Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Italian restaurant with a separate vegan menu. Please confirm and let HappyCow know. Open Mon-Sun 11:30-15:30, 18:30-00:00.


Venue map for La Patatina  a San Giacomo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

32 Reviews

First Review by stokes

trinitiva

Points +30

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

there is no longer vegan menu

the waiter told us there was no vegan menu, but we had bruschetta which was amazing. the only vegan option they had available was pasta al pomodoro which isnt on the menu. it was the best sauce ive had in italy yet. they served mostly meat options

Pros: pasta, bruschetta, limoncello

Cons: no vegan menu

Advertisement

gizelle617

Points +1444

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Decent

Great option if you want a restaurant with both vegan and meat options.
I ordered the vegetable torte and a small salad and it was fresh and filling, but not anything special.

gcave

Points +80

Vegan
19 Oct 2022

Vegan menu

Fantastic to find a vegan menu! And the brocolli gnocchi was lovely, I'd recommend it! We also had the tempura style vegetables which were tasty. But the gnocchi was the more filling/satisfying of the two dishes.

Dog friendly

prooproo

Points +104

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

Excellent vegan gnocchi

Separate vegan section of menu w five choices, gnocchi and broccoli were fresh and terrific

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-13

Pros: Nice outside seating , Fast and friendly

JamoKidd

Points +44

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

Nice vegan menu and restaurant vibes.

First up, the correct name of this restaurant is ‘La Patatina a San Giacomo’. DO NOT confuse this restaurant with another with called ‘La Patatina A San Polo’ which offers zero vegan options which we almost did and what I assume some of the reviewers below did.

We sat in the covered garden area in the back which was super cute. My 10 month old and I shared the broccoli gnocchi and I also had the tempura style vegetables that came with a lovely squash cream.

Amarande

Points +132

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

A bit far from the center but worth visiting!

High end vibe, but for a reasonable price. They have a separate vegan menu with 5 dishes. I had the potatoes broccoli gnocchi which was delicious. They also have a menu featuring only dishes with porchini mushrooms, and they were very accommodating and veganizes a dish there for me (salad). We had wine and it's was a really good dinner. Highly recommend!

AmelieDiana

Points +28

Vegan
01 Sep 2022

Delicious vegan options available

Very delicious lasagne-ish torta with vegetables and potatoes, so good!

Pros: 6 vegan options, nice staff, beautiful arrangement

Cons: bit expensive

Rensoettwente

Points +30

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Vegan options! (And very nice!)

Apart Vegan menu, zo’n 6 opties. Ik nam de gnocchi met broccoli, echt een aanrader

Pros: Vegan options

Mma13

Points +1070

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Yum!

I thought the broccoli gnocchi was delicious, flavorful, and filling. Loved the plating. Nice dinner out experience with completely separate vegan menu!

denisdruart

Points +61

Vegan
12 Jul 2022

Good quality choices

I took some gnocchi with brocoli and nuts.
The plate looked quite small but it was finally enough for me. It was delicious.

ASV

Points +407

Vegan
28 Jun 2022

OK food in a nice setting, a bit upscale

The food was good, even if the vegan options were limited. The restaurant has a few tables outside on the square and in the courtyard in the back. I probably wouldn't do a big detour to get there again, but a good choice if staying nearby and wanting a nice dinner.

hungryvegan23

Points +730

Vegan
07 Jun 2022

They’re trying…but not too hard

Lots of vegan options here - apparently they’ve had a vegan menu for about 4 years - but there’s not much creativity or love in the food.

We had the gnocchi and the vegetable “tart” - which was just baked vegetables in the shape of a tart - no pastry. They were both edible but basic and instantly forgettable.

With a little bit of effort this place could be amazing - but they don’t seem to want to make that effort

On the plus side, sitting and eating outside on the square in the summer night air is beautiful!

Jouiknwjsya

Points +18

Vegan
26 May 2022

Menu vegan

Personnel sympa. Ils disposent d'un menu appart entièrement végétalien.
L'epautre est très bon.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-26

camvkl

Points +40

Mostly Veg
14 May 2022

Overpriced and underwhelming, but technically fine?

We were happy to find a place that has a dedicated vegan menu- 5 items in total. All just...vegetables. If you're into smaller portions for a bigger price and want literally zero protein, it's perfectly good. It was fine. The food tasted great actually, just not what I'd hoped for (especially to still be hungry afterwards). We had the "fried vegan crispy vegetables with seasonal cream" which was a bowl full of zucchini and carrot tempura with maybe 2 Tbs of cashew cream underneath them, and then "vegetables rainbow baked pie with pistachio extract" which was really delicious (think shepherd's pie, upside down- mashed potatoes, carrots, peppers, etc. Great, small, probably won't go back.

