• Laterna Taverna

  • (14)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Mediterranean
Greek, Cypriot
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Greek Cypriot traditional dishes including plenty of vegetarian items. Sources local semi-organic vegetable produce and wines. Ask for vegan options. Located 100 metres south of McDonalds sign. Open Mon-Sat 11:00-22:30. Closed December month.


Venue map for Laterna Taverna
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by damienmcbraida

JaninaLaila

Points +74

Vegan
14 Oct 2022

A bit disappointing

The hummus I had for starters was great, but the ratatouille I ordered was just vegetables in olive oil in my opinion.

When I tried to ask something to the waiter he said I had to ask my questions to his "boss"

I had to ask to pay three times before he told me I had to pay at the bar.

Wouldn't recommend.

Pros: Not expensive

Cons: Food wasn't really tastefull, Staff wasn't very friendly

Advertisement

KiraLaundy

Points +130

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Not the best

The food and menu was ok, but definitely wouldn’t recommend for vegan food in pathos, plenty of other places with vegan options and tastier food. When ordering the waitress seemed confused about vegans and we ended up just having pitta chips and salad.

MattPitt

Points +35

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Great staff, really good price

Really great and friendly staff, and unlike other places on Cyprus from my experience there were a few dishes to pick from such as a ratatouille and moussaka. Food was good - not great, but very good value for money and tahini was exceptional

Pros: Really good price, Great friendly staff, Range of food

Cons: Not the best in terms of flavour

JedidjahArentsen

Points +159

Vegan
04 Sep 2022

Really tasty food

The food was very tasty, good flavours, Authentic and cheap. The staff was very helpful and helped me make a decision.

Pros: Helpful staff, Delicious and cheap food, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Not a lot of options

FraMar

Points +13

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2021

Tasty food, bad service

Delicious food, but portions were small and uncharitably arranged. Really disappointing was the service. We had to wait a long time for simple requests. This has then unfortunately completely ruined the visit

Pros: Tasty

Cons: Slow service , Small portions

melarish

Points +681

Vegetarian
30 Jul 2021

Thyme tea time

Vegan/vegetarian options are listed in a small separate section on the main menu. No distinction which one is which so you'll have to ask (allergen list did include milk and eggs for the moussaka so I wasn't sure about that one). I had the Green Goddess which is maybe the nicest collection of green vegetables I've ever had on my plate! Also enjoyed the thyme and lemon peel tea (who would've thought to put thyme in tea!)

Note: I was also brought bread with rosemary butter so vegans request without butter!

yuvalerez

Points +143

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Sweet place, nice staff

This tavern is super sweet, especially because of the owners - they were so nice to us and were happy to help with everything. The food was really good.
The owner (forgot her name) even said that in the future, if we will come back, we can tell her in advanced, and she can make for us special vegan dishes😄

ReuvenWeiss

Points +67

Vegan
06 Mar 2020

Genuine Cyprus food

My fiancee and I went here for our bochlor/bachelorette party together, as we got married the next morning.
Lovely restaurant with super super sweet staff! They congratulated us immensely and even gave us a free drinks.
The food was delicious and they offer a few main vegan options with many other vegan and vegetarian side dishes.

Pros: Native food, Friendly staff, Delicious, vegan options

SimoB50

Points +21

Vegetarian
15 Nov 2019

A pleasant meal

There are four vegan mains, including moussaka, broccoli and courgettes.
I had "Green Goddess" a stir fry mixture of courgettes, brocolli, mangold and string beans, served with rice and a portion of chips!
Tasty, not greasy but filling.
Taverna style seating, restaurant has open front.
Waitress was pleasant and helpful.

Pros: Tasty food, not expensive

Cons: A pleasant, forgettable experience.

JakeStreet

Points +46

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Absolutely delicious!

There isn’t loads of option (as expected) but more than most and very accommodating staff for little adaptations. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic

Pros: Great staff , Fantastic food

Cons: Limited vegan options

Welshgiant

Points +105

Vegan
23 Mar 2019

Very nice

At the moment only has a small vegan selection of mains, but they are planning to extend their menu to include starters and desserts. You can also ask for other vegan options because they seem very helpful.
Highly recommended.

Pros: Vegan options, Helpful staff, Good location and local ambience

Cons: Need more extensive balanced vegan options, Only vegan mains

louleebell

Points +20

Vegan
12 Nov 2018

A Paphos must

We were greeted by 2 lovely ladies who said that providing vegan options was no trouble. Once seated we met the owner who told us he would cook us a vegan meal, he went through all the options which sounded so delicious we said yes to them all. We were not disappointed, a spinach dish which he told us his grandma used to cook as she didn't eat meat, a Greek salad (No feta) and a garlic grilled vegetable medley, rice , chips, olives & bread. Clearly a chef who understands how to produce a fantastic vegan meal without being fazed.Very respectful and friendly

tansieswithenbank

Points +54

Vegan
08 Sep 2018

Delicious Mixed Veg

I had a delicious mixed vegetable and garlic dish (not on the menu) with salad and beetroot. Just ask them to make a dish vegan - very friendly.

damienmcbraida

Points +36

Mostly Veg
03 Jan 2018

Great food & warm welcome

I highly recommend the Laterna. The menu has a good range of Cypriot traditional dishes. Christos and Katerina the owners are very friendly and willing to suggest and cook traditional Cypriot dishes that are not on the menu (including plenty of vegetarian options). Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff too. On our 1st day in Pafos we went to the Laterna and had a huge and very tasty vegetarian meze for 2 (about 20 dishes), which was probably enough food for 4 people! We ate there 4 times during the week we were in Pafos, tempted back by the specials scheduled for following days. The occasional specials we tried were Kolokasi, Gigantes and vegetable Keftedes which were all very tasty and seemed to be much in demand. Great quality food!




This page has been viewed 3830 times.