free
Honey
Australian

Food is gluten-free and vegan with the exception of bee pollen in a couple of smoothies. The kitchen makes everything from-scratch, including kimchi and kraut, nut milks and juices, sprouting nuts and seeds, dressings, and nut cheese. Example of items offered are sprouted bread, kimchi pancake, waffles and Vietnamese crepe, raw caramel slice, and cacao raspberry brownie, and triple layer chocolate cake. Est. 2014 as Little Bird Organics. Confirmed open May 2020. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-4:00pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-4:00pm. Kitchen closes about 3pm.


Venue map for Little Bird Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

69 Reviews

First Review by AllyG

SaraNorlin

Points +2869

Vegan
17 Jan 2024

Lovely space to have a meal

Beautiful food, space, and presentation. The granola was very good as were the juices

Advertisement

Rich_bb

Points +40

Vegan
04 Jan 2024

Great food!

Lovely vibe, friendly staff, delicious food😄

Gaynor1

Points +397

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

If we lived here this would be our local

Such great food with considered flavour profiles.
Lots of dishes with different fermentation- from breads, to pickles and vegan cheese.
So delicious.
Big portions but not heavy - left feeling full and satisfied without the heaviness

Pros: Great flavours with fresh ingredients , Big menu, mostly vegan, offering savoury and sweet, Relaxed atmosphere

Vee23

Points +56

Vegan
02 Dec 2023

Excellent food and cakes

Visited on a busy Friday afternoon and had the kimchi pancakes and key lime pie. Wish I had taken photos because the food is really incredible, staff were friendly and helpful and there were so many options! They also had a range of premade oats/muesli/sweets/snacks available and we picked up some muesli which was fantastic in the morning. The cakes/pies/tarts in the cabinet all looked incredible and we will definitely be back to try more of the menu!

Pros: Lots to try, Delicious food, Savory and sweet options

Lvr

Points +117

Vegan
18 Nov 2023

The best in Auckland

The best vegan, raw vegan and plant based food in Auckland.

VeganSoapDude

Points +7104

Vegan
24 Oct 2023

Nice coffee, nice food

The food was well presented. I asked what wasn't vegan and they said they consider themselves "plant based"... Which is fine, but also means they use bee pollen in some smoothies, so unfortunate. The kimchi pancake was large, looked beautiful, and was tasty. They have a large and varied menu and I'll definitely be back.

Pros: Large, varied menu , Nice coffee

Cons: Not 100% vegan

Unibrows97

Points +417

Vegan
09 Oct 2023

Kimchi pancakes are a MUST

I went with my family for breakfast on my second day here. Everything was awesome, especially the kimchi pancakes! Super yummy

Pros: Matcha lattes available, Great selection

AimeeDay

Points +34

Vegan
29 Aug 2023

My fav cafe in the world

I moved to London last year and have done lots of travel in Europe and the UK and I can say that Little Bird is still the best cafe I have been too! The options are always so healthy and delicious if you are in Auckland you must go here, miss it lots especially the smoothies, Vietnamese crepe and matcha! ☺️🙃

Anne000

Points +342

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Sweet

I had an amazing breakfast here. Scones were so goood.

Pros: Food, Location, Wheather🙂

Orion

Points +1415

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Delicious and healthy

Great place, busy, good service, healthy and tasty

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-18

madelinekrause

Points +1936

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

🐥🫶🫶

vegan and gf food but def expensive..not sure if it’s anything special for the price for quite small servings but nonetheless..cute little area and staff friendly. overall not a favourite but still nice option with food i can enjoy🫶

VeganBLS

Points +57

Vegan
09 Feb 2023

a lovely atmosphere & menu

lovely exposed brick interior, an extensive drinks menu, and funky food options. note: this is labelled as a vegetarian restaurant on this app but it’s fully vegan as far as we could tell!

we tried:
- the kimchi pancakes
- the matcha waffles
- reishi latte
- hojicha latte

Pros: wide range of options, sweet & savoury, great interior , the cakes at the counter looked great!

ilikevegg

Points +341

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Healthy feel good food

Little bird doesn’t disappoint. So glad to have them in the area! All the food will leave you feeling great, super healthy and nutritious. Amazing raw food treats too and smoothies are delicious. Must visit place!

Eli.orm

Points +90

Vegan
08 Dec 2022

Worth a visit

We ordered a Cacao superfood smoothie, two bird bowls, a Turmeric chai latte to have in and it was absolutely gorgeous. The bowls and smoothie were incredible and 100% worth it.

We got some cakes to take away but haven't tried them yet, although they look insane.

Pros: Lots of options - all vegan, Standard prices, Lovely staff

Ascoles

Points +384

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Aesthetically Pleasing

An interior design you’ll enjoy dwelling in. Ordered the New Leaf Hibiscus kombucha and Vietnamese crepe. Was expecting something like a crispy Banh Xeo but was a fluffier cross between a pancake and a crepe. A generous portion that will keep you going throughout the day. Nice combination of fragrant herbs and vegetables but would have liked some additional sweetness, maybe from a sweet potato, purée or sauce, to complement the tang of the fermented foods.

