• La Indita

  • (22)
    31
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Mexican
Native American
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offering a mixture of traditional Mexican dishes, popular Indian fry breads, and original fare from family recipes since 1983. Does not use lard. All sauces, tortillas, and food made-in-house. Veg choices clearly marked with a star; almost all vegetarian options can be made vegan when you ask to omit cheese. Relocated from
622 N 4th Ave. Open Wed-Sun 4:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for La Indita
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by TucsonVeganGal

places-in-pieces

Points +602

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

an old favorite

having lived in tucson back in 2007, and visiting over the years, i was already familiar with la indita. this was my first time at the new location, it did not disappoint. la indita had the same welcoming atmosphere, and the food was great. everyone working there was familiar with all the vegan options, and can point you in the right direction if needed. i personally love their vegan version of the spinach and nut enchiladas with mole.

Advertisement

WFPB47

Points +100

Vegan
26 Jan 2024

New location, same great taste!

It’s been a minute since I’ve been here and I feel like I forgot how delicious their food is. The waiter that we had was super fun and knowledgeable about the vegan options (there are a ton!!). I got the combo platter with a potato taco, bean Tarascan taco and spinach enchilada. The beans and rice are vegan without cheese! Everything was delicious, I will certainly be back! #Veganuary

Pros: Food, Staff

julietteverley

Points +62

Vegan
22 Jul 2023

Best mole of all time

In my experience, the younger servers are more knowledgeable about what Is vegan than the older servers. Once an older server told me there was chicken in the mole sauce, so I didn’t order, and they next time I went a younger server confirmed twice it was totally vegan. I like the get the spinach and nut enchiladas with mole sauce or a burrito smothered in mole!

MikeSwiston

Points +186

Vegetarian
11 Apr 2023

Great food, great service

The food here was so good, we went twice during our recent stay in Tucson. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The menu has some unique dishes that you won't find at other restaurants. The only downside was that they seem very popular, so were a little crowded at peak times. Well worth the wait!

Pros: delicious food, great service, unique menu

ejarvie

Points +48

Vegan
22 Mar 2023

Just go!

Unusual flavors that were delicious. You will not be disappointed plus very reasonable pricing.

Pros: Beautiful flavors, Lots of options, Knowledgeable staff regarding vegan options

Cons: None

Slimjakes

Points +31

Vegan
14 Jun 2022

La Indita has moved

722 N Stone Avenue is the correct Address

Pros: I have eaten at the new location only once., This restaurant is not exclusively vegan., It seems fine so far.

Cons: none noted

nlhaigh

Points +531

Vegan
26 Dec 2021

Awesome everything. A must go.

So friendly and the food is so delicious you will eat yourself stupid. Feels like Mexico in all the best ways. Would go back in a second. Great for omnivores too.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-26

Pros: Delicious vegan options, Great outdoor seating. , Resident dogs and dog friendly

vegainsley

Points +60

Vegan
15 Feb 2021

Tasty food and fast service

Staff is very friendly and accommodating of vegan modifications. The guacamole and salsa are awesome, the chips come out hot and are super crispy. Got the bean and rice burrito and it's large so you get your money's worth.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Parking is hard to find

PaigeDavis

Points +199

Vegan
23 Nov 2020

Worth the trip

Everything was delicious; my fiancé, who lives in San Diego and could eat Mexican food every day and is pretty discriminating about it, raved about the salsa and especially the bean Tarascan that was part of his plate (he got the #6 Combo plate). The potato taco was scrumptious, so just order it lol. I got the #5 Combo plate which had the spinach enchilada too, and it was quite tasty. They were VERY accommodating to vegan diners and very nice in general. We were very satisfied and highly recommend this restaurant. I’m only giving 4 stars because the app doesn’t allow 5 for a non veg place.

Pros: Really flavorful dishes, Delicious salsa

Cons: Not super fast service

KalvinBruceSmith

Points +8

Non Veg
29 Mar 2020

Great food for everybody

Really great chips and the taco shells were excellent. Salsa is hot - but excellent. Everything was well prepared and little different than typical Tucson Mexican restaurants. 2 thumbs up!!!

CRW

Points +655

Vegan
25 Jan 2020

The Best Salsa!

Loved the salsa here. Had the combo plate with spinach enchilada, mushroom enchilada, & Potato Taco. Everything was delicious. (Beans are Rice are vegan, be sure to ask for no cheese when you order.)

the_mindfulwanderers

Points +578

Vegan
06 Jan 2020

Incredible!

