Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Chinese
Indian
Delivery
Malaysian

Chinese name 欣莉素食馆. Cozy environment. Downstairs serves local fast food concept, cash only. Upstairs serves a la carte menu and accepts credit cards. Offers fried kuey teow, assam laksa, rojak, vietnam roll, red wine mee suah, spicy la mien, juices, and more. Closed Monday except on 1st & 15th of Chinese lunar calendar ( then will close the next day). Dairy is in some dishes and noted as ‘L’ for ‘lactose’ on the menu. Open Tue-Sun 8:00am-8:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Lily's Vegetarian Kitchen - Georgetown
© OpenStreetMap contributors

49 Reviews

First Review by lavanya

EugeneNyunt

Points +72

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

Spacious seating and extensive menu

I went there just once and had a rice bowl with veggies and tofu. The portion size was a little small, but thankfully I wasn't up for anything too substantial. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the items were clearly labelled - "L" for lactose; other items were vegan. An Apartheid-free Palestine, from the River Jordan to the Mediterranean Sea!🇵🇸

Pros: Extensive menu, Clearly labelled food items, Lots of seating

Cons: Portion size a tad smallish

Advertisement

Fel

Points +152

Vegetarian
09 Dec 2023

Great food and friendly staff

It may be abit awkward when first entering the restaurant as it is quite large and you can’t see into it until you open the door.

BUT food is good! I loved the Penang laksa.
I visited twice and will be back again when I’m back!

Pros: Many food varieties selection, Mainly vegan, labeled with L (for lacto), Friendly staff (but please! Smile first!)

david_droes

Points +3363

Vegan
09 Sep 2023

Tasty food, weird atmosphere

Tasty local food in a classic, somewhat uncomfortable setting. You order via an order form, bring it to the counter, pay and get a number that you take to a table. They then bring food and drinks to you. The chairs are so uncomfortable but the tasty food makes up for it. Lots of local classics and specialties! Tell them you eat vegan before ordering!

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Environment rather uncomfortable to dine in

Here.To.Travel_Jade

Points +8653

Vegan
11 Jun 2023

Good range of food

We came here quite a lot and tried a wide variety of different Malaysian/Chinese foods and also some western food. Very popular with locals. Reasonably priced

YoannHouareau

Points +183

Vegetarian
09 May 2023

Very good restaurant with a friendly welcome

Very nice restaurant with a very welcoming and very warm staff who offers a very varied menu.

Pros: Cheap , Welcoming and kind staff, The taste of food

Cons: Nothing

SophieStephens

Points +48

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Delicious food for cheap

We got five plates of food for 55 myr and everything was full of flavour and the staff were really lovely😄

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Lovely staff , Cheap

AnniDidde

Points +120

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

Large selection of malay dishes

The food was very delicious. I tried malay food for the first time as I wasn’t sure about vegan or vegetarian options at the other places. The food was very good for a cheap price. Also the selection is huge, they also have a few western options. Easy order system and nice staff. Highly recommend this place.

Pros: A lot of vegan and vegetarian options

Tinmalayasia

Points +35

Vegetarian
18 Sep 2022

Delicious

Lots of choice and good value for money.

Fosefine

Points +98

Vegan
30 Jun 2022

Huge variety of vegan food

I went twice since the food was awesome and the staff really friendly. Almost everything was vegan, except of some dishes marked with an L for Lactose. The deserts are awesome too.

FrankieW

Points +2514

Vegan
06 Mar 2020

Simple and delicious

Well presented and easy to follow menu.

Large range of vegetarian options, also catering for vegans.

Particularly enjoyed the Poppiah, a type of rice flour roll, filled like a wrap. The Laksa was also authentic.

Staff are relaxed and helpful if you need their assistance.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-22

Pros: Mixed cuisine, Inexpensive, Fast service

avivai

Points +22

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Best in Penang!

This is a local hot-spot! It's usually very busy, but the staff is efficient and very helpful! Here you'll find food at local prices (from 5-10 ringgit) and everything is super delicious! Super recommend!

Pros: Mostly vegan, inexpensive, local hotspot

xbalanque

Points +87

Vegan
08 Feb 2020

Not worth it

The food was not that good, the staff were not that friendly or hospitable and the place was not that clean. I tried three different dishes, of which one was burnt, one has some really weird taste (kind of like cow milk that has gone bad) and the third was quite ok. Not the best experience, but at least it was very cheap.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-08

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Suboptimal food, Brusque staff

yvonnelohby

Points +28

Vegan
04 Nov 2019

local food turn vegan

Quite a list of options to choose from. Food is average, place is simple n clean.

maisiekake

Points +170

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Delicious

Small menu but the food was delicious! Must try!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Yummy food , Free wifi

gdysgysgyfhusft

13 Oct 2019

AnnaLM

Points +40

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Great choices!

