• La Carreta Vegana - Maybe closed

  • (7)
    8
    Loading...
  • Vegan-store Veg Store
    Vegan

Vegan health food store stocking cereals, natural oils, nuts, dried goods, snacks, cold pressed juices and more. Vegan lunch served upon reservation. Previously based in Palomino. NOTE: Maybe closed January 2024 - please send updates to HappyCow. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-7:00pm.


7 Reviews

First Review by KatrinTolkmitt

MikeFeinstein

Points +1490

Vegan
17 Dec 2022

They are open when they don't seem open

This is a family run place on a beautiful property with its own fresh vegetable, fruit and herb garden in back. When their store in front is open in the daytime, they are open, but it seems their hours vary a bit. But even when it is closed, you can holler inside the gate and they may come out from immediately next door where they live and you'll find they are open after all. That is how I ended up eating there. They had a prepared vegan meal for the day which was hearty, tasty and economical. A good choice especially since it is on the street which leads to the path to hike up into the mountains. So if you go there for a day hike, you can eat well on your return, as long as you don't get back too late. And the husband speaks good English.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-17

Advertisement

Forager

Points +325

Vegan
26 Sep 2022

Good prices but they spam me on Whatsapp

Great little wife/husband-owned setup just outside the main touristy strip of palomino. The food is healthy and nourishing and tasty and the portions are huge. The owner speaks impeccable English. Unfortunately, they started randomly messaging me again 9 months after my trip on whatsapp, sending me the flyers for random things, and continue to send this stuff after I told them I was not in the country. So I'm reducing their rating for spamming.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-18

Pros: High-quality whole food, All vegan, Delivery available

Cons: They will spam you on whatsapp

oghalps

Points +126

Vegan
14 Aug 2022

cute shop and delicious home-cooked meals

la carreta vegana is a cute little shop in southern palomino for bulk vegan products, treats, and homemade kombucha. andres and patricia are lovely and super helpful, and will provide delicious vegan lunch or dinner upon request ahead of time.

Nieve

Points +3840

Vegan
24 Feb 2022

Cute spot, basic lunch

Behind the shop is a yard with a few tables to have lunch at, it's a cute little spot. You have to text/call ahead of time to arrange that you'll come for lunch. We had soup, a lemonade, and a plate with quinoa, plantain, and some shredded veggies. The soup was very tasty, the plate wasn't the most flavorful but it fills you up and was healthy. The shop offers different products in jars such as beans, rice, etc., It was nice to see this initiative to cut down on plastic

humaneeater

Points +228

Vegan
18 Jan 2022

WOW

Fantastic food. Wonderful service. Extremely friendly owner.

We ordered food via WhatsApp and had it delivered to our hostel, it was extremely affordable costing us less than 40k pesos.

This place is a little south off the main road, through some rough terrain streets.

I would highly recommend anyone visiting the area to frequent their food stall and talk with the wonderful owner (who speaks fantastic English) and order some food. You have to order in advance so they can have it cooked up for you.

Our meal included a pumpkin soup, frijoles, a beautiful sauté have vegetables and a wonderful beet salad that filled our plates.

Fantastic!

Pros: Very kind and friendly , Super delicious food, Cheap

Cons: Far off the main road

AnthonyPolicano

Points +558

Vegan
17 May 2021

High quality comida in Palomino

So nice to find super healthy and satisfying vegan fare on the Caribbean coast. It’s off the beaten path, but in a really cute and un-touristy neighborhood across the road from Palomino’s tourist strip. So many things to like here. Lunch was amazing–we were full and felt super for the rest of the day. IMPORTANT: At the moment *you must reserve your meals in advance* via WhatsApp, so I wouldn’t just show up unexpected or you might be disappointed.

Their vegan store has all the staples you could wish for, plus some cool treats (we tried the coconut torrone, great! and 2 types of tofu–the smoked one, fantastic!🤤) Also nutritional yeast, cacao nibs, coconut oils, fancy grains, eco-products.

The couple who run it are wonderful; we chatted at length and Andres imparted a handful of DIY day-trip adventures to take in the region, exactly our type of activities. Their space is great, too: they run a home school, the store, lunch, birding tours… love it all. They’re new, but I’m sure Palomino will treasure their presence in town very soon.

Pros: Nourishing, generous, delicious menú del día, Health food store with many rare items we love, Run by kind, shiny people ✨

Cons: Random location, but nice to walk to

KatrinTolkmitt

Points +45

Vegan
17 May 2021

Fresh tasty food & lovely owners

So happy we found this little gem away from the tourist restaurants in Palomino. It’s in a nice local neighborhood, the owners are super friendly and helpful, gave great tips on the area and the food was delicious and made with love! Soup, salad, drink and main for 15.000 cop and they also have a store where you can stock up on many vegan products. We’ll definitely be back, highly recommended!!

Pros: All vegan, Super fresh & tasty , clean food, Lovely owners

Cons: The food is a bit on the salty side




This page has been viewed 1368 times.