Leafy Greens Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 42 reviews )
Contact
727-289-7087
Find

1626 Central Ave, St Petersburg, Florida, USA, 33712

Saint Petersburg raw food cafe. BYOB. Relocated here Apr 2014 and reported no longer offering hot soups, Dec 2014. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm, Sun 11:00am-6:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Organic, Take-out, Fusion, All Raw

42 Reviews

First Review by wendy

Tasty raw vegan cuisine. - Edit

I had the Zucchini Spaghetti which is raw and very tasty. And finished it off with a piece of chocolate pie. Everything was fantastic. The space is small so you do feel snug inside in the dining area. Prices were a bit high but I'm fine paying that for quality food.

I've returned and finally had my first Beyond Burger. Wow! That's all you need to know. Try one if you haven't already.

Pros: quality food

Cons: seating area small, a bit pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food - Helpful Folks - Edit

We tried this café while on vacation in the area and we were only a few weeks into the vegan eating. I had the Udon noodle bowl and a slaw which was absolutely delish. My wife had the burger and it was great although we are not into the alternative meats. The staff (wait and kitchen) staff was most informative and let us try a few different things. I would not miss a chance to come here again when I am in the St. Pete area. Tasty and inspiring experience.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food and extremely friendly staff - Edit

What a great experience! Udon noodles were so dreamy, and pack with fantastic flavor. So much so I had to place a to go order to go after I was done with my meal. The beyond sandwich was refreshing and light, perfect summer sandwich! We will for sure being returning regularly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

authentic burger - Edit

This place was really awesome! James and Chelsea were great at explaining the menu to us and even suggesting some phonemonal dishes for us to try. My girlfriend is a transitioning meat eater and was blown away by the taste of their vegan burger. The beet ravioli was also delicious. I never thought I'd like beets. If you're looking to try to eat healthier, or are already vegan or vegetarian, you have to try this place!

Pros: ALL vegan/vegetarian

Cons: a little expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

perfect ! - Edit

delicious ! great service and great food !

Pros: vegan and raw, fresh and homemade , not so busy street

Cons: expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fun and Delicious - Edit

I visited here as part of a Vegan Meetup (you are all welcome, first Monday of every month, for more info look on Facebook: St. Petersburg Vegan Meetup Organized by a Plant-Based Physician). I ordered:
-Cesar salad which was tangy and perfectly dressed
-Tacos which were flavorful and topped with all the good stuff.
The waiter had no trouble juggling all of our orders and checks.


Updated from previous review on 2017-07-11

Pros: Tasty, Clean, Easy Parking

Cons: Raw only

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food, awkward service. - Edit

Let me just start off by saying that the food here is delicious. The menu items that my husband and I ate (Thai Curry Soup, Tacos, Veggie Burger, Mango Cobbler & Chocolate Pie) were just wonderful & especially the chocolate pie.. to die for. The teas that we chose were very tasty as well.
Initially, we were greeted by a young woman who I am going to assume is the owner/chef, but she did not introduce her self as such, that is just the impression that I got. She was very friendly and helpful with all the questions that we had about the items on the menu. I ordered the Thai Curry Soup and two slices of the Mediterranean Pizza. My husband ordered the Tacos & two slices of the Tuscan Pizza. She did not write down our order, but repeated it back to us and went to the kitchen area. She came back shortly after to tell us that they were out of the sauce that they put on the Tuscan Pizza, so my husband opted for the Veggie Burger instead. She repeated our order back again, we agreed & she went into the kitchen area. We waited a bit, but I wouldn't say we waited "too" long. The other gentleman waiting tables returned with my soup, the Tacos & Veggie Burger and apologized for the wait. I admit, my mistake was that I assumed that my Mediterranean Pizza was still being prepared and would be brought out shortly after. But it never showed, so we asked about the missing pizza. He seemed confused, but went to the kitchen area and I overheard the young woman explain to him that we had requested the Tuscan Pizza but she told us it wasn't available, which is true, but I ordered the Mediterranean Pizza, which to my understanding was still available. He returned and asked if I had ordered the Tuscan Pizza & I told him that I had ordered the Mediterranean Pizza. He said "well it wasn't on the ticket, but we can prepare it for you now if you want." We had already finished our other food, so I declined and we just ordered our desserts, paid our bill and left. It felt like an awkward response to me, and maybe a bit defensive.
Their prices are quite high, which I can understand to an extent given the type of cuisine that it is. And, again, the food is wonderful, I was very pleased with the flavors! But, I fail to see the importance of taking someone's order, without writing it down at ANY restaurant. If you forget, you've potentially lost a sale and/or a customer & I just don't see any instance where that couldn't have been avoided by simply just writing the order down.
I'm sure we will return again in the future as this particular experience was not a "deal breaker", but we have a few more places in the St Pete area to check out before venturing back to the Leafy Greens Cafe & I'm sure I'll return for some more of that wonderful Chocolate Pie!

