• Kunara Organic Natural Food Store and Cafe

  • (7)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Western
Juice bar
Take-out
Australian
Non-veg

Organic and natural foods supermarket with a cafe inside. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-4:00pm, Thu 5:30pm-8:00pm, Sun 9:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Kunara Organic Natural Food Store and Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by mabatpalm

lesbeanflannel

Points +167

Vegan
10 Nov 2023

Just alright

The store itself has a lot of health conscious options and is nice to browse around, but they all come at a price. My favourite is the naked Byron garlic aioli- I could not recommend enough to other vegans, but it can be bought cheaper at IGA!

The cafe is just alright. The cost is expensive and the food is very average. There are definitely better places to eat that are more affordable. We tried the nachos plate when we went and were not fans and have yet to try again.

Pros: Good selection

Cons: Price

Advertisement

AustraliaRealEstate

Points +46

Vegan
13 May 2023

Good but SERIOUSLY overpriced.

FOOD STORE = Floor staff service, range, quality of products all good. But SERIOUSLY overpriced. Some items can be found at Supermarkets for HALF the price that Kunara charges. And their 'cheap', 'past use by date' section contains items you'd throw straight in the bin.

As they have a monopoly on Organic produce in a bricks and mortar store they have obviously decided to price gouge customers while they can.

Writing to management/owners about feedback, suggestions, complaints, or improvement gets no response whatsoever.

The sentiments expressed in their magazine don't seem to correlate to the way the 'business' operates.

And have heard rumblings from staff over the years.

CAFE = Good, but again, seriously overpriced, small portions. Organic content is not transparent and staff are vague about that too.

I only shop or go to the Cafe here when I have to.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-13

Pros: Range, Quality

Cons: Overpriced, No management response to emails, letters, Non masked staff

Ladylock

Points +622

Vegan
25 Oct 2017

average

Overpriced, especially for average to small portion sizes. They aren't as vegan friendly as they used to be a few years ago, not as many vegan options. They seem to focus more on gluten free and paleo.

Updated: 26/10/17
Above review still applies.
although they have a new menu with several new vegan options, the prices are really steep and I was disappointed with the food.
A little tip:
Don't get the sweet potato fries, they are "oven baked" ie sloppy undercooked sweet potato pieces with coconut yoghurt :/ nothing like chips at all. That is how they make them though apparently.

Updated from previous review on 2017-01-02

Pros: Food store- big range of organic products

Cons: Customer service (mostly) subpar, Expensive , Small portions

Happychillieat

Points +74

Vegan
29 Dec 2016

nice coffee stop

Been here twice now, love their wide range of desserts which they have a list for you to cross check ingredients and they labelled out all vegan options. No extra charge for getting bonsoy/almond milk for coffee. Big fan of their chocolate cake! Price is acceptable.

Pros: Organic bulk buy store next door

Cons: Can get a bit busy on the weekend

ClarkeVincent

Points +163

Vegan
26 Jul 2015

complacent

This place gets very busy and now it's popular its lost its appeal. Lunch cost $20 and we had to wait over 30mins during a quiet period for staff to put our order on a plate and serve to us. No vegan dessert options anymore either, they've decided gluten free is the only priority.

Marvel

Points +84

Vegan
16 Nov 2014

Best Vegan burger and Sushi!

These guys know how to fill you up with goodness. There is always at least two vegan salad options to compliment a main dish (almost half the cabinet is vegan). It's good to have choice, although I find it hard to go past the veggie burger or the sushi! yum! They also have a good selection of sweet treats if you're in the mood.

Pros: Numerous Vegan options, Good range of seating, Fresh and filling

Cons: Too busy for their own good, Staff lack positivity and energy

mabatpalm

Points +112

Vegan
22 Jan 2013

Organic, vegan supplies galore

Great store, ever expanding, which supplies fresh organic - usually local - fruit and veg, along with everything you could possibly imagine for Vegans, including bulk bins of every conceivable flour, grain, beans etc, cleaning products, make-up and toiletries, an in-store Naturopath, a brand new deli which has some vegan choices, frozen goods, non-dairy milks, Peace Pies, Coyo yoghurt. Fantastic selection.

Pros: Great variety

Cons: Expensive, Hard to find staff to help, Middle of no-where




This page has been viewed 4247 times.