Kunda Vegetarian Cafe

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 22 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

Moo 91/16 Klong Khong, Koh Lanya Yai, Koh Lanta, Thailand

Vegetarian restaurant, boutique, and garden lounge frequented by tourists. Makes daily specials, karma menu, soups, salads, crepes, pasta, kombucha, hummus, and burgers. After 5pm takeaway only. No MSG. No wifi. No bookings. Open Tue-Sun 8:00am-5:30pm.

Category: Vegan-friendly, Organic, Western, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out

Reviews (22)

First Review by reissausta ja ruokaa

So-so? - Edit

I came for lunch and was scared off by the prices unfortunately. If I was in my local place of residence, sure I'd pay those prices, but not while I'm traveling and trying to get value for money so I can afford to travel for longer.

I got a soy chai latte and chocolate cake. The drink was great, the cake was not. It wasn't a cake texture by any means, I feel bad for saying it, but it was like a failed brownie. Wouldn't recommend it.

I'd say give this place a go if you have time and a few extra baht to spend. If not, don't stress.

Pros: Nice decore

Cons: Expensive , Foods not quality , No wifi

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2017 - Some customers are so-so. We serve value and people get what they pay for, hand made, daily fresh, home cooked western style gourmet cuisine. We are not a cheap thai stall, we are a garden restaurant since 2011. .
We might be expensive for you but our highest price meal 'The kunda special' is only 350 baht. . Our meals start at 120 baht. This is not 7-11.
As we win great praise for our cake, we cant take your post seriously.....especially that you posted it three times...odd...we also advertise NO WIFI. What ever..... we cant make everyone happy, we concentrate on quality food for quality people.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome food, charming ambience, but smoking ruins the meal - Edit

Delicious, large portions.

Pros: Great vegan options, charming intimate patio garde

Cons: Smoking is allowed in the charming intimate patio

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2017 - We dont allow smoking in the garden....some people smoke without asking. You can point them to the no smoking signs.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Poor Service, Bland Food - Edit

Perhaps we had big expectations of Kunda, but my wife and I were not impressed. The place was very busy and we couldn't get a seat when we walked in. When we tried to walk into the seating area in the back, a cook/owner stopped my wife right away to tell us the place is full. She asked how long it may be to get a seat and she replied "I'm not kicking anyone out". If people have ordered their food and are eating, the wait time would not be too long. It was just an inquiry, as we don't mind waiting.

So we sat and waited about 15 minutes and decided to order for takeaway as our hotel was only 2 minutes away.

We ordered 2 of the same dish (vegan supreme I believe). It was a slice of veggie loaf with some veggies on it, plus a small salad. For 200 Baht, each. Expensive. Very bland tasting food. It had little to no flavour. I agreed with my wife when she described it as tasting as airplane food.

We figured this restaurant would be somewhere we'd be coming back to. I don't mind paying a little extra for food if the food is good. But clearly our dish wasn't.

Pros: Close Proximity to Hotel

Cons: Rude Staff, Bland Food, Expensive

3 Responses
Read More

Kunda Cafe 01 Apr 2017 - We have 100% hand made meals, daily fresh full of herbs, spices and coconut oil and always busy in high season. Kunda isnt for everyone, and if the restaurant was full the owner has the right to stop you from loitering. So you had to wait. . . Try 7-11, they are cheaper and faster.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DavidJanuszkiewicz 06 Apr 2017 - Based on that response from kunda cafe, I'll be advising people not to come. Insulting a customer isn't a smart move!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2017 - Hey we are honest. We have always remained so, since 2011. We are not for everyone. Never said we were. Our menu also states our 'sarcastic' terms of the kunda concept restaurant......try to read next time ...and David if you cant afford to travel, dont complain, if you got nothing nice to say, why open your mouth. We are a happy team making hundreds of people happy each week...... with great home cooked 100% original vegetarian cuisine....... no meat cooked on location.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very tasty food - Edit

We ordered "Special Meal"Veggie patty with home made bread and hummus ,-350bacht. Bit pricey but definitely worth it.

Pros: All home made, Fresh, garden

Cons: Pricey for the area

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2017 - Thank you, that is the most expensive plate on our menu, we are the only 100% original vegetarian vegan restaurant since 2011. A pizza can be more expensive next door, so we are very average in our pricing. Thank you for your visit. We do our best to make people happy  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice food - Edit

The food is excellent, a bit more pricy for the region though. Last order to take away at 5pm, they close at 6pm to prepare food for the next day

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

100% go here if you're on Koh Lanta - Edit

The only veggie café on Koh Lanta is doing a great job. Yummy food, welcoming service and a lovely atmosphere.

