Vegan-friendly
Organic
European
Austrian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegetarian except for fish. Nice service and ambiance. Reported still operating as of Dec 2015. Open Mon-Fri 11:00-15:00, 17:30-22:30.


Venue map for Lebenbauer
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by judas_77

Jertz

Points +66

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

It was a dream

Serves one of the best vegan food in vienna. Everythig was a dream. Quite expensive but definitely worth the money.

Advertisement

jvoogt

Points +127

Vegan
09 May 2023

Perfectly delicious

Everything we had here was simply excellent

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Some fish for non-vegetarians in your party

joel_laun

Points +1949

Vegan
03 Jan 2023

Fancy place for special occasions

My girlfriend and i like to come here for special occasions, like birthdays etc (because it's rather expensive). They have really tasty food and for most dishes it's no problem to "veganize" them. I can really recommend this place (the staff is also always very nice).

Pros: Always vegan options, Nice staff, Good location in city center

Cons: Not all vegan, Pricy

MaxFrVegan

Points +985

Vegan
24 Sep 2021

Elegant

Really appreciate the venue.
There is some options for vegan, more vegetarians.
But the food is really interesting in taste and flavored.
For 3 dishes I payed 25 euros which is pretty fair for this kind of restaurant.

Loupy

Points +143

Vegan
31 Jan 2020

Stylish restaurant

Visited this restaurant on our first night in Vienna as sadly it’s only open Monday to Friday.
It’s quite small, so it’s best to book.
The service was excellent, don’t attempt to pour your own wine! It was reminiscent of a fine dining restaurant, but without the high prices.
The food was mostly vegan or vegetarian and options were clearly marked.
The atmosphere was relaxed, there was a dog under the table next door who we didn’t even notice until it was leaving.

Pros: Quality establishment for a special night out , Vegan options clear, Fantastic service

VeeraVee

Points +118

Vegan
10 Oct 2019

Great food - watch out for hidden charges

The food was very tasty, good wine also. Service staff wonderful. However we were charged around extra €5, when we enquiried what it was we were informed it was a “cover fee” for bread etc., which we never asked for. It was quite an upsetting end to an otherwise lovely evening.

Pros: Tasty food, Staff

Cons: Expensive , Hidden charges

wakounig

Points +36

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

mostly veggi with vegan options

Top restaurant with great Ambiente, local fresh food and a good service. A lot of vegan options, mostly food is vegetarian. Great also for business purposes

la_cate

Points +60

Vegetarian
01 Mar 2019

Stilvolles Ambiente, sehr gute Küche, freundliche Bedienung

Sehr empfehlen ist der marinierte Tofu mit Currygemüse und Quinoa. Das (nicht vegane) Schokodessert war ebenfalls großartig!

Pros: Erlesene Gerichte, Sehr freundliche Bedienung

Cons: Preisintensiv, Reservieren empfohlen

cwl666

Points +1359

Vegan
18 Feb 2019

Great food and pretty vegan friendly

Food was absolutely delicious. Vegan friendly but not labeled so you have to ask. They bring bread dips which are not vegan, so that's kind of frustrating. Waitstaff is very attentive and professional. I don't like their policy (which wasn't obvious) to charge for water, as we came very thirsty and ended up spending almost 10 euro on water. Other than that very happy with our experience.

Pros: great food

Cons: charge for water

JoanaSampaio

Points +75

Vegan
27 Sep 2018

Fancy place - nothing special

It was a good environment and very good service however the food wasnt as tasty as expected.

Cons: Costy

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
13 Sep 2018

Great quality and service

I was visiting Vienna with a mixed vegan and omni group and everyone enjoyed our meal at Lebenbauer. All vegetarian dishes can be made vegan so great selection for an omni resturant.
I only had one course (plus delicous bread with vegan spreads and a lovely amuse bouche) but was very satisfied.
Service was fabulous; attentive and they clearly understood what vegan means.

Pros: Great choice of vegan dishes, Excellent service , Pleasant atmosphere

Cons: Not all veg*an (fish and chicken served), Not open at weekends

UDth

Points +455

Vegan
27 Jul 2017

kulinarisches Highlight mit hervorragendem Service

es ist in der Tat ein Unding, dass dieses Restaurant nur maximal 4 Sterne haben darf. Alle Gerichte werden auf Wunsch vegan zubereitet, grundsätzlich ist alles vollwert und bio. Das Essen ist wirklich großartig, richtig fein ohne überkanditelt zu sein. Und ja, der Service ist wirklich eine eigene Liga. Die Atmosphäre im Lokal ist ganz bezaubernd. Lohnt sich wirklich für ein schönes Date oder Hochzeitstag. Ich kann es wirklich nur empfehlen.

