Komkommertijd

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 51 reviews )
Contact
+32-485731617
Find

Reep 14, Oost-Vlaanderen (at Vlaanderenstraat), Ghent, Belgium, 9000

Sept 2015 reopened. Ghent vegan restaurant run by a worker's cooperative. All-you-can-eat vegan buffet includes soup, cold and warm foods, and dessert. Open Tue-Fri 12:00pm-2:30pm, 6:00pm-10:30pm, Sun 12:00pm-2:30pm, 6:00pm-10:30pm. Opens 11:45am

Categories: Vegan, Buffet, Take-out

51 Reviews

First Review by Nickysr

Not very friendly service - Edit

I read about the buffet and saw the hours listed until 2:30pm, I walked in at 2:09pm and was told that it was too late to eat! Very disappointed.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Superb - Edit

After being slightly disappointed at Le Botaniste in the city centre, I was eager to try this place.

It's not entirely clear how it works when you get there, since everything is in Dutch, but the staff are happy to explain. However we did notice that the place filled up really fast after the 6pm evening opening, so the serving staff can get a little overwhelmed.

If you're not getting takeaway, you pay €16 for an all you can eat buffet. This includes hot dishes, salad selections, soup, and dessert. You order drinks separately from the wait staff.

Once you have a table, grab your plate and fill it at the buffet. There is a Dutch menu card describing the buffet options, but honestly, you can't really go wrong with anything. It was all amazing, and there is the temptation to get absolutely stuffed with the selection. It may be a good idea to choose a small but varied plate first, then go back and get more of your preference.

Pros: Absolutely delicious, Value for money, Nice decor

Cons: Check opening times, may need to reserve table

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best place in town - Edit

This is my favorite place to eat in Ghent. There is always a wide variety of dishes, warm and cold. It has a great price for what you get. Plus if you take away it is a huge portion for almost half the price you pay compared to if you eat there.

Pros: Delicious, Cosy, Plenty of choice

Cons: May need reservation, oily and spiced food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

I finally went and boy am i glad i did. I found a new favorite restaurant in Ghent, every city should have an all vegan buffet. The food was SO GOOD they had this chickpea curry that was just delicious, also the best veganaise i've ever tasted. And the deserts ? make sure to bring cash tho, no cards accepted.

Pros: Great value, Perfect for bringing non-vegans, Super tasty

Cons: Cash only

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan buffet is amazing - Edit

Last time I visited Komkommertijd I was just as amazed as the first time. I usually have trouble with portions because I find the best restaurants tend to serve for taste rather than 'having eaten' a good amount. Komkommertijd takes away these worries and gets you the best of two worlds. For the children who don't like to eat their vegetables, there's was a steady stream of loempia's coming in. For those who dared venture into the unknown, everyone was content. This is a good way to get introduced to a variety of unknown dishes as you can take as little as you like.
Highly recommended, suitable for big groups if you plan ahead.

Pros: Buffet, great variety, suitable for groups

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food and ambiance! - Edit

I loved this place! The food is very good, healthy and jummy! I couldn't stop getting more and more food. Until I felt like a cow. I could eat here every day if I would live in gent. I also like the ambiance. It's very cozy with a big chimney and nice background music. You have to come here with an empty stomach. Highly recommended.

Pros: Jummy food

Cons: None!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Popular place, you'd better reserve (and bring cash)! - Edit

Visited in October 2016.

As mentioned in other reviews, Komkommertijd is a buffet restaurant, which means that you can fill your plates again and again. By the way, drinks are not included in the buffet.

In peak times they may be a time limit for each party (1 hour or so); however, it's more than enough for you to get stuffed with yummy vegan food.
Thus, I'd recommend you to reserve a table just to be sure.
Oh, and also bring cash, as they don't seem to accept credit cards.

The dishes were a mix of indian curries, salads, soups, deep fried vegetables and grains, so there was a good variety I must say. I noticed that as some dishes finished, new ones would arrive.

Some of the dishes were a bit spicy for my taste; but it was still enjoyable.
One thing they could improve would be the offer of desserts. On the day we visited they had some coconut pound cake which was ok, but they could've had something else.

In summary, it's a great value (€16!), so if you are in Ghent, I'd recommend you to try it.