Thank you!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great atmosphere - Edit

Great looking shop, friendly staff and a beautiful garden make this place a must visit. Still we found the food a bit blend.

Pros: garden, shop, staff

Cons: food was blend

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

closed - Edit

dont know if it is because of low season or whatever but its closed. they dont say anything on their website or outside their restaurant so i have no idea whats going on

Cons: closed, no explaination

2 Responses
Read More

reissausta ja ruokaa 02 Sep 2016 - There´s a sign on their now saying that they will be open again on 6th September 2016.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Kunda Cafe 20 Apr 2017 - We always have a sign. Usually on the door. This season we are closed from 1st May for one or two months, renovations.......the sign will say CLOSED. Basically, if the doors open and a sign says OPEN then we are OPEN. If the doors closed and the sign says CLOSED we are CLOSED. Kinda self explanatory really.....and MONDAY we are usually closed. Hope that helps. Cheers n smiles.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, bad service and small choice - Edit

After eating in non-veg restaurants and struggling with many problems I was really looking forward to eat in this place. First disappointment - just a few tables and there was no place to seat, second disappointment - there was nothing to order for dinner! Menu - 4 small pages - contains drinks and desserts and salads, but not too much for lunch or dinner. Finally, we ordered 2 crepes with vegetables and salad, which tasted really good, but the waitress didn't understand our order and after more than half an hour of waiting we've got only one meal, although we order two... We shared this one meal and went to the other restaurants for proper dinner.
Updated from previous review on Sunday February 28, 2016

Pros: vegetarian, tasty food, especially fresh salad, nice place

Cons: expensive, waitress didn't understand our order, very small choice of main courses

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2016 - Sorry we have few tables and a small menu, but we try and keep it small and intimate as its all home made fresh food. We do always have DAILY SPECIALS that are HUGE, most people order this as a Main meal...and still require take away to finish it...and we have removed our staff that had caused issues. We appreciate all response. Hope you come and visit next time, you can reserve a table if you let us know early enough. As its all hand made cuisine and its a tropical island in the middle of the Andaman sea with people on relaxed holidays... a slight wait can be expected...especially if the tables are full. That's part of slowing down....and enjoying the island speed.....and understanding the speed of the island. some people call it the island charm.....  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food and service! - Edit

excellent placer to eat vegan por ovolacto in koh lanta!! Food and shakes/smoothies are done in The moment by The lovely owner. peacefull garden were you can chill and also sacred jewlery made by The owner as well.

Pros: vegan options!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Absolutely loved it! - Edit

I went to have lunch and dinner there a few times and I absolutely loved it!
Seriously - amazing home made food and you should try the smoothies!

Lena does a great job and is more than happy to turn any of the vegetarian dishes into a vegan one.

Pros: delicious !!!, great atmosphere, awesome music

Cons: mosquitos

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Thanks for being here in Koh Lanta! - Edit

Absolute loved our dining experience. Well worth the money (although higher than your 'average' Thai place,it's not 'average' food!).
Meals are huge, go on an empty stomach!
I foresee many meals here before I leave this town.

Pros: Terrific food, Great atmosphere, Quirky

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

beautiful and tasty / wunderschön und lecker - Edit

During our stay we were here four times. It was always delicious. It is very nicely decorated, you feel very comfortable here. Auch veganes Essen ist kein Problem.

Während unseres Urlaubes waren wir vier mal hier. Es war jedesmal sehr lecker. Sehr schön eingerichte, man fühlt sich hier sehr wohl. Auch veganes Essen ist kein Problem.

Pros: Geschmack, Dekoration, Freundlichkeit

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

TOO EXPENSIVE - Edit

I was so happy to find this place but seeing the prices was a shock !!!!! Did not eat there ( backpacker budget) main between 200-300 Baht.

