Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Western
Beer/Wine

Restaurant and boutique, est. late-2014 at 8 norte 610 and moved here Jan 2016. Makes pasta by hand, has plant milks, almond cheese, and vegan desserts. The shop sells clothing and a few natural food products. Open Mon 10:00am-10:00pm, Wed-Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for La Colmena
© OpenStreetMap contributors

38 Reviews

First Review by MaluBumbum

JaquelínLagosBrenis

Points +34

Vegan
03 Nov 2023

Todo buenísimo!

Probé los tlacoyos, los dedos de queso, los chilaquiles y todo estuvo buenísimo. El queso de papá 10/10

Pros: Queso de papa, Aguas, Cafe

Advertisement

Veggieroni

Points +404

Vegan
28 Mar 2023

A fancier veg place in Puebla

This is the first restaurant that really looks like one that I visited in Puebla Mexico. Most of the other places were more like holes in the wall (which doesn't discount their food).
The prices go with the settings, this is by far the most expensive place I've been to in Puebla as well. That said, the prices are reasonable and they serve beer too. A dinner for 2 with 1 appetizer, 2 main dishes, one desert and 2 beers came out to about $40 US with tip included so still very affordable. We liked the food so much that we went back for lunch.
The pesto ravioli were good but not what I call pesto (more like a green liquid sauce). The tacos were yummy except the tortillas were a little chewy. Guacamole was great, comes with sesame chips. For lunch we had the potato sticks (delicious), a garbanzo burger (didn't taste itself but the eater said it was good), a quinoa bowl, very nice presentation and tasty and the Milanese sandwich which was pretty good. For desert we had the raw mocha cake both time. They were out of ice cream.

Pros: Tasty food, Great service , Nice settings

Cons: A little pricy

Skylark

Points +341

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Excellent food in delightful setting with kind service

My friends and I shared the rice bowl, the arepas, mushroom tacos, sweet potato fries, two kinds of kombucha, the green juice, and the panna cotta. It was only once we got to dessert that I remembered to take pictures. Everything was delightful. The salad that came with the arepas had no dressing on it, so I used some of the chimichurri sauce they had brought to the table.

Pros: Their house made almond cheeze , Attentive service, Plants growing everywhere and other great decor

noetsx

Points +222

Vegan
29 Jan 2023

Enchiladas, por favor 🇲🇽

I love coming for breakfast here. Don't hesitate, ask for this: "enchiladas bandera grandes con relleno de queso de papa y brócoli". Their newly launched bakery is beyond great. Order the pain au Chocolat.

Pros: Everything made from scratch (even ketchup), Delicious and local, Desserts are so good

Cons: No parking, Serves egg (January 2023), Does not serve alcohol-free beer

kobabeee

Points +32

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

La mejor milanesa de berenjena

Nunca había probado algo tan delicioso como el sándwich de milanesa de berenjena de la colmena. La hamburguesa de garbanzo y los dedos de queso de papá 10/10.
Es uno de los mejores restaurantes veganos que he probado en mi vida. #Veganuary

Victoria8

Points +155

Vegan
20 Nov 2022

Excellent vegan tacos

Really good tacos in this totally vegan restaurant. Great freshly made juices too.

Pros: 100% vegan, Delicious tacos, Lovely decor

Cons: A little on the expensive side

DonaldChesterParker

Points +13

Mostly Veg
19 Oct 2022

Comida vegana con mucho corazon

La comida es deliciosa, es un restuarante muy autentico, con intencion y proposito.

Pros: Muchas opciones, Buen servicio, Compra local

mariodavid

Points +104

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

No es más un restaurante vegano

El lugar es lindo, las porciones son generosas y el sabor muy rico. Recientemente añadieron huevos en su menú, lamentable que ya no sea un lugar vegano.

Leucothea

Points +1065

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Tasty but...

The place is very lovely, the staff is welcoming and the food is super tasty. Portions are more than enough, and they use fresh ingredients. The coffe and the juice are very good too!

But they advertise their political opinion about vaccination. It is not the place to discuss science proves and esoteric beliefs.
That was disappointing. I won't go back then.

Pros: Rico, Buen lugar , Buen servicio

Cons: Anti vacunos

SantiagoVecchietti

23 Oct 2022

To me, a place to eat healthy food is a perfect place to discuss obligatory non tested vaccination. We're not anti vaccine, we're pro healthy life stile, that has nothing to do with injecting yourself with unknown chemichals. Hope you enjoyed the food and service.

selinemks

Points +76

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Increíble😄

He ido una vez al lugar y fue increíble, la comida tiene un excelente sabor y te dan papitas de camote súper deli, luego pedí para llevar y tmb excelente, pedí una hamburguesa y súper rico, sus ravioles rellenos de espinaca súper ricos y cremosos

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas, buenos precios

ArmandoVerod

Points +21

Mostly Veg
16 Jul 2022

Muy rico

Comida deliciosa, pero son antivacunas 😭🥺😷

MaxGoodrich

Points +16

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

Best vegan food we've had since in Mexico.

The best vegan food we've had since being in Mexico. The attention to detail from the aesthetic of the restaurant, the music, and the food is unparalleled. We had the Tofu a la mexicana, tlacoyos, and the chiqueiles and it was all DELICIOUS. If you can only choose one restaurant to try while you're in the area make sure you choose this one.