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-04

Pros: vegan buffet, great value

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good!! - Edit

We were there two years ago (I opened a happycow account just now). It was very good. Lovely place, and the food was not what you usually find in a restaurant, but rather healthy and very tasty food, in a buffet style.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food! - Edit

I ate two very well filled plates of awesome food, and only regretted it because I could't try the amazing looking desserts.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food but not favorite place - Edit

I went to Komkommertijd with my non-vegan family and we all loved the food. There was a lot of variety and you could go as many times as you want. It's really nice that this place offers traditional vegan food like rice, stews, curry and pasta, the only thing I can remark on the food is that they used quite a lot of oil, so it was not really as healthy as I hoped. Overall the food was really delicious and I liked every dish, especially the spring rolls, lentil curry and chocolate cake!

What really surprised me was that our dog was not welcome inside while this was not mentioned on the website. The staff wasn't friendly and understanding about it and this is something I would not expect in a vegan place.

Pros: Delicious traditional vegan food, Good price-quallity , All you can eat

Cons: Dogs not allowed, Unfriendly staff, A lot of oil

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice place - Edit

I wasn't sure what to expect, but it turned out to be one of the best food experiences in Ghent. The place is smart with a relaxed warm atmosphere, the food is very tasty and plentiful. And the service is attentive. I had one of the best slices of cakes I have ever had, it was very simple, but just the right combination of Apple, chocolate and cinnamom.

Pros: Food, Atmosphere, Service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food! - Edit

When I think of a buffet, the words 'nauseous, fluorescent lighting and cheap seating arrangement comes to mind. Well, Komkommertijd is nothing like that! The place has a good vibe, the staff is friendly, your plate and cutlery doesn't look cheap and I sure as hell haven't had a stomach ache afterwards. The food was really good. The kitchen kept it coming, so there was plenty for everybody. 16 euros per person - all you can eat. You need to reserve a table because it was all sold out (saturday evening) - even if you're on your own.

Pros: Cheap, Great ambiance, Good food

Cons: Closed for lunch on saturday

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty buffet - Edit

Delicious buffet with 8 warm options, a soup, salads and desserts for a reasonable price (16 euros in the evenings and weekends).
The options were varied: vegetables, starchy food, legumes, tofu, etc.
The staff was very nice. I have only been there once so I don't know how often the dishes vary.

Pros: tasty food, Options are varied, Staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely buffet - Edit

Went to this lovely all you can eat buffet with my meat eating dad and sister and we all loved it! Great range of food from spring rolls, pasta, salad, stews and soup. All finished off with lovely chocolate cake and fruit. You can go up as many times as you like and the food is always being topped up! It was so busy in the late evening so we had to eat outside but it was a lovely courtyard and the waiter was really friendly and offered us a seat indoors when it was less busy. Highly recommended!

Pros: Great choice of food, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Fruitarian

  Contributions +16

First time - Edit

We had a take away meal from komkommertijd about a month ago. I really enjoyed it! I tried to put everything in the foodcontainer, so i could try all of the food.
We paid 2 euro's to much, but we were to exited to care about that.
The women behind the bar was unfriendly and not customer-oriented..
Updated from previous review on Friday October 16, 2015

Pros: New food to try

Cons: Little container for food, unfriendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +23

Nice atmosphere, fresh food - Edit

I have been with my husband and our 2 dogs. Pets are only allowed in the veranda. The choice of food was excellent, warm and cold selection and some dessert too. Everything was delicious, very simple and fresh. Recommended

Pros: large choice, cold and warm selection, pet friendly veranda

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good - Edit

dinner with my husband at nighttime, super delicious buffet, they fill it up regularly, so you can taste it all. the place is a bit cramped tho, and obviously its a popular place, so there's always filled up, only downside to it. service is good :)

Pros: big buffet, variation in buffet, good for the price

Cons: always many people, little cramped

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +18

Very good! - Edit

I've been there 2 months ago with my husband.
We both found their buffet really good: simple and really tasty vegan food! Everything prepared with good taste and with just the right amount of oil. The drinks choice is very nice, too.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty and plentiful buffet - Edit

I went to Komkommertijd twice over Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the food. It's an all-you-can-eat buffet, and you pay when you're leaving. The dishes were all vegetable based and there's soup, hot dishes, a cold salad bar and dessert (one cake, plus fruit). Everything was fresh and delicious, with the exception of the soup which was a little bland.

Our only complaints were that we couldn't reserve via email, only by phone (which is pricey from the UK), and it was absolutely packed both times we went, so booking really is necessary. And we asked for tap water, but were told we could only have a glass if we ordered another drink first. I've never encountered that policy before and thought it was very poor.