Pros: Nice menu

Cons: Expensive

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 12 Apr 2016 - We also have starter food and smoothies that are cheaper than a main.... Please realize: We are the only 100% Vegetarian restaurant on an island in the middle of the Andaman sea, with mostly home made on-site cuisine. Hand made, hummus, crepes, bread, white cheese, yogurt, dips and sauces, etc... We serve large portions that are loved by many, sorry if its above your budget. Good food is not cheap and cheap food is not good. Especially very tasty home made fresh cuisine.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

kunda. - Edit

food: pretty good. lots of flavor and portion size was large. i could have easily split the carrot salad with someone and been full. the shakes were delicious.
price: expensive. even higher than restaurants in bangkok.
atmosphere: back garden is lovely. very relaxed. too bad i couldn't enjoy it.
additional notes: ugh. smokers everywhere. it bothers me that restaurants promote healthy mind, body and food, but allow smoking. this totally put us off to the point we got up from sitting in the back garden to sitting in the front of the shop where it was super noisy. it faces the road. also, do not go if you're in a hurry. everything is made fresh and there are only 2 people working.

Pros: delicious, most things can be made vegan

Cons: smokers, expensive

1 Response
Read More

Kunda Cafe 20 Apr 2017 - We have no smoking signs, just point the offenders to the signs. It is an outdoor garden restaurant, some people have smoking habits. Our prices are clearly stated on the menu out front. For hand made euro styled gourmet cuisine we are very reasonable in price, cheaper than a pizza, cheaper than a mcdonalds meal, our highest meal is 350 baht. Where do you eat in Bangkok? Yes, we are on a road, the only road on a tropical island in the andaman sea, its not really that busy as its a small island. Locals on bikes and some tourists. Sorry you had a bad day and have issues with others that dont conform to your standards. We certainly cant please everyone. But we can continue to make great food for great people. Maybe try again and personally tell them nasty ol' smokers off, we are quite busy cooking and cant see everything, thats what our CCTV does. Thanks for coming, hope your next visit brings a big smile.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Je t'adore - Edit

This is a wonderful place. The atmosphere is super relaxed and you could while away many hours on the comfy patio. The real star is the food though, there are plenty of vegan options including the most amazing garlicky carrot salad. The pasta pesto was another fave and if the owner Lena is in the house get her to go off-menu and make you a mango shake with fresh sweet basil it'll knock your socks off.

Pros: Relaxed, Super fresh food, Easy to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious - Edit

food is great. especially the bread. juices are also amazing.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place and food - Edit

This little restaurant/shop/tattoo shop is cosy, has good, fresh food on the menu and the back garden is a little sanctuary. The juices and home cooked bread are marvellous.

Pros: nice atmosphere , friendly, energetic boss

Cons: opening hours are relative

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice shakes and juices - and backyard garden - Edit

Kunda Anti-Pop Cafe has a nice wibe. Especially the backyard cafe is a cool place to chill out. The food menu is on the boring side - it could be anywhere in the world, no vegan versions of thai classics available at all. However, juice menu is delicious. We tried juice of carrot, apple, lime & ginger and shake of pineapple, mango, lime and chilli - both heavy on spice. What a heaven for taste buds.

Pros: nice juices and shakes, they use organic veggies

Cons: boring food list

1 Response
Read More

CaraMadeha 09 Jan 2015 - hellou:) any dish in Kunda you can eat in VEGAN FORM...just ask....boring menu? :) haha...thanx men...try to find zapiekanka or tomato soup or creeps or special salad...i hope next time you will try my kitchen...not only juice ;) respect  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A real gem - Edit

We went there today for breakfast and where amazed by the atmosphere in the backyard.
No extra charge for soy milk. The coffee, serving size and food quality was excellent. Very friendly staff, speaks English with English menu. They make their own chocolate (not vegan) and dark bread (yummy!). U can also get tattooed in the front shop! Definitely a must go place if u happen to be on Koh Lanta as it is the only vegetarian place.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday December 23, 2014

Pros: All vegetarian place, many vegan options, English , food quality & taste

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, understand vegan.. - Edit

Nice setting,,good food, does coffee and shakes with soy/coconut

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good hummus and some hungarian stew - Edit

Great that a tourist island Koh Lanta has at least one vegetarian cafe! I had a hummus plate and it was a big portion. I ordered it vegan (no tsatsiki) so I got a lot of hummus, three home-made-style toasts/breads and lots of salad with herby sauce. I would definetely eat this portion again.

My spouse had a hungarian-style stew/sauce with brown sticky rice. It was good and tasted like something russian or georgian.


Updated from previous review on Tuesday April 22, 2014

Pros: food was good, not an ordinary menu with thai foods

Cons: not on the beach

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Koh Lanta Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Kunda Vegetarian Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4161 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support