• Le Monkey Bar

  • (8)
    7
    Loading...
  • Other Other
    Vegan

Open Jun-Sep. Eco-friendly dessert bar offering sundaes, chocolate dipped bananas, shakes, and more. Open Tue-Wed 4:00pm-9:00pm, Thu-Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Le Monkey Bar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by charlottewinslow

Ssawz

Points +388

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Delicious Little Place

Le Monkey Bar has some amazing ice cream options! I especially love their ice cream cakes when they have them. I had a snickers one for Sugar Rush one year that was incredible. I don't get out often but always a treat when I do!

Advertisement

LaDawn

Points +28

Vegan
19 Aug 2022

C’est Tres Bien!

I stop in whenever I walk over the esplanade. Can’t miss it!!

Pros: All vegan ice cream treats, Unique offerings

KellyKlassen

Points +18

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Best Vegan Treat Shop in the city. A Must.

This is out Go-To vegan treat stop when we feel like making the hour drive into town. Always worth the trip. Wonderful service. Always polite and courtious. It is always a pleasure. Le Monkey Bar is a must

Pros: 100% Vegan, Wonderful staff, Great Treats

Cons: Can only treat myself occasionally. , Long drive from home.😉, Not open in the winter.

ewan_wiebe

Points +16

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

So yummy!

Amazing place! Super nice staff and really good tasting desserts!

Pros: Everything's vegan and sooo tasty

Cons: Only open in the summer

Katharine S

Points +190

Vegan
19 Aug 2020

Not good anymore 😞

I LOVED this place in the summers of 2018 and 2019, but since they changed their management (or operations? Whoever's actually doing the prep and service) this year, 2020, it's been a bust. Very disappointing! The shakes went from creamy and amazing last year to undersweetened and not very good this year. No more creaminess, kind of... sour and thin? And that whip on top - tasted like the inside of a metal can. Yuck. To add injury to insult, I had a massive stomach ache afterwards, of the variety I get when I've been "glutened." I suspect despite the fact that I asked specifically for a gf option, machinery wasn't cleaned between my friends' birthday cake shakes (which contain gluten) and my strawberry shake (advertised as gf). This never happened in previous years. I'm so sad about this, I can't even tell you. Unless they switch back to running things themselves, I'm staying away!

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Poor management, No longer tasty

sabrinajh

Points +477

Vegan
06 Aug 2020

From amazing to meh

I have changed my review since my original post as they changed a lot from one season to the next. From my understanding the business is ran by the same people but the crepe cart nextdoor makes up the staff now.
Anyway, compared to last year the shake was much smaller and not very rich at all (probably way more banana and less coconut milk) making for a super meh experience. Also barely any of the pretty bad tasting whip was found on the shakes. Hopefully things change back...

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Quality deteriorated greatly , Poor value

PrairieEarth1

Points +230

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

A vegan dessert oasis!

My first ever stop at this cute kiosk on the Provencher Bridge/Esplanade Riel - a vegan dessert oasis! I had their Classic ice cream sandwich with chocolate chip quinoa cookies stuffed with vanilla nice cream and mini chocolate chips. Scrumptious! Next time I’ll try the peanut butter ice cream sandwich... or the date snickers.

Pros: Fresh takes on whole-plant-based desserts, Good prices-and they cater!, Amazing location near Forks/Human Rights Museum

Cons: Closed in cool/cold or rainy weather

charlottewinslow

Points +90

Vegan
29 Oct 2018

Best desserts!

My guilty pleasure for milkshakes and their dipped vegan cheesecake.😄wish they made their icecream in house but whatever it’s so good!

Pros: All vegan




This page has been viewed 1902 times.