Pros: Creative Vegan Cuisine, Delicious Flavors, Chocolate Pie is a MUST

Cons: Slow Service, Order Was Forgotten

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent - Edit

Excellent food and wonderful service.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Absolutley wonderful! - Edit

I have been vegan for a little over 2 years and this is by far some of the best food I've ever had!! Definitely the best raw vegan food I've ever had. Staff is so nice and extremely helpful. Get the tacos! They are the best! They are my meat-eating fiancé's favorite. Thai curry is great too and the lava cake is amazing!

Pros: Fresh tasting , Delicious , Fairly priced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

100% recommend! - Edit

this cute cafe in st pete is certainly my first go-to when I want to go to a vegan restaurant. their tacos have me hooked, they literally taste exactly like how I remember tacos taste. for the "beef", they use seasoned and crushed raw walnuts, and the "sour cream" is made of the soaked cashew sauce. their food is extremely healthy, all raw vegan, and SOOO delicious. also, their chocolate "cheesecake" is crave-worthy. although their menu is a little on the expensive side, their food is most certainly worth it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic! - Edit

I began with a ginger carrot juice that was delicious. Then I had the Thai Curry soup. I don't usually eat totally raw food, so at first the cold temperature felt strange, but I enjoyed the flavors a lot. Finally I had the veggie burger. When I first saw it I thought I'd have to eat it with a fork, but the lettuce held up as a bun. Very filling!

The prices here are on the higher side, so I won't be able to eat here often, but I understand why. The quality is fantastic. My server was friendly and I enjoyed sitting outside.

Pros: delicious, all raw vegan

Cons: pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent food! - Edit

I had the Veggie burger and my husband had the Real Deal and a Caesar salad. Both of our meals were excellent and the portion sizes were good. We also split a piece of the chocolate pie which was amazing- rich dark chocolate and dusted with coconut. We will definitely be back!

Updated from previous review on 2017-03-06

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Raw Vegan delicious - Edit

have been several times. pizza is awesome. soups are spectacular. owner is a visionary.

Updated from previous review on 2016-08-26

Pros: fully raw vegan

Cons: no cons

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

simply amazing - Edit

The food is ridiculously delicious. The menu is simple yet very creative and unique. Five stars!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food but... - Edit

Food was absolutely delicious and surpassed all expectations! Get the tacos and pizza!! My only advise is don't go there if you're in a rush. Service was slow and waiters were not very attentive. Still giving this 5 stars because the food was amazing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

PHENOMENAL! - Edit

I ordered the pizza. The crust was a dehydrated zucchini nut crust. Best pizza ever, highly recommend. Clean fun friendly atmosphere.

Pros: GREAT food, Variety, Fresh

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum! - Edit

Love leafy greens cafe! Lived in st. Pete for a year and couldn't get over the smoothies and milkshakes!!
Awesome vibe as soon as you enter the store!

Pros: Central st pete , Healthy, Great food/service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful place! - Edit

I've been following this place since they were located in downtown saint Pete. Their menu is small but what they do have, they make very well. I've tried everything off the menu and have no complaints!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Raw vegan - Edit

Started with the curry soup. Tasty but weird because I'm not used to cold soup. Had the Tuscan pizza as my entree. Super yummy and served with side salad-the dressing was really good. The crust was crunchy and could be addictive!!! Dessert was a chocolate lava cake. Very nutty and delicious. This spot was worth the drive from Tampa.
Updated from previous review on Wednesday May 14, 2014

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Leafy Greens - perfect lunch! - Edit

Had a loose leaf Earl Grey with honey and almond milk to start. What a perfect start...

