Lacto
Ovo
Japanese
Western
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A small craft beer hall that offers snacks. Vegan choices include nuts & snacks and seasonal vegetable pickles. Open Mon-Fri 3:00pm-10:00pm, Sat-Sun 1:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Kyoto Beer Lab
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by ColinGunther

SaraStrickler

Points +102

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Limited vegan options but great beer and fun environment

We popped in to get out of the rain and had several really delicious beers. The menu clearly marks which food options and beers are vegan, and the staff was friendly and welcoming.

Advertisement

JosieGodley

Points +44

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

Amazing

Great beer and atmosphere. The art and the merch that is available to buy is displayed on the walls. The tap in the bathroom is a beer pump which was a cool touch. Try the orange and cocoa bar snack. It’s made from upcycled ingredients and works really well with a beer.

Pros: Local beers, Upcycled ingredient snacks, Great location

Cons: Sucker punch beer - tastes like sick

Vizior

Points +80

Vegan
25 Feb 2023

Delicious Beer and Clearly Labeled Vegan

Fantastic beer they brew themselves. The menu also clearly labels what is vegan and what isn't.

KitaRadha

Points +81

Vegan
23 Jan 2023

Great beers, not heaps of vegan food

Amazing beers but the stew doesn’t exist on the menu anymore so it’s just vegan snacks (nuts, edamame and pickles) which are clearly labeled vegan.

lenaaleew

Points +121

Vegan
05 Jan 2023

No vegan main dishes

Unfortunately they had a very limited menu when we visited, I was really looking forward to the vegan stew but there was only a (incredibly) tine bowl of nuts and some edamame available.

If you're coming here for beer only, it's quite nice though and besides one exception, all of them are vegan.
Also, as I saw from the review pictures on here, I expected some crazy beers like the blueberry sour or something, but they only had regular ones.

Pros: Nice place, Good beer

Cons: No real vegan food options

papu

Points +48

Vegan
24 Jan 2020

Good beer, minimal food

Beer was good, some interesting options on the menu. Fries were ok. Service was very friendly and ambiance enjoyable.

aprilnicole52

Points +501

Vegetarian
09 Nov 2019

Tasty Beer, Not Many Vegan Options

Small local brewery with a modern flare. Local draw for ex-pats searching for a good micro brew and friendly faces. Staff is warm and inviting, and when the indoor bar fills up guests are welcome to spill into the outdoor patio.

Pros: Fantastic local brews, Vegan items clearly marked, English spoken

Cons: Only snacks available for vegans, No beer flights during busy season

mayatalise

Points +811

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

Great beer and vegan options

Both the beer and food menus are clearly labeled vegan or vegetarian. There is a good selection of vegan beer and tasty vegan food.

Pros: Clear labels, Vegan food options

ReiAmber

Points +3086

Vegan
01 May 2019

Staff member didn't understand what was vegan that well

I was first told that none of the beers were vegan, only some of the food. Then the person I was talking to consulted with someone else then told me all of the beers were vegan. Apparently she thought all the beers had lactose, but another staff member told her that wasn't the case. I am not sure I'd go back even though I really appreciated having the marked vegan food options.

The shop is stylish and I'd previously admired the building when walking by.



Updated from previous review on 2019-05-01

christytoes

Points +148

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Best beer in Kyoto!

Okay so we live in Seattle and are used to drinking really good beer. This place had amazing beer! Happy to see vegan snacks on the menu clearly labeled. We got a vegan wine stew to share. It was just okay but the beer made up for it.

Pros: Delicious beer, Cool area, Cool staff

erika.veg

Points +136

Vegan
20 Mar 2019

Go here!

We were in Kyoto for two nights and went here, well, both nights. The bartenders are really nice, and the craft beer is excellent. They have an English menu with clearly marked vegan and vegetarian options. We only had the fries as a snack (which were fresh made and delicious) but saw a few other vegan snacks and one entree on the menu. Go for the beer, stay for the friendly atmosphere and good music!

Pros: Excellent beer, Really nice bartenders, Great atmosphere

TraveLaika

Points +495

Vegan
05 Mar 2019

Truly inspiring beer :))))

Really nice beer with great staff members that serve you the best and an owner with such a spirit😄Really happy to meet all of them and enjoy the vibe, great music, great atmosphere and good edamame's (vegan) I had with accompany my food😄

Enjoy and go for that place, truly great!!!

Human_Bean

Points +198

Vegan
05 Mar 2019

Great beer with a few vegan food selections

I would give this place 5/5 if I could. Delicious beer (I particularly enjoyed the green tea ale and the "Sucker punch" sour) available for 700 yen half pints or 1000 yen pints. Flights of three beers are also available for 1400 yen. Most importantly, all food items are labeled vegetarian, vegan, or neither.

As for food, I ordered the vegetable sticks with sesame dip and the French fries. The vegetables included cucumber, bell pepper, daikon radish, carrot, and a single cherry tomato. The sesame dip (vegan) was great. Appears to be mostly sesame paste (nerigoma), but it worked wonderfully. The French fries were a huge surprise. In a country with rather sub-par fries, these were great. A fairly small serving, but really thick, salty, and delicious.

Pros: Great beer made on site (rare in Japan!), Surprisingly great French fries, All vegan and vegetarian options labeled

Cons: Prices are a bit high

NickBurns

Points +99

Vegan
14 Nov 2018

Delicious authentic craft beer spot

It's hard to find this kind of microbrew with flights and a decent selection. It was delicious (even for my beer-hating girlfriend)

Pros: Taste, Variety

michelledesu

Points +162

Vegan
23 Oct 2018

Amazing craft beer with vegan food options

As an Australian, I've never been able to live down that I hate beer. The guys at Kyoto Beer Lab set me up with a tasting paddle and I began with trepidation. Through the beer tasting journey, I've been cured of my shameful affliction. The raspberry beer was my favourite! They have a vegan chef that works there and they are very well versed on what vegan means.

Pros: Less than a 15 min walk from the station, Nice, chill vibe, English spoken and English menu

sarahhh

Points +328

Vegan
25 May 2018

Vegan friendly beers

We had drinks but didn’t eat here (as we’d just been to Veg-Out round the corner) - bartenders very friendly and good English. The beers are generally vegan (not filtered with gelatine etc) but check for the stout (lactose) and in general before you order. Great vibes here, and good beer!

robynie

Points +101

Vegan
22 May 2018

Friendly service, needs more vegan

Just a few little snacks really, but friendly bartender recommended some vegan restaurants to try.

ColinGunther

Points +68

Vegetarian
22 Apr 2018

small and quirky

A new beer hall near the canal, that brews its own beers. I have been three times and the ale is quite good. they have an interesting chocolate stout but I did not ask if vegan. As most of the ales are brewed in house or at their parent company , it is safe for vegetarians when I asked. Their food menu is small but they have a few specific Vegan foods that are reasonably priced and tasty. The guys who run are very friendly and will answer any dietary issues and they speak excellent English

Pros: the Ales, pleasant atmosphere, helpful staff

Cons: can be tricky to find.




This page has been viewed 7803 times.