ArtVB

Points +332

Vegan
03 Aug 2016

Delicious vegan-friendly restaurant

This restaurant deserves a five star, but happy how doesn't allow it for veg-friendly places. In Lebenbauer they sell seafood in addition to delicious vegan and vegetarian dishes. Needless to say, their food and service are top quality. I ordered the tasting menu (vegan) and everything was outstanding. Their wines are very good quality as well.

Updated from previous review on 2016-08-01

adunietz

Points +16

Vegan
29 Jun 2016

Fantastic restaurant, wonderful for vegans!

I love Lebenbauer and find myself coming here on a frequent basis when in Vienna! The food is delicious, and nearly all (if not all) vegetarian dishes can be made vegan - and not just a quick mix of rice and vegetables as they have e.g. phenomenal tofu dishes, so you can also get your dose of protein. Although I've been laughed at at other restaurants in Vienna for being vegan, the staff here is extremely pleasant and understanding - they know what hospitality is! Vegan food (including dessert :))is part of their menu, and they don't bat an eyelid when it is ordered. The owners are also always at the restaurant and ensure a wonderful experience - they always know what to offer and say, and it shows that they take great pride in their work. The restaurant itself is simply a pleasure to sit in - cozy, intimate but not isolated. In warmer months, you can also sit outside, which is lovely. I'd rate Lebenbauer five stars, but Happy Cow doesn't allow restaurants that aren't 100% vegetarian/vegan to be rated so highly. Highly recommend! Enjoy!

Pros: Delicious food - great options for vegans, Extremely pleasant, friendly, attentive staff, Wonderful, cozy yet elegant atmosphere

siderealfire

10 Apr 2018

What about prices? For 1-2 course what do they account? Thanks xx

CarlosGP

Points +335

Vegetarian
12 Dec 2014

A very enjoyable experience

The Lebenbauer's clearly take justified pride in their establishment and welcome people personally. Their menu also reflects the care with which they craft their dishes. Although vegans may have a harder time, their vegetarian options are plenty and d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s!!! The desert selections also were excellent. Overall, a memorable experience. Highly recommended.

Pros: Delicious menu, Great desert selection, Cozy atmosphere

DorisLovesBroccoli

Points +39

Vegan
15 Jul 2014

If I could, I would go there everyday!

I LOVE this restaurant! It is absolutely one of my favorites.
They serve fish and cheese but also have vegan options (I think you can order all vegetarian dishes as vegan).
The dishes taste super delicious and I like the portion sizes because they're satisfying but I don't feel too stuffed.

What makes it so special is that everything is made with love and the food nourishes body and soul. :-)
Also, the staff is really friendly and the owners come by and say hello.

For lunch you can order 3 or 4 courses (vegetarian or fish) and it is not really expensive as the veg one only costs about 12-13€.

I recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants to have lunch or dinner at a nice atmosphere and enjoy healthy and delicious food. If it's on the menu of the day, please try the "Basensuppe" with quinoa and vegetables. I already have had it twice and it is just awesome. :-)

Pros: delicious and healthy food (also vegan), great atmosphere, friendly staff

Cons: not open on weekends

runsten

Points +249

Vegan
13 Jul 2012

almost no vegan options

nice restaurant, friendly staff, quick service at lunch, but not for us vegans. You can come here with meat eating friends.

Lunch for a vegan missed something. Do not only want to eat vegetables. Need some protein also.

Pros: service

Cons: few vegan option, Austrian food made vegetarian

devinmarsh

Points +69

Vegetarian
01 Jul 2011

Veggie friendly top rate dinning

Not often, as a veggie, do you have the ability to eat in a first class restaurant that is veggie based. Yes, they do serve a fish and chicken dish but everything else is top quality vegetarian with a great wine list. The service is excellent and the food is creative and gourmet like. Part of one of the dishes was to salty but when mixed with the rest of the plate, its blend was devine. It's not a cheap night out, but definitely a treat.

Pros: Creative selections, Nice ambience , Great wine list

Cons: Expensive

judas_77

Points +79

Vegan
08 Feb 2011

one of the best in vienna

I live in Vienna and if we like to go to a fine restaurant we go to the "Lebenbauers", its not the cheapest, but for sure - one of the best in Vienna!!!
Specially if you take the 4 or 5 course meal with the wines specifically chosen to go with the dishes - its always a dream - we go there for our wedding day or birthdays.

they also serve fish - but no meat!!!

The price for the 4-5 course meal with wine is about 35-5€ per person - but you will love it!!

Pros: atmosphere, people, food

Cons: no




This page has been viewed 10021 times.