JuliaDinis

Points +16

Vegan
29 Jan 2022

It doesn’t have any vegan options

It didn’t have any vegan options on the menu #Veganuary

LindaHöglund

Points +50

Vegan
25 Oct 2021

Amazing presentation of the food

Nice service and a location on a open square. The presentation of the food was amazing. The gnocchi With the broccoli was really good as well as tthe bruchetta. The vegan saffran risotto was only okej as I prefere More taste of saffran.

Pros: 6 vegan options, Delightfull presentation of the food, Organiser and vegan vine

Cons: Quite expensive , Vegan vine but you have to Google to find out, The English was quite bad

RyanDeBoer

Points +124

Vegan
07 Sep 2021

Delicious!

We both had the gnocchi and it was just amazing. Side of grilled vegetables also good. Staff understood importance of the vegan restriction and made sure to accommodate. We are there for lunch but would be a better dinner option.

Pros: Delicious, Staff understands vegan option, Great atmosphere outdoors

SchöNi

Points +28

Mostly Veg
03 Jun 2021

A bit pricey but very nicy

A nice restaurant with a perfect few in the middle of a smal park. It serves about 5 vegan dishes. I had the Gnocchi with broccoli and walnuts. It was absolut delicious. Also the service is very nice. I enjoyed my time.

Pros: 5 vegan options

crmhannigan

Points +246

Vegan
08 Oct 2020

Great dedicated vegan menu section

Nice staff, about 6 decent choices for vegan mains. Tried the gnocchi with broccoli and walnuts which was very tasty- if anything the portion could have been slightly bigger given it was a main, and for the price. Would still recommend it as the food was good, but our bill was €30 ish each for 1 dish and glass of wine.

Pros: Easy to see which dishes are vegan, English explanations of Italian names, Fresh and beautifully presented

Cons: Could be better value

Pierre-EmmanuelDuss

Points +104

Vegan
08 Oct 2020

Good restaurant with strong vegan options

Nice vegan food in a town where it is hard to find such an option

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice evening village atmosphere, Beautiful plates and good wine

Cons: Expensive, Small portions, Slow service

LauraWood

Points +58

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Has a separate vegan menu

Visited in January 2020. Has a separate vegan menu at the back of the main menu, with about 5 vegan dishes. I had the gnocchi, which was lovely.

jamesthomsonn

Points +668

Vegan
13 Dec 2019

Separate vegan menu, would recommend

Several vegan options, would recommend the gnocchi

Pros: Separate vegan menu , Tasty & brought free appetisers , Very professional & nice staff

Katja-MirjamiBurnage

Points +18

Vegan
18 Jul 2019

No vegan menu

Vegan menu did not exist although still on the website. Staff knew nothing about it. Don't go for it, otherwise options are same as elsewhere, pasta and tomato sauce.

Cons: No vegan menu as advertised

Saf1990

Points +28

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

Overpriced, food not great

Was looking for a healthier alternative to pizza and pasta, which this restaurant definitely provided.
However, my rainbow pie was cold inside, portion sizes were very small and the prices are quite high (28 euros bill for one person)

Pros: Separate vegan menu with decent options , Friendly staff

Cons: Small portions, High service charge (4 euros), Food wasn't really good

VloveV

Points +261

Vegan
26 Apr 2019

Nice but overpriced

There is a vegan section in the menu. The food was good but compared with the size of the dish the prices are too high even for Venice.

Pros: Vegan dishes

Cons: Too expensive

ChiaraLentz

Points +22

Vegan
24 Feb 2019

Great

Very nice restaurant, separate vegan menu, nice staff

Pros: Some vegan options, Nice atmosphere , Great service

Cons: Quite expensive

hokusai77

Points +13612

Vegan
03 Aug 2018

Fancy restaurant with a small vegan menu

Fancy restaurant with a small vegan menu. The dishes are very well presented and cooked, the ingredient quality is high. I am not giving 4 stars because they do not offer vegan desserts (apart from a fruit salad) and because the service was a bit slow. Nevertheless the place is beautiful and I recommend eating in the inner courtyard. We were served a white polenta with caponata appetiser, and then I had a nice gnocchi dish made with walnut cream and broccoli. Both the veggie salad and the fruit salad were fresh and full of colours.

Pros: A separate vegan menu, Very fresh ingredients , Nicely presented dishes

Cons: No specific vegan desserts , Service a bit slow




This page has been viewed 7857 times.