• Koto Grill & Sushi

  • (13)
    32
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Chinese
Japanese
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Japanese and Chinese restaurant with a separate vegetarian menu offering sushi and stir-frys, some of which are vegan and others that could possibly be made vegan upon request. Please be sure to ask about fish and oyster sauces. Open Mon-Wed 11:30am-10:00pm, Thu-Fri 11:30am-1:00am, Sat 12:30pm-1:00am, Sun 12:30pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Koto Grill & Sushi
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by AlinaRapaj

SeeLovesCave

Points +48

Vegan
10 Dec 2022

Lots of vegan options here

Koto is our go-to vegan takeout. Their vegan spicy chicken (it’s breaded mushrooms) their vegan β€œtuna” sushi options, and any vegan noodle dish has been great. You can always ask for no egg in the fried rice as well. Nice people.

Pros: Accommodating professional & friendly staff, Lots of vegan options in every category

Cons: Prices jumped higher

Advertisement

sophiepopiel

Points +88

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Great Vegan options!

I got the onigiri special and potato katsu (not sure if vegan, I think it was vegetarian πŸ˜•). They were able to make the poke bowl gf for my celiac partner and made it fresh! Great kitchen staff 😊

lizardlucas

24 Oct 2022

The katsu is vegan according to their online menu.

Muzza7

Points +130

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Great vegan options!!!

There were a lot of vegan options! Mostly stuff labeled as vegetarian in the menu, with a few things labeled as vegan as well. Great portions. I got the Vegan Kimchi Soup, a crunchy sushi roll and the vegan onigiri. Loved all of them

JonathanSpiegel

Points +21

Vegetarian
03 Sep 2022

We come from out of state to eat here

Absolutely delicious spot in Salem with good hours, not usually too busy and excellent vegan options. Can't recommend the Danny roll highly enough. It's a staple every time we come to Witch City.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Super tasty food, Ready quickly

erino219

Points +65

Vegan
17 Jun 2022

Reliable Favorite

So many vegan options! My favorites are the cauliflower app, Tofu Chow Foon, vegan tuna sushi, and Danny’s roll (mango, sweet potato, and avocado). The staff are super nice and the mixed drinks are great. Always have a great experience.

zachweeks

Points +236

Vegan
29 Nov 2021

Many solid vegan options + very fresh vegan sushi

Updating my review just to confirm that Koto is still amazing. They are constantly adding more vegan options to their menu and are still some of the best food in town and best sushi on the North Shore.

Very vegan friendly and a lot of the menu items are vegan friendly as-is. The sushi tastes super fresh and is always well prepared. Sometimes they will have specifically-vegan specials including a vegan "tuna" roll. Good prices and solid portions. Always super consistent and have never had a "just okay" or "bad" meal here.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-12

Pros: lots of vegan friendly options, good value and portions, very consistent

Cons: definitely a bar vibe, but it's fine

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +1090

Vegetarian
12 Nov 2021

Best vegan sushi we've ever eaten!

We loved this place. We went during Halloween and the ambiance was all creepy and dark and totally in character. Our server was great and very friendly. They had so many vegan options on their menu and they were totally creative and beautifully presented. All vegan/vegetarian options clearly marked with a "V".
We ordered the vegan salmon special maki, Annie's maki (which was sweet potato tempura, banana, cream cheese topped with mango and avocado and mango sauce) - Totally divine. We also ordered the green monster maki (which was asparagus tempura, cucumber, mango topped with kiwi and sweet chili sauce)

We also ordered their strawberry soju - a delicious Korean alcoholic beverage and hot sake.

We wish there was a place like this where we live.

Pros: everything clearly marked vegan, creative vegan choices

stephbaggz

Points +157

Vegan
06 Nov 2021

Orange tofu was delicious

They were very covid safe and had many vegan options. Be sure to check their specials board behind the bar as we missed some. The orange tofu was crispy and yummy. Would def return.

jlo5616

Points +226

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

Good food bad service

Stopped in with my family tonight 10/13/21. Food was good but service was bad. I'm vegan & gluten free and wanted bubble tea, but they said their regular boba tea flavorings aren't vegan. They said they could make a green tea with lychee jelly, but then brought me a green tea with lychee syrup from the jelly but no jelly. They claimed the jelly wasn't gluten free, but thought it was appropriate to pour the syrup from the gluten containing jelly into my drink?! My husband ordered the ma po soup, which didn't come out when everyone else's entrees came out. Eventually a waitress noticed my poor husband not eating and asked what he ordered. Everyone else finished their entrees by the time my husband's soup came out. At the end, our waitress asked if the manager ever came over and was shocked when we said no. She later came back with the bill, still no manager, and the bill didn't have any adjustments we thought it might since she had said to expect the manager to talk to us. We paid and left confused and disappointed with the service, but at least the food is delicious!

Pros: Vegan menu labeling, Off street parking, Lots of seating even on busy nights

Cons: Allergy risk, Poor service, Cold indoors

lizardlucas

Points +996

Vegan
15 May 2021

Great selection!

We ordered pickup, all menu items that are vegan are clearly marked. I had the vegan summer rolls, the vegan dragon roll, and the avocado mango sushi. And a fruit tea with boba! Excellent selection of vegan options for the area.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Clearly labeled

Cons: The "vegetarian menu" doesnt contain all options

lovesfood17

Points +20

Vegan
13 Feb 2021

Delicious takeout

The family enjoyed our meal here. They had meals with meat and enjoyed. I had plenty to choose from. Lots of tofu options. Vegan gyoza was a great appetizer.

Pros: Lots of options for vegan and vegetarian , Easy to order online & state preferences (no egg), Delicious

Cons: No cons here

jdinunzio

Points +337

Vegan
25 Jun 2019

Best Vegan Sushi

I have lived in town since they opened, and their vegan options keep expanding. They have a separate vegan menu. Even the sushi rolls with tempura can we made vegan if you ask. They will make it in a pan rather than in the deep fryer with the meat. The owner is so nice happy to accommodate.

Pros: Great food, So many vegan options , Good drinks

Cons: Dark atmosphere

AlinaRapaj

Points +28

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

Awesome curry and sushi!

My favorite item of the menu of the yellow curry rice noodles and tofu. I've got a delicious vegan "tuna", tempura sweet potato and avocado roll before. That was fantastic. The people in there are always very kind and its a comfortable energy in there. On the menu there is a green leaf next to every vegetarian option.

Pros: Many vegetarian /vegan options , Polite and quick service , The food tastes amazing.

Cons: Events are held in the back, if you are socially u




This page has been viewed 3458 times.