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly service

Cons: No tap water, Difficult to book

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

simply the best - Edit

This was my first meal in Belgium, and when I left Gent for Brussels, I seriously considered taking the 30 minute to 1 hour train ride back just to have another meal here.
I sat down to eat at lunch, but I would recommend getting the containers togo, it is more cost effective and you don't have to over stuff yourself to feel like a good deal, coast wise. The soup was amazing. Overall taste of the hot food was savory, many creams I questioned were vegan and did not eat.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Have Seen Better - Edit

Staff wasn't really helpful, at a certain point I felt that i'm bothering the guy. He didn't even take the time to explain how things are going over there so I ended up paying for food that I didn't even eat. Next to that, place is just too expensive for how it looks and what they offer.

Pros: Location

Cons: Price , Unfriendly staff

1 Response
Read More

Smilla 07 Apr 2017 - I agree. The staff there is quite unfriendly, especially the Finnish woman. That's the reason I'm not going there anymore. Besides it's quite expensive, too expensive for what they offer. I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks this way.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Selection of lovely, reasonably priced vegan food - Edit

I'd done my research before leaving for Belgium, and this place was underlined twice in my planner as I'd figured we could get a takeout box and go eat at beautiful Korenlei. That's what we did! It was a lovely, sunny day so we skipped the €13 all-you-can-eat and headed outside as soon as possible. There were two boxes to choose from, one for €6 and a slightly bigger one for 8. We went for the small one and headed for the buffet. I filled my box with some bean&betroot stew, some garlicky, creamy potatoes, a seitan&veggie dish, some plain rice and as many sweet potato fries as I could get my hands on, all sprinkled with mixed seeds. My friend (not a veggie) also got some vegetables spring rolls which, she assured, tasted fab. We were very satisfied and, in my opinion, the price was reasonable as the rich dishes kept me full til the late afternoon. I would recommend this to anyone, veggie or not, and I hope I can visit again in the future!
The only thing I'd mention is that it's not right in the city centre, an 8 minute brisk walk from when we'd decided to eat, so the food did cool down a bit. But it's something I'll accept. :)
Updated from previous review on Monday February 09, 2015

Pros: healthy, nice choice, reasonably priced

Cons: location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good and healthy food! - Edit

I was in Gent during the 'Gentse feesten', which made having a healthy dinner a struggle. I was happy to find out that gent is considered a veggie friendly town (the tourist info even provided a 'veggie map' with several vegan restaurants). Many vegan and veg-friendly restaurants were closed for the summer, but not Komkommertijd. We arrived 10 minutes before opening and soon a queue developed in front of the door. We did not not make a reservation, but luckily there were still two or three tables available. The buffet is simple and not to big, but there was definitely enough to choose from: a salad bar with lettuce, beans, sprouts, and other raw vegetables and dressing. The warm buffet consisted of lentils with zucchini, kidney beans with squash, rice, stuffed tomatoes, spring rolls and the best dish: little fried multigrain croquettes. There was a lemon cake for dessert, really good but a bit too sweet. This was definitely worth 16 euros. We had a great and nourishing evening!

Pros: Healthy food, Affordable, Firndly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food that makes you happy - Edit

There's big difference between traditional cooks preparing vegan food and vegan/vegetarian cooks. At this restaurant you find real vegan food, lovely prepared and the all you can eat buffet is very nice, also when you're not eating huge portions. There's also a take away possibility. If I would live nearby, I would pop in a lot to take away my lunch or dinner.
I always feel instantly what the food does with me. In this restaurant it had a beneficial effect on my body and that makes me happy.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice experience - Edit

Went for dinner, no reservations, while visiting Ghent, and had no problem getting a table. There was a lot of buffet options to pick from, and there were all really tasty. The restaurant itself is really nice, which I was not expecting. Very filling too.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Smorgasboard Vegan Restaurant - Edit

Lucky that I came by myself on a Saturday evening, otherwise, it was a full-house. Love the organic house-wine and service was very prompt.

Pros: Quality and selection of food, Selection of organic local wines, Price

Cons: Some staff was curt and unfriendly, Opening hours

1 Response
Read More

Smilla 07 Apr 2017 - Yes indeed, the staff is very unfriendly! Especially the Finnish woman... I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks so!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Buffet with a variety of food - Edit

I liked most of the dishes I chose from the buffet. Also the cake tasted very good.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Ghent Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Komkommertijd closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 12325 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support