Then the Mixed Green salad, with avocado, sprouts, red onion, soaked almonds, cucumber, and a green dressing :)

Organic, raw, vegan and sooo yummy.

Saw a Thai soup (cold and raw) come out that looked amazing. Planning on having that tomorrow.

Pros: fresh bright flavors, excellent tea, warm and inviting staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

yummy raw vegan food :-) - Edit

I have eaten here several times...best not to come here during typical rush times.
Food is yummy, but kinda expensive. Place is clean and service is good. I have had almost everything on menu...it is all good. Ample portions.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Treasure - Edit

Delicious vast menu. Very thoughtful combinations of ingredients for entrées. Desserts were amazing and the soups and smoothies a delight. Yummy and clean and healthy the way Raw Food artistry should be. The staff friendly, attentive and knowledgable.

1 Response
Read More

Leafy Greens Cafe 30 Sep 2013 - Thank you so very much!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing - Edit

My wife and I are vegan. we were in St. Petersburg for some family business and searched for vegan restaurants in the area. Leafy Green popped up. We went and had a late lunch - it was amazing. great service with a friendly-laid back-knowledgeable vibe. Tuscan Pizza is ridiculous; my wife got the Real Deal - and it was amazing as well.

It's a solid place and we will absolutely go back.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great service raw food for the win!! - Edit

This was by far my best raw vegan restaurant experience.. Small little cozy place, was busy when I went and the waitress did a great job of handling all of us. I had the pizza and it was good as well as a bunny love smoothie which was quite tasty. With my meal I had the thai coconut curry soup which was divine. And to end it all off the chocolate lava cake which was out of this world!! People need to learn how good raw food can be!! Please visit this cafe.

Pros: Service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Devil in the details - Edit

Driving through the area we were happy to see a raw place. It was easy enough to find. We ordered the mediterranean pizza and the burger. I was a little surprised the they only offered one gluten-free entree. For two lunch entrees, no drink or desserts or appetizers, it was over $35, not including tip. It took a long time to get our food, and we were surprised that they use standard styrofoam to-go containers. The staff was friendly. The food was good-not amazing, but solid. The pizza crust was thick enough not to get soggy, which was nice. The portions were a good size, not too small but not big enough to warrant the price. I know that raw is expensive, but it just is not that expensive. I have run raw restaurants and eaten at many throughout the world, and it is hard to find the balance between expensive enough to make up for low sales in a raw-unfriendly market and moderate enough to let newbies try a new way of eating in order to build clientele in those markets, but this place is priced like the best raw restaurants in NYC, where everything is much more expensive anyway. So, the details: cost, eco-friendliness, time to get our food, are where the score come from. If that doesn't matter to you, give this place a try, the food alone would get four cows from us.

Pros: Convenient, Raw/vegan, Tasty

Cons: Expensive, Took a long time, Styrofoam

1 Response
Read More

Leafy Greens Cafe 30 Sep 2013 - Just wanted to thank you for your review, however, we are VERY conscious about what we do and what our market is. We are 90% organic - if you know about organic produce, you will know that the cost of organic is about 3 times the cost of conventional. Our food is actually less than 20% higher than our conventional competition. In essence, the cafe has a MUCH smaller profit margin than our conventional counterparts. I am unsure where you have eaten but the chef from Pure Food and Wine from New York as well as David Wolfe himself, said it was the BEST raw food restaurant they had ever been to! We are very proud and conscientious about what we do and EVERYTHING including the details like mustard and raw ketchup are made at the cafe from scratch. Sorry, but I have eaten at many raw food places and I can safely say we blow the others away! I suggest you come back and try it again after visiting some others. You said you have run raw food restaurants -- were they organic?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

Great food and service - Edit

Very good food, fast. Quality is excellent. Service is great as well!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best yet - Edit

Had the tacos today and they were the best vegan food in a restaurant I've ever had. Slow but worth the wait. Smoothies were really yummy too

Pros: tasty, unique

Cons: slow

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to St Petersburg Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Leafy Greens Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 12078 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support