Stopped in for dinner; it is a smaller place so all tables were full when we arrived and there were a few parties ahead of us so we had to wait. They took down our number and said they'd call us when our table was ready. We walked up and down 6th street a bit while waited. By the time we walked back, our table was ready! It smelled amazing as soon as we walked in and that's when we knew it was totally worth the wait! My husband and I ordered the mushroom tacos, the cauliflower tacos and nopalitos dish. OMG - everything was melt in your mouth amazing. My husband also ordered a jalapeño margarita and said it was quite tasty (and spicy! ) Would highly recommend if in the mood for super yummy and authentic Mexican cuisine paired with amazing service. La Indita offers plenty to choose from for vegans :)

Pros: authentic cuisine, friendly staff :)

shannana1

Points +72

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

Delish vegan tacos!

Had the potato taco & bean Tarascan taco - really delish! The beans DO NOT have lard and the the rice is vegan too! Family biz and they are super nice!

Brusswole_Sprouts

Points +531

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Super friendly

My mom and I mentioned we were Vegan to the waitress and she took amazing care of us. We got the calabacitas and the spinach and mushroom enchiladas. Both were good but the calabacitas were amazing!

Pros: Beans, rice, etc doesn’t use lard or butter , Super friendly staff , Things marked vegetarian on menu

Cons: Need to order specially vegan for most items

Shennie

Points +16

Vegan
28 May 2019

One of my favorites!

Great food and attentive service.

Mandomedia

Points +40

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

Best vegan Mexican and Native American in Tucson

La Indita has wonderful and plentiful vegan options. Also, since their beans and rice are always made vegan, many dishes that are billed as vegetarian can be made vegan by holding the cheese. The staff clearly understand what "vegan" means and are always willing to accommodate the requests of their customers with good cheer. Authentic food from the region. The same family that started the business 20+ years ago still runs it today. Really nice folks.

Pros: Excellent and plentiful vegan Mexican food, Native American Food options, Great local decor

Cons: Parking can be difficult during peak meal times

LeticiaM.

Points +8

Non Veg
05 Apr 2018

CSR

Awesome food! It was the best Mexican and o'Odom food in town. The music and atmosphere was lively and happy. The customer service was great. The menu has a large variety of food. Plus their veggan and veggiterian friendly. I would definitely recommend.

Cons: No seafood

MagdaDepa

Points +510

Vegan
27 Jan 2018

not a good option

I went there based on recommendations from reviews. They exactly knew what was vegan. Salsa was delicious and home made. I got dissapointed when it came to the meal.
I ordered mushroom taco without cheese. All that came in a taco were mushrooms and some rice and beans on the side. Everything was way too salty with no decent flavor to it.
I'm giving it 2 stars for their salsa. Maybe If I ordered something else it would be better but I'm discouraged to go back.

Pros: vegan options

Cons: flavor

Winedunce

Points +367

Vegan
05 Dec 2017

Authentic & Delicious Mexican food!

My boyfriend and I were in Tucson for a week and one of the vegan restaurants in town recommended La Indita as another great choice for us. We each ordered one of their veggie options without cheese (they have several veggie platters). The waitress was awesome and told us that they only use olive oil and vegetable oil in their cooking. They never use lard in their beans. They don't use chicken broth for their rice, so any of their vegetarian options can be made vegan by holding the cheese or sour cream. We were so excited to get delicious and authentic Mexican food that was truly vegan!! Highly recommend this place.

nafanc

Points +1615

Vegan
13 Nov 2016

Friendly place, good food

I stopped by here for lunch on my last day in Tucson. The menu is large and has plenty of vegan options. All vegetarian dishes are clearly labeled, and many are vegan or can be made vegan with the omission of cheese.

I was torn between getting calabacitas (squash) and nopales (cactus). The waitress was happy to let me get half of each, and I really enjoyed them both.

I really liked the vibe as well. The staff were really nice, and it seemed that they knew a lot of the customers. Overall, a great place.

Pros: Friendly, Affordable, Good food

JDip2014

Points +24

Vegan
12 May 2014

Delicious!!! Many vegan options!

I ate the most amazing lunch at La Indita when I was in Tucson for the afternoon with my husband. When the waitress/owner came over to welcome us, we mentioned that we are vegan. She pointed out several options on the menu that are vegan and also told us that any of the vegetarian options could easily be made vegan upon request. I ordered one of the house specialties, Calabacitas, without the cheese. This delicious dish is squash cooked to perfection with chiles, tomatoes, onions and corn. My husband had the daily veggie special and he loved it. The service is great, the restaurant is really cute, the owners are so friendly, and the food is authentic and absolutely delicious. Wow, I wish I lived closer to this restaurant!

Pros: Delicious, Great prices, Friendly and clean

TucsonVeganGal

Points +127

Vegan
22 Mar 2013

Vegans always welcome here!

Any of their vegetarian items can be made vegan. Just ask them to hold the queso. This is by far one of our most favorite restaurants.

Beware of the salsa given with the chips. Each batch is made completely different from the batch before. Sometimes very hot, sometimes more mid.

Pros: Vegan friendly, Food quantity and quality, Good value

Cons: Lack of Margaritas, Can be noisy




This page has been viewed 6244 times.