• La Perla

  • (9)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pizza restaurant offering pizzas made in wood fired oven, pasta and salads. Dishes can be customized to be vegan. Reservations not required but advised. Open Tue-Sun 12:00-14:30, 18:30-23:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for La Perla
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by irabike

MikołajNowak

Points +20

Vegan
24 Jun 2023

Absolutely terrible service

Even though the pizza might be good (I never had the chance to try it), the service is absolutely horrendous.
First time we tried, we were waiting for the waiter to take our order for 45 minutes. We left after that. Tried again the next day, we were told that they are closed, and when we left, a lady ordered a pizza in Italian and the cook suddenly appeared and started preparing it for her. Terrible

Advertisement

Lvr

Points +117

Vegan
07 Dec 2021

Great

Typical Traditional italian pizza restaurant. Pizzas are large. Marinara and focaccia vegan. Just delicious and great views.

Lveg

Points +700

Vegan
06 Dec 2021

Low vegan offer

The only vegan option I could get was sides, I've asked also for funghi with polenta, not bad but not amazing. The staff did not take good care of us.
Needs some improvements.

Pros: Fresh food

Cons: Vegan options: just sides, Rude staff

ElinaSuominen

Points +54

Vegan
02 Sep 2021

Friendly staff, light food

Staff was very friendly, but they weren't too eager to provide vegan options. Asked for a pasta pomodoro with something extra, like mushrooms, but they said it's not possible. Maybe a language barrier, but I really tried my best. The pasta pomodoro was a kid size meal, not filling at all. Would probably try ordering a pizza marinara instead.

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Not many vegan options

Lauie

Points +253

Vegan
28 Oct 2019

Solid local option

They were very nice to us here, and we were able to enjoy a light but tasty vegan meal. I saw nothing about a vegan menu. We were asking for dishes “vegana” from the moment we sat down, so it would be strange if they had a vegan menu and didn’t offer it to us.*

I wonder—if we actually spoke Italian well—if we could have done a bit better, vegan-izing more dishes. But we did just fine. They offered us spaghetti pomodoro (already had that dish a few times in this town) and some other things I didn’t quite catch, so we studied the menu.

We got the quinoa salmon salad without the salmon: delicious, lemony & fresh, but quite light. If I got it again, I would ask to add beans or something. We also got a porcini mushroom pasta dish that was great. I confirmed repeatedly that it should have no butter or cheese. They assured me it just had oil. I guess I’ll have to trust them about the butter. If it really was vegan, it was amazingly delicious and worth going back for.

And we got pizza, one to stay and one to go. Both were the Ortolana (zucchini, eggplant & peppers) without cheese, which normally doesn’t have tomato sauce. We didn’t know that/didn’t mean to order that specific pizza, so we were able to get sauce only on the second one. It was a little bit of a letdown with no sauce, just vegetables and bread. I would have liked to get a Margherita or Marinara pizza, no cheese, and add certain vegetable toppings, but the language barrier prevented this. I tried to order this way, but the waitress wanted to pick something with vegetables already on the menu and alter that, locking us in to certain veggies. That’s how we ended up without tomato sauce the first time around. I also really would have liked to add mushrooms... but it didn’t happen. The pizza was very good brick oven pizza, no complaints about flavor or preparation.

The food is certainly cooked well—it’s a great casual Italian restaurant. I would possibly return to try more pasta dishes. I wouldn’t exactly consider this a vegan haven... but it might be. Most of the bumps in the road here for me had to do with language, which is obviously my failing, not theirs. You may do better than I did.




*I think the review on here that mentions a vegan menu may have been mis-posted. I suspect it could be about the Michelin-reviewed restaurant Caracol in Bacoli?

Pros: Amazing Tagliatelle Porcini, Brick oven pizza available without cheese, Friendly service, lovely atmosphere

Cons: Italian language skills necessary, for full customization

Charlie666

Points +16

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

What vegan menu

Looked like every other mozzarella filled joint that considers fish vegetarian

LauraLaringe

Points +47

Vegan
09 Aug 2019

Great vegan meal

Had dinner at the starred restaurant. They had an entire vegan menu. They also made plates that were not in the menu. Great experience.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Expensive, not many proteins in the meal

sullius

Points +37

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Good pizza

Classic pizza marinara done well. Incidentally the person behind me also ordered a vegetarian pizza without cheese without any problems. The pizzas came out quickly and you can also order them to go. The restaurant is open late which makes it a great option in a region where things seem to close quite early.

irabike

Points +115

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Nice meal!

I had a salmon salad without the salmon. It was arugala and quinoa and very good - only time I found quinoa in northern Italy. They also have wood fired bread/pizza oven. Very beautiful place with inside and outside dining. Very nice folks. Busy. 1 block off the main plaza road in the center of town.

Pros: Nice folks, Gorgeous town and beautiful restaurant, Accommodating

Cons: A little pricey, Not a lot of vegan options after salad and pasta




This page has been viewed 2452 times.