• La Serenata Restaurant

  • (15)
    25
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant with a separate vegan menu. Dishes include burritos, tacos, and enchiladas. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:00pm, Mon-Thu 5:00pm-10:00pm, Fri 5:00pm-11:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for La Serenata Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by Vegan90266

CassandraHalm

Points +298

Vegan
30 Oct 2023

No veg menu but willing to accommodate

They no longer have a vegan/vegetarian menu but were willing to find an old menu & adjust prices. I just asked if they could make me a vegan burrito & they did. It was very good. They put the salsa on the side after asking me if I could handle spicy but it wasn’t spicy. Nice flavor.

Pros: Vegan options , Tasty , Nice staff

Advertisement

Kplant

Points +3964

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Sole proprietor

Looks like a family run restaurant with lots of regular customers. Room for large parties and a bar if your solo. Outdoor seating as well indoor.
They do have a vegan menu though may need to ask for it a few times.
Food is wasn't too spicy.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-23

Pros: Vegan menu, Authentic environment

cammyschinner

Points +142

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

3/4 stars! Was Pleased!

I saw this on HC after needing to find a good gathering place for a team lunch that had good vegan options for myself.

It is a spacious, two-room restaurant with a full bar. Parking spots in the back alleyway. Clean bathrooms. Super friendly staff and very accommodating. The GM was a great guy. You will be served chips and homemade salsa (super yummy, light-medium heat) upon arrival ^_^

I loved that they had a separate vegan menu as they express clearly their desire to make a conscious choice to minimize their harm to our planet (while still serving omni dishes). They have vegan meats and cheese - a real bonus!

They feature homemade masa tortillas, sopes, and empanadas, which is always nice when you can get the "real deal". And the guac is BIG! None of this "one teaspoon per person" that you get at Tocaya. They are the only Mexican restaurant I've been to that serves a traditional fungus that grows on cacti, called huitlacoche. It was so good!

Serving sizes are generous. Entrees come with flavorful rice and beans. Everyone really enjoyed their food - I enjoyed mine, but it wasn't *incredible*. Above average for sure, and definitely made for a tasty meal.

Cute ambiance/aesthetic, not dive-y at all!

Updated from previous review on 2020-01-19

Pros: considerate of vegans , spacious

Cons: not enough customers!

Cathy133

Points +87

Vegan
14 Nov 2020

Great vegan Mexican

This is the best vegan Mexican I have had - everything is clearly labeled and the food is creative and delicious-

Pros: Vegan items clearly labeled , Delicious! NOT bland!, Authentic

yaronlavian

Points +25

Vegetarian
17 Jul 2020

Great fish burrito

Ordered the Mahi burrito- big dish.
It’s actually a wet burrito.

Very fulfilling!

Pros: Staff, Food - very fresh

Cons: A little pricey - $16 not including tip and tax

LeahGoodnight

Points +119

Vegan
09 Mar 2020

The best vegan mexican food I’ve had on the Westside of Los Angeles.

Separate menu with lots of plant-based options. Very nice bartender/server. We had the street corn, nachos and chalupas... and can’t wait to go back and try more. I’m picky about vegan cheese and it was great! Also the Soyrizo was delish!

Pros: Lots of vegan options on separate menu, Great prices , Server was personable

Cons: Didn’t love the margaritas, but beer was great

cheddabrown

Points +239

Vegan
05 Jan 2020

Chilaquiles and gorditas

I ordered the gorditas and Green Chilaquiles and both very pretty good. The rice they serve is bland. Would come back, but not rush back.

Pros: Separate vegan menu

vs12823

Points +94

Vegan
02 Dec 2019

A gem - best of both worlds!

Let’s face it, not everyone is vegan and it’s so nice to be able to go out with friends where everyone enjoys their food. Delicious authentic Mexican food plus a full and extensive vegan Menu.

Pros: Full vegan menu, Friendly staff, Authentic atmosphere

ravKlein

Points +284

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

Ask for the vegan menu!

Really delicious, with a full menu of vegan options that are in no way lesser than the rgular menu. Friendly wait staff ready to please...one of my favorites when I'm on this side of town!

Pros: One of the best vegan burritos around, full and tw

Cons: Still has meat around....but not a meaty place!

Tylrtmtch

Points +99

Vegan
04 Jul 2019

Yummy!

Have been here twice.
The enchiladas were delicious and the burrito is really good too. Lots of great vegan options.

Pros: Entire vegan menu, Delicious

swrobel

Points +221

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

Many options, but pricey & slow service

We had dinner here and were impressed by the size of the vegan menu. Everything we ordered was delicious but about $15-16 per dish and each dish was adequate but not at all large by Mexican restaurant standards. The food also took almost 40 minutes to come out despite us being one of only a few tables filled.

JesperBöjeryd

Points +67

Vegetarian
02 Apr 2019

Great food

I was a bit confused if this was a through-and-through vegetarian place or not since the first menu I saw was vegan with vegetarian options. But maybe there's a meat menu too...

Anyway, the friendly waitress asked me what I usually liked and gave me a spot-on recommendation what to have. I got a filling, worth-the-money, very tasty burrito. I will go back again.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

JoshuaMilks

Points +63

Vegan
15 Mar 2019

New Staple!! Wish i could give 5 stars if HappyCow allowed!

Don't you love when you find a new staple, go-to restaurant that you'll love AND can bring your non vegan friends and family? With a delicious vegetarian menu with the best whole food vegan options with mostly organic ingredients, this place does not disappoint. As a 1 year old vegan, this will definitely be our new staple spot for Mexican food. $5 happy hour margaritas won't let you down and you definitely get that authentic Mexican deliciousness and homey vibe. Love everything about it.

Pros: Amazing Vegan Menu AND Regular Menu for your fam, Whole Foods and Mostly Organic!, $5 Margs for Happy Hour!

Cons: None whatsoever!

JusticeRoss

Points +30

Vegan
15 Mar 2019

Badass

Has plenty of vegan options that are actually real food which I appreciate, so if you’re looking for fake cheese and mock meats this isn’t the spot but it’s healthy, WELL priced, delicious, and has cheap margaritas which is awesome too. I recommend the taquitos de papa, delicious and filling. OH and at happy hour house margs are 5$!!!

Pros: Vegan options, Whole food based, Has a bar

Vegan90266

Points +20

Vegan
15 Nov 2018

Excellent Vegan Menu

I was pleasantly surprised by the two page menu of vegan options. Need to ask waiter for it. Food is delicious and creative. Newly renovated restaurant by Gordon Ramsay. Parking behind the restaurant.

Pros: Delicious, Creative, Many options

Cons: Parking hard to find




This page has been viewed 2935 times.