Pros: The food made by true chefs. , Clean,bright, modern space , Amazing service.

simonbartoschekgmx.ch

Points +16

Vegan
21 Mar 2022

Schönes Ambiente, leckeres Essen :)

Größere Portionen, günstigere Preise.

Pros: Das Essen ist sehr lecker., Die Location ist sehr schön.

Cons: Teuer., Portionen sehr klein.

AitorBegeta

Points +1567

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

Un sitio precioso con una cocina maravillosa

Un sitio precioso y acogedor con una cocina cuidada y deliciosa. Pedimos el sándwich de albóndigas, que es imprescindible, ensalada La Colmena, tacos de tinga de setas y un brownie de postre. Todo espectacular, con razón tiene fama de ser el mejor vegano de Cholula. Y además, personal muy amable. Totalmente recomendable.

s.2.0.0.0

Points +178

Vegan
12 Feb 2022

Fuego!!

Uff increíble lugar, llegamos y tenían muy buena musica, nos dieron la comida en menos de 15 min, delicioso sazón, increíble presentación! Definitivamente tengo que volver, gracias por existir

Pros: Todo vegano, Hermosa presentación, Gran variedad de salsas

Pierre-MathisPremat

Points +122

Vegan
17 Jan 2022

Incredible food

The pasta was incredible and the owner and staff super lovely #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan restaurants , Homemade food and organic

MKZ

Points +69

Vegan
06 Oct 2021

Lovely atmosphere

Have a very good (vegan) meal in a very relaxing atmosphere. Every dish is really delicious and (if the music is not too loud) it’s really really peaceful there! Highly recommended!

ElsyO

Points +40

Vegan
23 Jul 2021

Lento el servicio

Las porciones que sirven son sumamente diminutas en proporción al precio de los platillos, pozole sin hongos, con escasos maíces, sabor regular, escases de guarniciones, sandwiches diminutos y todo en general servido en pequeñas raciones.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-18

ViktoriaNieva-Gomez

Points +1162

Vegan
30 May 2021

Great place

Delicious vegan food with a lovely patio, nice atmosphere and very friendly service.

GuillermoPérezS

Points +48

Vegan
20 May 2021

Excelente

De lo mejor qué hay en puebla, siempre lo he recomendado a personas omnívoras y siempre han quedado encantadas.

Pros: Mucha variedad y todo vegano.

vegananarchisttravels

Points +49

Vegan
13 May 2021

The stuff of dreams

Sandwiches are delicious (we got the lentil burger and verde), especially with the salsas they give you, but the pozole was the standout star of this visit. The atmosphere is very inviting and perfect during Covid, and the staff is warm and helpful. Puebla centro is a bit of a food desert for vegans, so it was worth taking the tourist train out here for a day to find this gem!

xenniaphilipp

Points +17

Mostly Veg
06 Apr 2021

Delicious and affordable

The place is delicious and it has a lot of creative options, it’s not very expensive and the open concept is great right now (because of covid)

Pros: Many vegan options , Vegan desserts

Cons: No parking

LammertWesterhoff

Points +1056

Vegan
29 Nov 2020

Great place

One of the nicest vegan places I’ve been so far in Puebla. Really cute covered outdoor sitting area, friendly people and good food. They got some more healthy options and more creative food than most places.

NoahGreen

Points +53

Vegetarian
10 Jan 2020

Very delicious vegan food!

We visited it with the whole family on a trip to Puebla and every one (most are not vegetarian) was very happy with the vegan food. Top!

MaluBumbum

Points +25

Mostly Veg
04 Jan 2020

Amazing!

Best vegan restaurant in town!
Been there several times.
Try all the delicious pastas.
The garbanzo bean burger is incredible and the guacamole its soooo goood.
A nice hidden place for all vegan and vegetarian.
Cooked with much love.
And the owners are so cool.
Thank you!

Updated from previous review on 2016-01-26

Pros: Good Service, Tasteful food, Nice atmosfere

Lifeofisabel

Points +219

Vegan
29 Aug 2019

Overpriced Microwaved Meal

We went here for a nice meal. I ordered the agnolotti with the cream sauce. What I got was nothing short of a microwave meal. The outside was boiling hot, but the inside was still frozen. The sauce tasted like raw garlic. It was inedible. I had to ask them to reheat it. They didn’t apologize or seem to care. $10 is a lot for an entree in Cholula, so I forced myself to eat it. I also got a kombucha that tasted like sparkling water with a shot of vinegar and muddled fruit. I couldn’t drink it.

Pros: It’s all vegan, Open later than other restaurants

Cons: Expensive , Bad Service

AndreVeganSquadLegooo

Points +58

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Great

La Colmena in Cholula is real good. They seem to make everything in house, even the ketchup and mustard the server told me. Thus it is juust on the pricier side for Mexico. Server was a real nice guy. Good spot.

Perdon para mi espanol muy mal. La comida aqui es muy rica. Creo que todo estan hecho de casa. Asi que, es un poco mas caro. Pero todo que comi fue muy sabroso. Lo recomiendo mucho especialmente para una noche especial.

Pros: Food Great, Nice service, Everything seems to be made in house




This page has been viewed 5489 times.