Lovely cafe with a great mix of vegan and vegetarian dishes. The majority of the vegetarian dishes can be made vegan which is great. Real mix of food - from pizza, pasta, and traditional Malaysian food.

Peace ...

Points +3136

Vegetarian
07 Mar 2019

#SheGoes : A Solo Traveller finding Vegetarian Food …

Spur-of-the-moment short trip, so didn’t really plan where to find Veg*n food in Penang. A quick check from HappyCow website for the Vegetarian Eateries there. Some aren’t in the places I want to go to, forget about it. Just in case, I’ve some time to go, so noted 1-2 Vegetarian Eateries within the same vicinity (if one of them closed, still another choice). Other important information are opening hours and closed day.

With some time on my last day, I ventured to LiLy’s Vegetarian Kitchen via public bus (Bus 101) from Beach Resort to GeorgeTown (Komtar area). Need to do some walking, but not too difficult to locate.

Ordered Penang Laksa (MYR$6.5) and Chee Cheong Fun (MYR$6), simply love the food there! Finally, tasted a real good Vegetarian Penang Laksa and I like the Chee Cheong Fun’s sauce very much. Lotus Rice (MYR$9) for takeaway.

PetraTataiChaloupka

Points +37

Vegetarian
19 Feb 2019

The best!

Really good food, menu with pics, lovely staff that can and will help you choose and explain anything. Prices 6-9rm per dish, very good value. Was pretty crowded when we were there, seems popular among locals. Sit down place but you order and pay at the counter.
We got confused at first as it seems there are two entrances (almost next to each other), but it is the one on the far right. Lovely people and yummy meal.

Pros: Photo menu, Delicious, Great value

Cons: no cons at all

Djmarsh89

Points +238

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

Cheap grub

Simple place selling cheap Asian veg food. Big on their mock meats if you’re into that.

Pros: Lots of vegan stuff, Cheap

lauramary11

Points +414

Vegan
24 Jan 2019

Bit too meaty...

Tried the rendang after having a great one made of tempeh previously.
This one was made with mock meat and was so chewy and fleshy that I struggled to eat it! If you miss meat and are vegan for environmental reasons this is a place to go! But if you’re put off by the idea of eating flesh maybe not...

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Too meaty for me!

RaymondYeong

Points +19

Vegetarian
01 Jan 2019

Great place

Very tasty and good service

Pros: Excellent food service

DZet

Points +976

Vegetarian
11 Dec 2018

good times

Only ate really good stuff here:

Burger
Laksa (!!)
pasta oven dish

all top notch, and not expensive. Good times.

LeonTan

Points +422

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2018

Variety of penang local dishes

I love Lily’s kitchen because the menu inclusive of many local dishes(in vegetarian). The speed to serve food also very quick

DavidJanuszkiewicz

Points +118

Vegan
25 Jul 2018

3 years on and just as perfect.

I went here for my first meal in Penang in 2015. Perfect food, served very quick. Today 3 years on. A new tradition, I went back to Lily’s for my first meal in Penang. It was just as I remembered. The laksa is amazing!

Pros: Large menu, Cheap

chinaamber

Points +253

Vegan
20 Dec 2017

Good budget meal.

I had the sambal fish set which was perfectly edible if a little cold. The service was quick and friendly and the interior was clean. Would eat there again if in the area.

Pros: lots of choice and cheap

Cons: food not that hot

sanluvegan

Points +200

Vegan
11 Dec 2017

Great food, good price

We came here twice, and the first time the waitress said that everything was vegan and I was really excited. Although I had read a few reviews about the place I didn't really believe them, and the next time we came we asked about some of the western items and it turned out they do contain dairy, so beware. They don't seem to use egg though, and all the dishes we ordered were vegan (from what I could tell).

Some of the food we ordered was satay, a few noodle dishes and fried rice. Would come back!

Pros: Good price, Tasty food, Many options

Cons: Not clear what's vegan and what's not

Bob Sultan

Points +649

Vegetarian
15 Nov 2017

Excellent Vietnamese Rolls

This place is a great mix of value and quality food. The Vietnamese Rolls were great, very fresh, and a larger portion than you often get. I also had the Penang Char Okay Teow. Very good. The place is clean and comfortable. It holds a lot of people, I'd say seating for at least eighty, and it was packed at lunchtime. If you're staying at the Sunway Hotel, it's a two minute walk. Very close to the Times Square Mall.

Pros: good food, good value, clean comfortable place

sarabelcan

Points +72

Vegetarian
12 Sep 2017

Many options

Large menu with a mix of Western and Eastern dishes. The menu displays pictures of all the dishes making it easier to choose if you're not familiar with the names. Very good value for money.




This page has been viewed 24598 times.