• Kung Pao Bistro

  • (10)
    23
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Chinese
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Chinese food restaurant that also offers extensive vegetarian/vegan dishes and uses various mock meats. Sample dishes such as sweet & sour vege chicken dish and vege kung pao beef. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri 11:00am-11:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Kung Pao Bistro
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by bignameactress

BradleyParks

Points +18

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

Great!

Love this place. Separate vegan menu so it’s clear what you can order. Eat inside if you can so it’s super fresh. I get the robot chicken, soup, and broccoli beef💗

Advertisement

mmquinla

Points +80

Vegetarian
06 Dec 2022

If you’re missing Chinese food, this is the place to go!

Full vegan menu! Vegan ginger garlic chicken was especially good

ShaunnaCG

Points +158

Vegetarian
15 Oct 2021

Great Lunch Special

Food can be hit or miss but there are many options. Best for vegetarian not vegan eaters. They have a bar and free parking. Sorry to see the SFV locatiin closed.

carrievegan

Points +34

Vegan
27 Jan 2021

Not the best....

Very oily. and it’s really a hit or miss...

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Too expensive for the average quality , Over cooked, chewy.

yungboy

Points +218

Vegan
25 Aug 2019

orange chicken was a miss

and the loh mein was mediocre

Pros: but the server was super nice

MikeFeinstein

Points +1490

Vegan
19 Aug 2019

Nourishing and tasty

I stopped into Kung Pao Bistro for the first time after rollerblading 14 miles for Ciclavia in West Hollywood and Hollywood (www.ciclavia.org/ciclavia_meet_the_hollywoods19), so I had a big appetite, but wanted to eat healthy.

I ordered two side dishes the Stir Fried Chinese Broccoli in Oyster Sauce and the Stir Fried Asparagus in Black Bean Sauce. You can see their regular prices here on their menu www.kungpaobistro.com/menu, but they actually have happy hour prices that made them a few dollars less on each, a great bargain. Both were super delicious and I could feel the nutrition replenishing my body (see pics below).

Then for my main course, I ordered teh Vegan Black Pepper Chicken (Crispy Vegan Fried Chicken, Zucchini, Carrot, Celery, Garlic Black Pepper Sauce). The vegan chicken was perfect crispy texture, the vegetables danced off the plate with flavor and the sauce was to die for. Really, the whole thing was soooooo good. Just a solid place for a really nutritious meal when you need to eat right.


Updated from previous review on 2019-08-19

100milepants

Points +46

Raw
11 Jul 2017

GMO oil

Cooks with GMO soy oil. Ugh!

Cons: GMO oil in everything.

Veggie Army

Points +107

Vegetarian
19 May 2015

Modern and Trendy with Tasty Fusion Food

Under the recommendation of a friend I'm met with, I arrive to one of the worst parking lots (*see Note) as it competes with the Whole Foods Market, but hey, if you do get a parking spot, you can shop after you eat. As I wait for my lunch companion to arrive, I notice the "communist" gray with ironic red trim that reminds me of the lucky red envelops you receive on lunar new year. I couldn't help but think of a rich culture escaping and rising above an oppressive and depressing mindset.

Once my friend arrives we order Vegan Orange Chicken Lunch Special and the Vegan Beef with Broccoli. This establishment carries a large vegan menu which also sensitive to food allergies and gluten free diets. As we wait for the food, we discuss the interior design and to my relief he says "oh, yea...this is totally communist gray...and it's totally ironic". Also, check out the bathroom, it reminds me of the Tim Burton movie "Beetlejuice". Let me know if you think so, too.

The food arrives and to my delight the lunch special is served on a sectional red and "communist" gray tray that's about as big as an old school laptop with a huge scoop of rice, egg drop soup, salad, condiments, and a tasty egg roll. A good egg roll makes everything better. My Orange Chicken's crunchy edges balances textures and flavors. The ginger zings in the salad dressing. We agree the egg drop soup is authentically slimy, but its unusual vegetable overload redeems it. "I usually don't get the veggie beef, but this is really good," my sleepy friend seems woken up by the surprise enjoyment. I sample a fork full to whole-heartedly concur.

I wish I knew about this place when I worked in West Hollywood.

Veg out,

Veggie Army
www.VeggieArmy.com

*Note to West Hollywood: you've known that you're one of the hottest most fashionable areas in Southern California for decades now...get some affordable parking structures.

Blind_Mary

Points +44

Vegan
16 Mar 2013

Definitely Worth Checking Out

My parents were in town visiting so I tried to find a place that was vegan friendly. I stumbled upon Kung Pao Bistro and I have to say I'm in love. I tried the vegan chicken and spinach wonton soup, vegan cashew chicken, and vegan robot chicken; all of which are phenomenal. They also have a large tea selection which is nice. The servers are friendly and the food came out pretty fast. I'll definitely be back!

Pros: Excellent Service, Delicious Dishes, Large Vegan Selection

bignameactress

Points +80

Vegetarian
24 Sep 2011

Favorite chinese restaurant!!

Welcome to HappyCow, Kung Pao!!

This is, hands down, my favorite chinese restaurant simply based on their vegetarian mock meat dishes.

The Vegetarian Orange Chicken and the Vegan Kung Pao Beef are TO-DIE-FOR. Admittedly, I've not tried many other items, because these are just so delicious I can't imagine another dish tasting any better.

-The Vegetarian Orange Chicken is excellently sweet and crunchy/chewy, but not too sweet.
-The Vegan Kung Pao Beef has a delicious assortment of vegetables, and the crunchy peanuts make it so delicious!! I actually love to take this dish home and eat it with A1 sauce,. the beef is so beef-like that it goes wonderfully with steak sauce.
Together, the beef dish and the chicken dish are a perfect pairing.

I have since moved away from Los Angeles, but this is a definite stop anytime I am in town. Cannot say enough good things about this restaurant.

The only negatives are that they also serve meat and that the dishes are a bit too expensive. However, the portions are generous, so dishes can last for a few meals.

I would rate this restaurant 5 'cows' but I can't, because it serves meat. (According to happycow's rules.)

Pros: DELICIOUS food, High quality to-go containers (eco), DELICIOUS FOOD!

Cons: They also serve meat, A little expensive (but well worth it)




This page has been viewed 3205 times.