Pros: Fresh, Variety, Ambience

vacafeliz74

Points +77

Vegan
08 Nov 2022

Reason enough to return to NZ

We had read reviews about little bird and made the effort to cross Aukland to try them out and it was bliss. Both the lunches and desserts went way beyond expectations.

Pros: Good value, Imaginative, Great cakes!

Cons: A little too far from Devon, England

deadendjob

Points +1825

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Tasty healthy food

Tasty food, reasonable prices, friendly customer service and doggo friendly.
Parking can be a bit of a pain (street is pretty narrow), so you're probably better to park on Ponsonby Rd if possible.

SpotNZ

Points +41

Vegan
07 Aug 2022

Guaranteed Healthy Delicious Meals

For a healthy delicious lunch or dinner you can’t go past Little Bird Kitchen. The lack of easy parking is more than made up for by the quality of food and drinks. There are snacks and meals to take away as well. My favourite Vegan restaurant in Auckland.

Pros: Healthy, Delicious, Recipes that are time consuming to make at home

Cons: Often packed, Last 2 visits the staff were pretty poor, Brought wrong meal last time

kittylovesjazz

Points +353

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Little Bird, Big Flavour!

How wonderful to find this cafe! Lovely space and the food has excellent flavours. Oh Lordy the flavours. Massive cabinet with a large range of raw sweets. Attentive service which made for an overall great experience.

Pros: All Vegan, Thoughtful menu, The sweets. Egad.

DavidCordtz

Points +70

Fruitarian
17 Jan 2022

Vegan Heaven

Love the food and the service so friendly #Veganuary

Gravenhale

Points +1100

Vegan
11 Dec 2021

Hit and miss

I’ve had some really nice food here but also some not great food. The kumara waffles I had once were mindblowingly good, and I really love the green bowl. However some food is sub-par, like a “burger” with lettuce buns which was super expensive for what it was (however the kale chips on the side were nice). I also had some tacos once which had a really weird flavour. The coffee is ok. I had was a green smoothie last time, it was very healthy-tasting but not very tasty - had to force it down 😅

Pros: Pretty much vegan

Cons: Pricey, Health precedes taste sometimes

joherbertdoyle

Points +134

Vegan
22 Jul 2021

Lots of choice but beware of the honey!

I really liked this place - there are lots of menu items to choose from and they offer a range of drinks and cakes. The cafe has a whole food angle so the food is pretty healthy which is nice. The staff are also really friendly. I can only give a 4 * though as one of the staff mentioned they use honey - so be sure to check first if ordering anything where that could be unclear. Otherwise all good!

happyyase

Points +510

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

Food is good but I don't like the vibe

When i was there for a drink takeaway order and usually I am in a rush they take a lot of time till someone would start making my order. I would give my order and then it takes 5 minutes till someone would finally start. But there are always at least two people stand their and just chat while my kids wait in the car.
The Stuff and even some guest have a way of looking at people on how they are dressed which I don't like. The food is good I like their concept. And the coffee doesn't taste good with their milk it taste very sour and bitter. Not every coffee roast goes well with any plant based milk. Must be chosen wisely.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-12

Pros: Delicious healthy food

Cons: Some guest are arrogant looking at others , Coffee doesn't go well with their milk, Orders take too long

SagaVigreBohinen

Points +946

Vegan
28 May 2021

One of my favorite places

The food here is so fresh and feels a bit healthier than other places. What I really like is that the portion size is decent, even though it’s healthy food. I can highly recommend the spiced hot chocolate with oat milk, and the açaí bowl was actually filling 😍

Pros: Health focused , Good portion sized , Organic

Cons: Gets quite busy around 11, hard to find a table

FatGirlTravels

Points +74

Vegan
11 Aug 2020

Love love love little bird!

An absolute dream of a place for gluten free vegan food.

We went for breakfast and ordered the omelette and waffles benedict. Both were amazing, and incredibly filling. Huge selection of delicious looking cakes in the cabinet but we were far too full. A good excuse to go back and try everything!

Staff were lovely and it's a great chilled out space.

Pros: All gluten free, Delicious

Cons: A little pricey (but not by Auckland standards!)

LenaBaumert

Points +391

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

Foodporn!

The Kale-Caesar salad was super delicious. The portion was huge and the service very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant itself is very trendy and in a young and vibrant neighborhood.
Hence the prices are higher.
Still, absolutely recommended!

Pros: Big portions, comfortable restaurant, , Clean,

Cons: Bit pricey

RhiNerys

Points +125

Vegan
18 Jan 2020

Excellent

The slices, pies and desserts are magnificent.




This page has been viewed 17739 times.