Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Beer/Wine
Take-out
European
French

Vegetarian coffee place that serves all organic food and drink including vegan cakes. Has soy milk. Lunch served 12-2pm. Try the house-made bread. English spoken. Open Mon-Fri 08:30-19:00, Sat-Sun 09:30-18:00.


Venue map for L' Ecomotive
© OpenStreetMap contributors

47 Reviews

First Review by Poundie

Odin2018

Points +30

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

Great café and new brunch

L'ecomotive brings a nice VG touch to the area around gare Saint Charles. Several vegan options for drinks and food. Inquire to the staff if you want to know if VG dishes can be veganized. A new brunch option is now available during weekends (since January 2024). The staff is quite welcoming. This address has become an obligatory stop for me whenever I visit Marseille.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-11

Pros: Staff is welcoming, Food is tasty, Situated right next to the main station

Advertisement

StraightAndAlert

Points +54

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

Awesome spot with some vegan options

Second time here and as pleasant as the first time. I had a vegan cake, apple juice and vegan meal with rice cauliflower green salad with dressing and some fresh veggies salad.
Friendly staff, good portions and fast service. I'll come back again next time I'm in Marseille !

Pros: Good food, Friendly staff, Ok prices

Cons: A bit more vegan options would be great

Aapie

Points +192

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Always a good stop when we have to wait for the train!

I suggested l'Ecomotive, because we had an hour wait for the TGV to Lyon

We already knew that
you have to climb some stairs for this. But the view from the station over the city is beautiful!

I saw that the vegan cake was sold out and that there were only vegan cookies.

So I took an oat cappuccino for myself and Grenadine juice for Joris, as I'm not a big fan of cookies

But after 10 minutes the vegan cheesecake turned out to be replenished! I was very happy!!
Then of course I ordered a piece of cheesecake (with lemon and blueberries)
with extra grenadine juice.

I thought it was a wonderful combination.
The cake was magic to me! 🫐🍋🍰
It had a good crust and a delicious fresh-sweet substance

We enjoyed the terrace and the people around us. It was very cosy.

Advice: You never know how crowded this place is and which cakes are left. So please never be disappointed,
only be surprised! A veggie restaurant close to this station is great in itself!

AnnArai

Points +1319

Vegan
02 Mar 2023

Simple and good

If possible don't go between 12 and 1 pm as it was really crowded when we went there. However we waited until a table was free. It was worth the wait. There were 2 vegan dishes available. It was simple but really tasty and fresh.

Jeanne_C

Points +1307

Vegan
26 Jan 2023

Quelques options véganes

Très bel endroit, ambiance détendue au pied de la sublime Gare Saint-Charles.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-26

Cons: Végétarien pour un lieu écolo, c’est pas sérieux!, Pas assez d’options véganes

Kittybiscuit

Points +7469

Vegan
10 Nov 2022

We were too early for lunch

We had a train change here but we’re too early for lunch. They had a couple of vegan items like biscuits and carrot cake. So we got a couple of chocolate chip biscuits and a coffee. They were very nice and it is convenient near the station. A shame I didn’t get to try lunch though.

weganwilly

Points +59

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Delicious!

very cosy Café at the other side of the beautiful staires around the train station! Very friendly staff, a lot of choices for people with vegan oe gluten free nutrition :)

Pros: perfevt hot chocolate with oat milk

Cons: A little bit loud outside because of the cars

JeanneDarcel

Points +25

Vegan
23 Sep 2022

Your best option by the train station!

Really nice café just in front of the central train station.
I got a chai latte and a chia verrine for breakfast and a piece of cake to go. There were only 1 veg and 1 vegan cake options when I arrived at 10am and I was expecting more but it was really tasty.

Pros: Absolutely delicious

Cons: Long wait for coffee in the morning , Not enough choice

VeganMtp

Points +40

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

Excellent restaurant en face de la gare

Excellent restaurant en face de la gare
Super staff

Pros: Des options vegans de qualité , Bonne proportion

cecile_b

Points +2629

Vegan
30 Aug 2022

Nice place, home-like food

This place is so nice to have lunch, just a coffee. It's located near the train station and, in my experience, it's not always easy to get access to vegan food in these areas.

The food is good and simple, made with fresh produce. The vegan dessert I tried were delicious !

SophieGadb

Points +1600

Vegan
08 Jul 2022

Café écolo et citoyen à deux pas de la gare

Lieu très chaleureux, on ressent la vocation citoyenne. Bel espace pour vivre une immersion marseillaise le temps d'un café!

Pros: Plusieurs options véganes , Lait de soya et d'avoine!

cookiemonster

Points +1135

Vegan
22 Dec 2021

Great, friendly café near the train station

Spacious, friendly, with vegan treats and right near the train station. What more could you want?

Pros: Great location, Friendly

Marie-CélinePiednoir

Points +64

Vegetarian
10 Dec 2021

Lieu très agréable et bonnes options veggie!

Accueil très sympathique. Lieu agréable. Bons plats vegan/veggie (merci!). J’ai testé le « chilli sin carne ». 12€ le plat copieux le midi. Peut être un bon spot pour remote working.

whepper

Points +1165

Vegan
12 Nov 2021

Coffee & vegan cake!

I had coffee and a delicious vegan cake at this vegetarian coffee place. Apparently they serve meals later in the day. Conveniently located next to the grand staircase to St. Charles train station.

Pros: Vegan options available , Good coffee and plant milks

Cons: A bit messy inside

Samwell

Points +41

Vegan
02 Nov 2021

Great cafe with really nice staff

Spent a long time in here while I had a long transfer of trains. Couldn't recommend it enough for the cosy feel of the place with great priced coffee and cakes. Delicious soup and the chia seeds soaked in plant milk is such a great idea I'll definitely be doing that sometime. It's so close to the train station that it's worth going to for a quick coffee if you're on a transfer

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-30

Pros: Really reasonable prices

Cons: Should add more vegan options for cake and lunch

PenelopeF

Points +640

Vegan
12 Oct 2021

Convenient location and good options.

I had the most creamy oatmilk chai ever! The vegan pudding and cafe latte were good too.

KristinaPeters

Points +85

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Cosy

Nice atmosphere and good food! Happy to find a place with vegan milk :)

vwlewis

Points +396

Vegetarian
16 Jul 2021

16 juillet 2021 - toujours ouvert toujours délicieux

Malgré l'info, c'est toujours ouvert et toujours un plaisir d'y aller. Mon arrêt préféré à côté de la gare saint Charles!

Updated from previous review on 2015-10-09

kattyratty18

Points +362

Vegan
29 Dec 2020

Closed

Looks permanently closed as of 29 December 2020.

cynicaloptimist

Points +1379

Vegan
30 Aug 2020

Tasty food prepared with care

I stopped off here with my partner as we had two hours before a train. I loved the chilled out atmosphere and ambiance in this place - and loved looking at the art prints strung around the walls.

The food was great - we both had salads for lunch which were filling and delicious- a really nice dressing and excellent cooking of the vegetables. We also got some vegan cake and a hot chocolate - non-dairy milks available include soya and oat and another - no additional charge for requesting them. The staff were lovely and there is a really community feel about the place. Would recommend to anyone in or visiting Marseille!

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-30

Pros: Tasty food, Well priced, Excellent ambiance

Ana_Jgy

Points +16

Vegan
07 Aug 2020

Yummy, friendly, cozy

Very cozy ambiente with outdoor space, the stuff is super friendly and welcoming. Always vegan cake and dinners, super yummy and delicious. Everything is organic, but still not too expensive! I recommend :)

Pros: yummy food, friendly stuff, cozy ambiente

TaraLeighJames

Points +63

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Cute place next to the station

I got there 30 mins before closing so there was no coffee or food but I took home the coconut and passion fruit cake which was delicious

JudithEberhardt

Points +75

Mostly Veg
22 Feb 2020

Mein Lieblingladen in Marseille

Es gibt für mich nichts Schöneres als in der Stadt anzukommen und Schlange zu stehen für ein frisch gekochtes Mittagessen. Es war immer sehr lecker. Nur einmal war ich zu spät, um auswählen zu können: sie kochen nicht nach, man muss also etwas flexibel bleiben. Ich empfehle das Café/Restaurant auf alle Fälle gerne weiter, super nette Leute, die gerne alle Fragen beantworten, wenn die Stoßzeit vorbei ist. Wer die Hygienestandards aus Deutschland gewöhnt ist, sollte nicht dort essen. Geschirr wird direkt unter der Küchenzeile gespült, wo offen gekocht wird.

PaulineHeyte

Points +20

Vegan
13 Nov 2019

Great !

We went for coffee and lunch. It's a vegetarien cantine restaurant and about half of the options are vegan as well. We took the two different vegan options and both of them were great. Atmosphere is super chill/cosy and warm, price was really good.

Flora96

Points +24

Vegan
09 Nov 2019

Lovely place

Nice place and lovely staff!
I had the soup of the day and it was yummy.
Unfortunately they use eggs.


Updated from previous review on 2019-11-09

Pros: Lovely staff

Cons: They use eggs

ViajerosVeganos

Points +1226

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Cowork and some nice vegan plate options

Perfecto lugar para instalarte toda la mañana en Marsella. Funciona como cowork, en las mañanas hay cafés con cosas dulces (probamos el pudding que estaba exquisito), y a la hora de almuerzo, opciones de menús. Comimos un plato grande, muy abundante con ensalada, quinoa con verduras y una especie de pastel de papas muy rico. El lugar es rico, tiene buen wifi y la gente buena onda.

Perfect place to seat and work all morning in Marseille. It is a cowork in the mornings were there are coffees with sweet things (we tried the pudding that was deli), and at lunchtime, menu options plates. We ate a large plate, very abundant with salad, quinoa with vegetables and a kind of very rich potato pie. The place is good size, has good wifi and cool staff.

MathildeAudeMagnier

Points +38

Vegan
30 Oct 2019

Good and nice staff

Very cute place near the main station. Staff is lovely. They have cakes before 12pm




This page has been viewed 11558 times.